I Remember...

I remember... The time when I started to remember things like the little me and my friends going to school in my hometown. The time we would go to class carefree not thinking of what the world had for any other.


kids-g9a9f69400_1920.jpg
Source

My memory is a hazy one, I know but Those I remember are held dear to me, from the ones that come like flashes to the ones that come to put a smile on my face. Childhood had been the time when nothing mattered.

Running around full of energy, getting into trouble, and scheming ourselves out of it. It was fun all of it, leaving home and returning at night knowing full well that you'd be receiving a beating yet we still did it anyways.


children-gb478271ac_1920.jpg
Source

Getting into an argument with your best friend and refusing to speak to each other afterward, we'd eye each other for days, telling each other that no one should step on anyone's shadows, there were times we'd tell each other to not be found moving around with the friends we made together.

Those days when we'd meet at a play and would be fed up with us not moving together like we used to and would call each other names and say "Will you go to the park?" then that would be all to get us back on talking terms.


children-g199979215_1920.jpg
source

Those days when I'd be late to school, yet still pass by my best friend's house knowing he would be late too so we go to school being latest together and receive a beating for it happily.

In school, we'd always be punished for talking in class, as if that wasn't enough, we wouldn't keep quiet afterward too... sigh... Life was like a happily ever after. Little did we know there would come a time we wouldn't see some of our friends not because of arguments like we always had but because of the use of something greater that gives and takes.


friends-g34bf60296_1920.jpg
Source

Those times when designer shoes were not even a part of our thoughts, the latest Rolex was never known to us, talk less about the need to have phones so we could be on the internet all day ignoring the whole and being slaves to its screen.

Life at that time was a happily ever after as I said before, I don't even the times I'd fell fall... But I do know that I was always forced to eat food, It's funny how I had to be forced to eat for my own benefit.

Growing up in Ghana has made me realize a lot such that whatever that's happening in adulthood is no surprise to me again. I was told to not talk much, never get angry, never steal, and never be the cause of someone's pain.


kids-g823a2e8d7_1920.jpg
Source

It isn't new to me that I'm a quiet person, I live a carefree life and don't bother much with worldly things, it's hard seeing me in arguments and I always make sure to not escalate issues. I help whoever with what I can, I'm a charitable person who respects all.

Growing up made me make friends I cherish till now, those times we'd go to the next class to pick our duster, the orange wars we had among our classes (orange wars was a game which involved throwing oranges at each other.

Those times when the prefects of the school would conduct a role call and we'd play a game of hide and seek with the teachers who were to punish the latecomers, I'd never go to school early so I always prepared to receive punishment (which I dodge of course) It came to a time when the teachers knew of me and my friends.

Those times when we'd dodge school and go to the game center for no reason at all, we just did it, was it for fun? to pass time? To escape punishment? These are questions I still ask myself today.


001.jpg
Me

It's no doubt that childhood memories mean to us, not just remembering but reminiscing and feeling them again.

Sort:  

I'm glad to know you had a nice and happy childhood, full of adventure. If you can remember these good things, you're a happy man!

Happiness is all I’m for 😊 Sometimes I look through the past for it

The good old days.

Always good 😊

Congratulations @gunu1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 last year  

Being a child is one of the best things to have, especially if you are able to live in such a state that your primary responsibility is to be a child not to have to deal with the bullshit from the adults. There are crazy forces at work trying to destroy children and I think it’s fucking psychotic and awful and people are going along with it. It’s difficult for sure but trying to shelter the kids from the ugliness of the world is important, they deserve it for their future.

We are always told as kids, don’t grow up too fast you will regret it. Those words have never rang more true for me. I love everything about my life but it would be good to be 12 again without a care in the world except the stuff we were doing.

We are always told as kids, don’t grow up too fast you will regret it. Those words have never rang more true for me. I love everything about my life but it would be good to be 12 again without a care in the world except the stuff we were doing.

It holds true for me too, age is but a number alright, but growth is what’s the difference

Once you miss those times of your life, then you know life has presented you with memorable moments.

 last year  

I guess it’s motivation for me as an adult and parent to try my best to provide for my son so that he can grow up like that, and eventually realize how good it was to be the young age with no worries. Right now he’s riding around on a toy train playing with LEGO. To be so innocent! I love it.

Wow

I’m speechless