Rio Supermarket | No Photos Allowed

in Rant, Complain, Talk2 years ago (edited)

Some days ago, I posted about the phenomenon that we are seeing in Venezuela with the almost magical apparition of new businesses in stark contrast with the overwhelming poverty and deterioration of infrastructures and services that have characterized our economy in the last 10 years.

IMG-20220427-WA0042.jpg

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

I had no plans to visit this supermarket because it's very far from where we live. However, we went to visit my wife's father yesterday (it was his birthday) who happens to live close to this new supermarket. He did not have plans for his birthday, but seeing the visit, he decided to drive there for some extra supplies.
As soon as we entered we could feel the difference, not just the newness of the place, but also the kindness of the employees. They sounded like they had been practicing every word and movement.
I turned left and saw this gorgeous arrangement of apples.

IMG_20220427_160543.jpg

I turned right and saw these gorgeous models

IMG_20220427_160531.jpg

I turned left again and was going to start documenting this fancy shopping experience when I was interpolated by a clerk and asked to please stop taking pictures.

IMG_20220427_160547.jpg

I took a deep breath. I asked her why. She said the was following orders. She clarified that I could take "family pictures" but not pictures at the products.

.

IMG_20220427_160655.jpg

Thanks for stopping by

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

Hive gif 2.gif

Sort:  

Roboshopping!

It really is a shame when you find that you need to question the integrity of even a grocery store. Those apples do look pretty tasty though.

😂
Absolutely. And that is precisely what makes it more fishy. For almost a decade, the government has lobbied with the blockade narrative to make it look as if whatever problem we have, whatever we lack, is the result of such blockade. If patients die without medicine it is because the government cannot import what hospitals need, etc.
Then, you see these markets, dozens of new drugstores; you see luxury appliance stores and imported luxury cars and you wonder... How come?
They can import bulletproof SUVs but they can't provide basic services to their people?
That's the only explanation I can conceive for the no-photo-policy

I don't think there is even a legal justification for such policy

I’ve seen stores in the U.S. that have “No Photography” sign posted.

Ok. Thanks for pointing that out.

Here it's unheard of.

We immediately associate "No puedes tomar fotos" with a green, blue or black uniform. That prohibition here usually comes from government offices/officials preventing people from documenting protests or incidents that may provide evidence of any wrongdoing.

It’s weird though. Most of the signs I see (coincidentally, most often in grocery stores) have been there for a long time. They’re accompanied by little icons of a 35mm camera and/or one of the now old-fashioned full-size video cameras. I think they might have originally been designed to thwart competitors. No taking pics of our fancy layout of product displays!

Yes. That makes sense. Now it makes little sense, I believe. Any competitor can Google any display imaginable of any product to become the next whatever it is they can become

 2 years ago  

It’s certainly a store with ties to the Maduro cult I think we can confirm that without a doubt! Good to get out though and see something new with @manujune! A bit ridiculous to not take pictures but in a way I wouldn’t expect something different considering the government there. The opulence is odd to see for sure!

uuummm gracias, me ahorraste el viaje!😀

No hay por donde! 😁