Squash! Squash! Squash!

Hello everyone in the hive blockchain. I hope you’re all doing well and enjoying the weather wherever you are. Welcome to my blog.


Source

Today is Monday. A perfect day to rant. There’s something about Monday that makes it tiring and stressful. I don’t know what that is, but let me know if you figure it out. ~everyone~ most people love the weekends because they get to have fun, enjoy and rest from the week’s stress. But Monday? Ughhhh. This post isn’t to rant about Mondays or which of the days of the week is best. This post is about something else entirely. Something bitter!

I’m a University student who schools in another state far from where I live. The school environment is still developing. They struggle with electricity, good roads, water, and other basic amenities. I can’t blame anyone for my presence in this university. I guess that I wht fate had in store for me.

A few months ago, I moved into a new apartment. Although, the apartment wasn’t nice compared to what we paid for. Before we moved in, the landlord promised us that he’d fence the house and paint it, both the interior and exterior. Well, that’s aside. I’m not even worried about painting or fencing. When my roommate and I moved our things in, I saw some tiny ants. I killed them immediately, and we carried on with what we were doing.

Five months after we moved in, we started seeing some insects. The same one I killed when we newly moved in. My school went on a 3-week break for the presidential election. Just like most students, I traveled back home-my parents' house. After spending more than 2 weeks, I came back to my hostel to relax and revise with my friends. Some of my hostel mates didn’t travel home, and when I came back, I received a warm welcome from them. Something else didn’t give me a warm welcome, instead I got a harsh welcome from them.

I was so tired because the journey was so stressful. I sat on an uncomfortable chair and I was uncomfortable throughout the journey. To complicate things, military men also stopped me and asked silly questions. I was tired and feeling dizzy, so I decided to sleep on my big, soft, and comfortable bed. I fell asleep very quickly. But about 10 minutes into my sleep, my body started itching. I felt something crawling over my body. I thought it was nothing. But I couldn’t bear it any longer. I jumped up from the bed. I scratched my body till it became red.

I checked the bed to see what had been biting me. I saw a very terrible thing! Bed bugs! Bed bugs! Just like the ones I saw when I moved in. I didn’t know they were bed bugs! I called one of my hostel mates to check it, and he shouted; BED BUGS! I’ve heard so much about bed bugs. I’ve also seen them in movies and I’ve also seen their images on the internet, but I just couldn’t tell when I saw them the first time.


Source

I’ve heard so much about how disastrous those creatures are. They can hide anywhere; inside clothes, books, chairs… anywhere at all. They are also very dangerous and hard to kill. They’re so disgusting, they smell when killed. I couldn’t sleep any more. My roommate and I brought everything out- the bed, foodstuff, books and all. We swept everywhere! Then we went to buy insecticide. SNIPER is a very good insecticide- it kills mosquitoes, flies and other insects. Although there’s no proof that insecticide kills bed bugs, I really hope it will work.


Source

After spraying the insecticide, we closed the windows and doors. We worked for more than 5 hours cleaning the room. We couldn’t sleep in the room, so we slept in another room (in the same hostel). The same creature woke us up at midnight. Apparently, there are bed bugs in all the rooms.

Sort:  
 last year  

Ugh bed bugs are the worst! Sorry you had to deal with that, I’ve had it once and it was brutal but in a hotel so we left them there and moved on.

One of the things that worked for us is getting diatomaceous earth and putting that around the stuff and the bed bugs can’t travel over it and end up dying from suffocation. It’s a way to isolate them but that’s after you remove them from the stuff. Sadly at this point the hostel entirely needs to be bombed with bug spray and the mattresses thrown in the trash. Once they are in the mattresses it’s so difficult to get them out.