You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Road wankers

I stopped driving back in 2016, as the traffic in Dhaka keeps on getting worse, my head just keeps on boiling up. Nowadays every dimwit has a license and a car, but they barely have any common sense, whether it be behind the starring wheel or even when walking on the side walks.

And from what I've noticed, most of the accidents we get into mostly occur because of other incompetent drivers or impatient pedestrians. Mostly people who are in a rush, on the phone, not looking left or right, and don't even know the basic rules of driving; just shifting lanes or taking a turn aggressively without even checking both sides.

That's exactly why I had to through my first car crash back in 2011, a guy taking a very aggressive U-turn, leading me into a concrete block.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Yep, it sounds like here mate, it's bloody crazy huh? It's like people have no concept of the damage they can cause to others or themselves...and don't care. It's typical in today's society though huh? I think it's best you don't drive, safer perhaps.

Crazy it is, people simply don't care.

Let's take crossing the street for example, people would rather save a minute or two and a bit of extra energy by crossing a "speedy" street and not use the footbridge instead. In a city like Dhaka that should be illegal, even if you're looking left and right, back and forth, you can never be too sure in this city; sadly, people don't care.

I think it's best you don't drive, safer perhaps.

I'll stay away for as long as possible, I'd rather be safe than sorry. The bus and any other public transport does the job for me; on top of that, Dhaka is a small city, so you can get a lot done just by walking.

 2 years ago  

If public transport works for you then sticking with it is a good plan indeed. It's probably cheaper than owning a vehicle also.

Surely is cheaper, a much safer option as well.