You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I need an army tank

I might do 80-120 kilometres in a day and where I go there's no public transport

Yep, just what I thought. We have offsite duties too sometimes, 100 to 200 kilometers away, but we mostly end up renting a big car for such visits.

unless I happen to be overseas and then I'll use it here and there if needed

That's a different scenario, even when I'm out of town the means of transport I use may change by quite a bit.

I remember when I was in India with my father just over a decade ago, we had to switch things up altogether when it came to our day to day transport. In Kolkata it was either a taxi or hand pull rickshaw, but in Delhi it was the metro that seemed like a better option.

Sort:  
 last year  

We all have to work around different parametersI guess and what works for one may not for the other.

I've used the subway/metro/underground rail transport all over the world and have largely had good experiences, I'd say Singapore's MRT is the best I've used, but some around Europe are really good too. Maybe that's why I don't like the one we have here as it doesn't stack up.

I went in a rickshaw once, in Malaysia...it wasn't too bad. It would take me all day to get anywhere if they had them here though.

Most of my friends in Australia are doing good, they all have cars and live around scenic spots, which means a lot of long drives haha. I don't know how much a car costs there, nor do I know much about the maintenance costs, but almost all of my friends has a car for day to day use.

I myself did apply for my higher studies in Australia, long ago, but the cost was a bit too much for international students, and for me and my family. Which was one of the reasons I had to pull the plug on that dream of mine.

Yet, the life I'm living, and where I'm at right now, I say I'm doing quite alright. Maybe I'll give it another try somewhere along the line.

 last year  

It depends on the car. My LandCruiser cost me $100,000AUD and is about $500-$1000 to service every 10,000km. Cars and running costs are expensive here. Once can buy a piece of shit and never service it though, and many do.

Damn, $100,00 AUD for a Land Cruiser is quite expensive. Even though they cost much more here, thanks to our absurd taxes. On top of that, 80% of the cars aren't even brand new, they're mostly reconditioned, yet the price is still ridiculous.

Over here the shit boxes seem like the better option, because it's tough to maintain them. Sooner or later some other incompetent driver will leave a dent, and the loop of fixing and getting scratched/dented again will keep going.

 last year  

We live in totally different worlds for sure.

Extremely different...

untitled.gif