You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I need an army tank

Well you know people. They are the singular most important person in the universe, no one else matters, the only things that matter is themselves and whatever they want. Anyone who doesn't accept the fact that they are the singular most important person in the universe whose goals, aspirations and tasks are more important than anyone else's could ever hope to be is just selfish and stupid and deserving of ridicule and contempt and cancellation.

Also they are the best at everything they do and they can absolutely just drive while a little bit under influence or while on their phone because they're amazing drivers and much better and more alert than all those other idiots and they won't crash or cause problems, and a "quick" check never hurt anyone.

Also seems that nobody knows how to time things, stuff they think is "quick" never is (whether it's the "quick" check of the phone or getting angry with someone else for not doing something that "should only take a few minutes" (it never takes a few minutes and if you actually had a clue how to do the thing and were capable of doing it yourself you would know that, meanwhile if you don't have a clue, don't run your mouth like you do, I have never had this problem before and I'm not bitter at all XD).

Sort:  
 last year  

Haha, you're writing all my rants from now on! 🤣

It's a big problem and I think will only get much worse. People doie on our roads, almost daily, and the near-miss or minor incidents are countless. Little by little those latter two will begin to get worse and worse and then...more deaths.

It's a problem everywhere, not just in Australia.

I'm again reminded of the time I ripped into someone on the long extinct G+ because they bragged about playing Pokemon Go while driving, and then proceeded to excuse and defend themselves about how it's perfectly fine because they were driving slowly and paying attention. It is quite likely that after I told them that it was not and never would be okay and all their pathetic excuses were exactly that I may or may not have just outright called them stupid in some unnecessarily descriptive fashion but it was a long time ago now.

I'm hoping drilling my kids on the importance of paying attention is enough to make them actually pay attention all of the time, but then it's blithering idiots like the aforementioned that we always have to worry about.

 last year  

I don't get why people think it's ok, try to justify it. Bonkers, and not in a good way like me.

I'd be a little concerned if I had kids and they were out there driving, kids are kids you know? They do stupid things...I did. The problem is the roads are far more dangerous now than 35 years ago.

Ego can't take a slight I guess.

Kids can be a lot more switched on than people give them credit for. Some of my friends' kids were "lazy" and weren't scurrying out to get their licenses the second they were able (some of them were actually lazy, but most of them had legitimate reasons like easy access to public transport meant they didn't feel it necessary to take on the extra cost burden of a car therefore didn't see the point in being able to drive one). My eldest held off for a year because he felt that at 16 he would be too gung ho and dangerous behind a wheel (even though he would be unable to get anything past learner's til 17 anyway). He's very cautious now. Middle child ran out and got hers a few days after she turned 16 and I actually trust her to be safe, meanwhile we'll have to wait and see what she's like when she stops screeching in terror after hitting 20kph XD

 last year  

Smart 16 year old.

I think your kids probably have a good chance at being sensible based on how you've raised them to be. It's everyone else we need to worry about.