It Could All Be So Simple

I don't know about you, but I tend to feel a little uncomfortable around folk, who try really hard to keep their lives complicated. Okay maybe complicated isn't the best word, but it's what came to mind. What I'm talking about, are people who try to hard. (Which seems complicated to me). Having to constantly keep up a facade.

20231024_005009.jpg

It must be exhausting, to always be in character. Projecting this image of yourself into the world, one that is ungrounded. That energy always feels static to me. Something I can't connect with, so I tend not to. I'm trying to be a bit more empathic, but I'm also aware that I need to look out for myself. It's all learning really.

I often wonder, when us humans first began to deal with our own personal insecurities. When life did indeed get more complicated more heavy. Because life itself is simple. We live and then we die.

But today, how many people are really even living? Really experiencing the beautiful simplicity of life. Making time, to enjoy the simple things, that really feckin matter.

20231023_150336.jpg

How did we get here, to this place in our story, where some feel so pressurised into becoming, what others expect them to be. Who value other people's happiness over their own. But let's be honest, that mentality has been engraved in a lot of us. Because we don't want to be seen as selfish. A word that many would dread to hear alongside their name. So play it safe, by just ignoring what your calling is.

Better still, just switch off from it completely.

Stay committed to what has been paved in front of you, because you would be foolish to walk away from a perfectly good existence. Keep your head down and all will be fine. Just follow that very well worn straight line, making sure to keep doing what you are doing, so that your life gets stuck on repeat.

20231023_150404.jpg

But hey, maybe that's okay for some. One man's ceiling ( so the saying goes) and all. But still, I can't help but think how much we are being influenced. How much has been invested, in keeping us in servitude to others, therefore not to ourself.

Life could be so simple, if we just found our way back. Back to what really matters. If we found the courage, to sot and listen to ourselves once again. And what s thing to write, that we actually need courage to do such a thing. Something that should be so simple, but yet, it is so complicated for many.

4bEjbgCbFMvAGbwxD9CJfJUznpDy21P1gb5kciUwoKrnYbGbNVgJCYqgbJ9zC7NMqywPCP5pmJ7Z9vxwKSXoEY3LVe7cLMcTXvX8VcJhK2rCRHek5hdeGmp131U8ngRJroPgAbFG2qA1fExE8PdkxP43986jZQUkhu5G47urW8M8KeXkQe.png

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcX4JSV3cTPgexLgxZfFPkpqdm5FDQnjZqeewD5m9ajhHWHgMe8zQfUBt14j3Z7j9jKq4CWk9tK6RWfDG5Fr2zkn5Kn3p.png

Sort:  

For me, it's complicated to be simple, it always has been. I'm not exactly sure why, but I absorb a lot of the things that happen in my life. I'm very intense, and it's difficult to be light. In a few weeks, I'll turn 30, and I would like to leave all this weight behind and just be myself without worrying about what others will think. I want to find my path, and I know it's already inside me, but there are still many obstacles that prevent me from seeing it clearly. Sometimes people don't choose to be intense; it's just a part of who they are... Somehow, I connected with your text.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @cmplxty.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It is that simple - we live and then we die...but it's that space in between the two that matters. I've walked away from so many things that are complicated, I actually find that I don't have the emotional capacity to deal with them. I walked away from the last 9-5 that almost drove me to my grave. The money was good, but it wasn't good enough to die for and I couldn't really care what people think. In fact, these days I'm quite happy to think people think lowly of me, it means that I don't have to have any façade and I can just be the authentic me and that way, I won't disappoint myself (not them) by not living up to some ridiculous expectation.

At the end of the day, we're all just people and nobody is better than another by any means really.

I think the reason so many people cling to the unnecessary complications is it keeps them from looking deeper within. Because in order to be okay with simplicity, and with your own self, you gotta know where and what that is, and all. You gotta see some unpleasantness, also. So they go for pointless drama, instead.

 7 months ago  

Wise words. Life is as simple ( or as difficult ) as we make it for ourselves.
I once heard a wise woman tell me that ( probably a decade ago ), it opened my eyes.

xx

I can never live s lie. And this is why I am.ijtejriojal about learning me and doing just what I want, listening to my heartbeat and enjoying my time with me. Life shouldn't be so hard. I'm here to live for me, first!

 7 months ago  

There are sadly a lot of people who prefer to keep up with the pack. Stay in the middle or near the front so they can influence others. Then there’s others who stray off to the side and do their own thing. I like to stay off to the side in a lot of ways! I know that there are a lot of people who want to fit in and project onto others. That’s tiring. It’s become much more evident in the world that we live in, where we are all connected by the remarkable interwebz. The neighborhood Karen’s aren’t just neighborhood anymore and there’s fucking loads of them.