Unexpected Market Friday fun at a Feed Barn

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

Today was a drive to a feed barn on the Sunshine Coast. Just in case you have never heard of Feed Barns they are special markets in the country ideal for the farmer, hobby farmer enthusiast, horse lover, bird lover and anybody interested in the stock here. They sell stock feed, bird seed, hay, live chooks, fertiliser and even suede hats, belts, leather whips and much more depending on which Feed Barn you visit.

I am thinking they are maybe called different names in other Australian States and in other countries. I am very sure you will not find a Feed Barn in a big bustling busy city. My sister who lives in inner Melbourne has never heard of a Feed Barn.

Feed Barn businesses are not plentiful but thankfully a little google search showed that one was only 30 kms way in pretty little a country town called Yandina. How wonderful!

29A26EF7-47CE-4D4F-972D-0528E8B4D55A_1_105_c.jpeg

Why are you shopping at a feed barn you could ask? I was on the hunt for wild bird seed with little or no wheat seed. Lately the bags we buy at the supermarket seem to be full of it. My little problem is that doves and lorikeets do not like wheat seed and as would be expected they don't eat it. Such a waste throwing out this seed every day.

It seems that chooks like wheat seed, unfortunately they do not fly in with the wild birds everyday. And would you believe pigeons eat wheat seed but they do not visit anymore. Oh hum, such is life, I hope I did not offend them.

Gladly lady luck came along for the ride as the wild parrot seed was directly on the shelf as I walked in. The Feed Barn was a small place and I am thinking bird feed is popular, but oh dear and oh no I am sure I detected wheat seed. Fingers crossed maybe this wheat seed might be too delectably tasty and flavoured just right for the doves and lorikeets. I bought a 20kg and yes I am a forever positive soul.

84346BC8-03D9-4EAE-B180-4BF92E23DC34_1_201_a.jpeg

Once the bird seed was organised I looked around and saw that the Feed Barn was a wondrous place, something here and there for everyone's special delight and interest. My eyes admired the b of bales of hay creatively stacked in a corner just for the horse and cattle lovers, or maybe for a country dance. My imagination saw a hay arrangement in a corner both artistic and practical surrounded by iron sheets and shades of green walls.

65C104E8-9E2B-436F-A484-5C266E75A459_1_105_c.jpeg

My heart went out to a very overcrowded cage of chooks of many colours looking squashed and uncomfortable. Do I stop for a chat and ask how they are doing given their predicament? How long have I got? Hopeful me would wished them a home with chook lovers for owners.

8A4B81B2-7186-4ED8-8F53-98B14A8F0B45_1_105_c.jpeg

My last backward glance before leaving this wonderful out of the box Feed Barn reminded me of a country farm, so many things everywhere just the right bag of this and that ,or the right kind of chook or hay bale to decorate a country hall for the regular monthly dance. Memories dancing the progressive barn dance flashed into my mind, oh so many different partners young, old, lean, fit and portly, all so pleasant and polite. I love how memories are triggered, they rush in without warning.

A8D708EB-2D55-4DFA-8C0C-35DE1D28BAA5_1_201_a.jpeg

Leaving with a big bag of wild seed for parrots very hopeful that the birds will love every seed, gobbling quickly and quietly. I plan to come back for another bag once this is finished especially if the birds give the thumbs up.

Goodbye Yandina Feed Barn until next time and goodbye little cat curled in a ball, no worries in your world, so comfortably asleep on the warm concrete footpath.
.......Pussy cat pussy cat how loved you must feel not bothered by the passer byers
.......Is it the kindly helpful owners of the Feed Barn,
........who feed you fish, sardines and cream for tea?

B4F0EE7E-4642-48A3-82B8-CF6C4D2ACECB_1_201_a.jpeg

.................................................................................

Before driving home a walk in the little town centre down the street and passed the many clothes and coffee shops was to be had. Always a roving eye might find a dress, top or trousers, one never knows. Yandina was so quiet, tourists not yet come for the weekend, plenty of chairs to choose at the Cafe. Two small lates ordered and delivered in a timely manner. We breathed in the air, admired the country feel and sipped on the coffees before farewelling this cute little hip town. Until next Yandina.

C28DE2CA-E356-4460-85AE-C783067BBA5E_1_105_c.jpeg

.................................................................................

85AA8DC2-B612-426C-8F54-1E350F94_1_102_o.jpeg

MarketFriday is the brain child of the effervescent and delightful @dwigle, it is such a delight to write under this tag. I am sad to say it has been a while since I penned a post celebrating Market Friday.

All the best fellow Market Friday lovers, it has been fun writing this post and it will be extra fun reading as many posts as I can.

Regards
Angie Mitchell

Sort:  

very interesting! I have never been to a store like this. great that you were able to buy the seeds you were looking for

They are one of best kept hidden secrets for many but well frequented by many.

As a farming province, we have lots of shops here selling farm supplies and products as well but not that much on bird seeds. You can find those in particular shops that sells birds. I hope the seeds will be to the liking of the doves and lorikeets :D

The coffee in the end looks lovely!

Happy #MarketFriday!

Loading...