Market Friday - Give a Little Spice to Life.

in Market Friday3 years ago

Hi there everyone, I would love to share my Market Friday shopping experience with you, I know I'm posting it late, I had a bit of a glitch with my computer and had to sort the problem out, so please forgive me.
I live in Durban, which is on the East Coast of South Africa in the province of Kwa-Zulu Natal, the name "Kwa-Zulu" means "The place of the Zulu". South Africa is a beautiful and very diverse country with 11 different languages spoken amongst the different tribes, there is English, Afrikaans, Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Southern Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa and Zulu.
I live in a suburb in Durban Natal called Waterfall, it's called that because of the many beautiful Waterfalls around the area, it use to be a quiet place out in the country at one time, until a few years ago when the farmers sold their land off to developers, it lost it's tranquility of rural life to busy Malls, complexes and residential houses. There are still a few little farm stores though, keeping that country feeling alive.
Today I wanted to make a nice mutton curry and had to go out and do a bit of shopping.
My first stop was my favorite vegetable market.

food lovers.jpg
I love shopping there for my vegetables, they are always so beautifully fresh.

food store.jpg
The store is always so clean and everything in it's place, a pleasure to shop there, their prices are also very reasonable.

garlic.jpg
I needed some garlic and ginger, and fresh coriander.

ingredients.jpg
My Ingredients bought for the curry, potatoes, onions, ginger, garlic and coriander.
My second stop was the spice shop, which is down the road from where I live, their prices are just right for my budget, the strong aroma of all the different spices on the shelves are so intoxicating, just love it.

safron.jpg
Being a lover of spicy food, I absolutely love this little shop, it has all the spices of the world one can think of, I can't have enough of their Samoosas, they are so delicious.

spice.jpg
Live Life with a Little Spice, absolutely agree.

spice girl.jpg
This is my favorite Spice Lady Sandile, who always mixes my curry for me, she is to adorable, I love her to bits; she always knows exactly what I want before I even ask.
After a little chat with Sandile, I went home to make my mutton curry.

curry.jpg
Mutton Curry and rice for two.
I hope you enjoyed the trip with me to my local markets, thank you for giving me the opportunity to share it with you. Until next time, have a great day.

emoji.jpg

Hive animated divider 1.gif

HIVE SILVER BLOGGERS SUBSCRIPTION LINK:

If you're between the ages of 40 and 100 and have a passion for blogging and cryptocurrency plus have some wisdom to share, please stop by and subscribe to the new exciting Hive Silver Bloggers Community that is already attracting some of the best talent here on Hive.

Hive animated divider 1.gif

Thank you for stopping by.

All photos property of @artywink
Original content by @artywink
https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@dswigle/market-friday-s-countdown-to-christmas-one-hundred-days-and-counting
#MarketFriday @dswigle

Sort:  

One thing about curry - when you read about it you have to have it - and I have some Mrs Balls chutney from South Africa - which just makes the curry so enjoyable for me

Oh yes, Mrs Balls is absolutely the best, I'm never with out it. Thank you @christinepoulos for passing by.

Thank you for the inspiration


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Ooh now you've really made me feel like curry @artywink - have to go and buy some ingredients

Ha ha! Thank you @eflin-essie, I just love curry. Thank you for stopping by.

Yes, nothing like a good curry.

Awesome #marketfriday post my friend, so sorry that your computer let you down!
I totally agree with that saying;

Live Life with a Little Spice.

Have a great week.

Thanks @lizelle, for stopping by.

I have very little experience making curry @artywink but I have to say you are very inspiring. I was all set to make a chickpea curry last week but found out that my son-in-law is not keen on chickpeas. Now this weekend it is a goer. Do you ever cook with green chilli when making curry @artywink?

Yes I do, love green chilli @angiemitchell,adds flavor to the curry. Enjoy it my friend, have a great day.

Loading...