You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with Market Friday

in Market Friday4 years ago

Well, let's start at the start. You certainly didn't make the post too long for me! I love the life and concept of the RV life. Always nice to see photos of the newest stuff.

I lived in a 36' (12 meter) Holiday Rambler fifth wheel for 15 years. Part of that time I shared space with a GF and a rottweiler (who could really cover a huge fraction of the available floor space). I got along fine, and it didn't have any slide outs. That probably would have made it perfect. The only real problem I had was with the GF. When we had a disagreement there was no way to get really separated. Didn't happen that often but in foul weather it was a problem.

I'm really close friends with the Service Manager at RV World here in Yuma so I can go get the 'inside story' whenever I wish. I'm also friends with the owner and the Sales Manager. Mike Green, the owner, has a really good take on living the RV lifestyle. "Six for cocktails, four for dinner, two for bed." Not that I haven't jommed into RVs on special trips and stops, but....

I really like the 5th wheel, but you have to remember I'm a pickup sort of guy. I have actually found them easier to drive than a motorhome with any size to it. You just have to remember you have a trailer behind and take corners a little wider than normal in traffic situations...

I owned a 5th wheel toy hauler for a few years and have considered selling my place here and going on the road with a 5th wheel and a motorcycle. Every time I need the AC or the furnace it's time to move north or south :)

Thanks Denise. Always a terrific pleasure.

Sort:  

Well, I hate to bore people, so I wanted to make sure to try to keep it short. Sometimes with all the extra things I throw in, it makes it seem longer.

My inlaws always had a fifth wheel and I loved it. You are right about them being easier to drive. They are and so much more spacious... Oh, with pushouts! I like the three pushouts, on in the living room/dining room and one in the bedroom. Talk about added value! It is like a ballroom and you can probably fit four more people comfortably.

Oh, yes. A cranky girlfriend? There just isn't enough space for that. Oh, yeah! I don't care how big your space is. :) The dog can stay, but, she has got to go. When you are trapped like that, you better really love the other person.

I don't have trouble taking corners with a fifth wheel, the only thing I don't like now it the huge hitch you have to use and lose your pickup bed. Taking it on and off. It would have to stay in. :) Other than that, I prefer them for their layout and separation of space, and honestly, their price! It is fun to discover America, all over again, I can afford to not work and they will give me leave... so what is to stop me? This is the perfect time to do it! We cannot really go anywhere else.

Le sigh... perfection. Almost.Thanks so much, Tom! I think you should do it! You even have a friend that will take care of your need!

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your wonderful words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @bigtom13! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.