You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Table for Four on Market Friday

in Market Friday3 years ago

I like to make complicated recipes. I often spend 4-5 hours in the kitchen. I like to work alone, to do everything myself (and I often make mistakes, spoil food because I don't know some basics). My wife, on the other hand, is very unhappy if she doesn't have help when she makes food...

It takes me about that long to write a post and, like you, I often don't know what I'm going to write about, it really scares me that I won't have inspiration. Funny and nice at the same time, once I start writing the ideas start coming.

Maybe sometimes I victimize myself when I talk about how bad my posts are but maybe I like it when you tell me they're not really like that. Now I've told you a little secret too!

Sort:  

I take forever to write a post! I know!! How can some people zip them off?

I have closed my laptop and left the computer if I sit there too long with nothing running through my brain. Most times that is not the case.

I like complicated recipes, most don't. Check out those cakes that I did for the other #MarketFridays... Oh, I remember you did see them. I am more of a savory food eater as opposed to sweets. I like food. :) I spend hours in the kitchen, but, I like it. If I have help, it is fine, if not, that is fine too. I like the company, but, don't need help. (usually) I have my own ways of doing things. :)

It really is never as bad as you make it out to be. I think it is good to tell people how well they do! We are supposed to wait till Secret Sunday to tell secrets, Friday will never do! :)

Some are professionals and others don't care how they write, if they see that they still get something in return, often far above the value of the post. On this point, I have seen many things that have outraged me but I know that this is the way it is in our world. What upsets me is about myself, that sometimes I become envious and I have never had this feeling before.

Like you, I prefer salty food. I don't cook sweets because I don't like pharmacy-like recipes, that I have to keep track of quantities very precisely. I like freedom (which I have often paid for by throwing away cooked food), I like to mix ingredients as I think is right, so I am a cook who has only learned from my own mistakes.

And I think it's good to tell people your opinion but often people are not ready to listen. Especially here, when everyone is chasing votes, don't risk upsetting others. Most people. And I prefer not to say my opinion than to upset someone, I keep my right to honesty vis a vis friends or newbies when I allow myself to give some advice and say where I think they are wrong. Just to help. Sometimes it has worked. I love those who don't mind!

It's funny, and I never thought of it that way, but, desserts are fussier when it comes to quantity. too much sugar, flour and you can ruin the effect. Perhaps that is why I don't care for it as much. :)

My cauliflower pizza crust is an example. I am not sure it has ever come out the same way twice. My chili is the same. Whenever people ask for a recipe, I freeze, knowing that I cannot duplicate what they ate, only approximate. That is why I use recipes many times. Then I can veer off that and still have a recipe to give them.

I have to say that opinions are usually fine with me unless someone goes out of their way to be rude. Then, it is not fine. I don't mind criticism but, it is the way that it is delivered that makes the difference. It is rare to get someone that aims to hurt, but, I know that it happens.

Advice is always welcome. Most days I need it! LOL :) Thanks, Dan! @bluemoon I hope you are having a great weekend!

I've never made a good pizza. I saw your cauliflower pizza recipe, thought I'd try it but couldn't find the right time.
I most enjoy cooking without following a recipe when I know how to cook that dish. Funny thing is, I often forget to put in an ingredient and then regret not following the recipe.

We had a very rainy week and the weekend is the same. Chances are we won't get out of the house.
Wishing you a sunny weekend and good for the walk!

It has been a perfect weekend so far! It is raining right now, but, was sunny all day. I like the rain at night as it doesn't spoil the day and still nourishes the grass and plants.

I will give you a hint. Grate the cauliflower ahead so it will be ready when you are. Then put it in the freezer and take out the day you want to make it. Once you make it, you won't need a recipe ever again. It is that easy. I have enough in my freezer to make pizza 6 times. I am a lazy cook like that. :))

Another hint. Cauliflower is watery, so I unthaw it on a paper towel in a bowl. I take the paper towel and squeeze the water out so it won't be a watery pizza. :)

Thanks, very good advice. You made me even more eager to try this pizza because I can't imagine the taste.

I don't want to keep saying it takes good, because then the expectation will be too big! But, I think you might be pleasantly surprised.

Never skimp on the cheese or toppings! :)