Table for Four on Market Friday

in Market Friday3 years ago (edited)


Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) Join us as we share our markets from across the globe. It has become a cultural affair for all of our friends, here on Hive.


lasagne.jpg


Welcome to #MarketFriday!I have taken a page from the book of my friend Dan, @bluemoon using a shopping trip and combining it with a little bit of cooking. Voila! There are moments we have to get creative and this is another one of my moments. So, you may wonder, what's cooking today? I must answer honestly: Lasagne Bolognese! I confess! It is one of my favorite things to make and eat. I know! I have so many favorites! But, truly! This is one of my very favorite favorites.


IMG-20211014-WA0000.jpg


I made a list of a few things that I was missing and noticed that it was few items, but three different places to shop. I had to go to my egg lady, who raises chickens for the fresh eggs, an Italian Delicatessen to get Italian bacon (it is called pancetta), and some fresh parmesan cheese. I had to go to my Harris Teeter grocer to get the carrots and whole milk. The farmers market is not open today, so I will settle for organic. Like magic, I am back. You didn't even have time to blink, did you?

Center Crest.png

Bolognese Sauce, Ingredients:

1 large onion, coarsely chopped
1 medium carrot, peeled, coarsely chopped
1 celery stalk, coarsely chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 pound ground beef chuck
1 pound ground pork
4 oz. pancetta (Italian bacon), finely chopped
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 cup dry white wine
1 cup whole milk
1 14.5-oz. can crushed tomatoes
3 cups low-sodium chicken broth, divided


20200805_111732.jpg


Fresh Pasta, Ingredient List

½ teaspoon kosher salt
3 cups all-purpose flour plus more
4 large eggs, room temperature

Bechamel: Ingredient List

5 tablespoons unsalted butter
¼ cup all-purpose flour
4 cups whole milk, warmed
pinch of freshly ground nutmeg
Kosher salt

Assembly: Ingredients Needed

Kosher salt
Unsalted butter, room temperature (for dish)
2 cups finely grated Parmesan

Equipment!

Pasta Machine


20200805_154817.jpg


I have to be honest with you. I usually make the bolognese sauce one or two days before I need it. It saves much time and the flavors meld together, making for a richer sauce. Heavenly. Honest. So, it is one of those dishes that planning ahead works best. I have made it and used it the same day, but, doing it ahead is so much friendlier.


20200805_111740.jpg


Let's Make the Bolognese Sauce!


  1. Finely chop onion, celery, and carrot (or pulse in a food processer)
  2. Heat oil in a large heavy pot over medium heat. Add pork, beef, pancetta, and vegetables. Break up meat while cooking, making sure to brown meat and cook until moisture is almost completely gone.About 25–30 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Add wine to the pot and bring to a boil, scraping up browned bits from the bottom of the pot, for about 2 minutes. Add milk and bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer until moisture is almost completely evaporated 8–10 minutes. Add tomatoes and 2 cups broth; bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer, adding water by ½-cupfuls if the sauce looks dry. Cook approximately 21/2 -3 hours, or until the sauce thickens. The flavors should have melded by now. I can smell it already! I'm not sure I can wait!
  4. Let sauce cool, then cover and chill for at least 12 hours or up to 2 days. Letting the sauce sit will give it a deeper, richer flavor. I really recommend doing it this way, but, as I have said, it can be done either way. Whichever works for you. It doesn't look amazing, but, it will make you think you died and went to heaven.

20200806_163534.jpg


My mom made this when it was a special day for one of us kids. There were nine of us. There was a special day at least once a week. Then, we celebrated it on Sunday, usually. It has been my favorite pasta sauce all of my life, changing it up occasionally with spaghetti and clams. Oh! I just know I have to have some Italian in me! Don't you think?




STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!


Question:What has no beginning, end, or middle?

source


Answer! Can you guess???A doughnut

Center Crest.png


Fresh Pasta/Noodles


Step 6 - Whisk salt and 3 cups flour in a large bowl, make a well in the center, and crack eggs into the well. Mix eggs with a fork, then slowly mix in flour until a shaggy dough forms. Turn out dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead, dusting lightly with flour if sticky, until smooth, about 5 minutes (it will be fairly stiff). Wrap in plastic; let sit until dough holds an indentation when pressed, 1–2 hours.


20200806_135405.jpg

20200806_135446.jpg



Step 7
Set pasta maker to thickest setting; dust lightly with flour. Divide dough into 4 pieces. Working with 1 piece at a time and keeping the remaining dough wrapped in plastic as you work, flatten the dough into a narrow rectangle (no wider than the mouth of the machine); pass through rollers. Fold the dough as needed to fit and run through again. Repeat without folding, adjusting the machine to thinner settings after every pass and dusting with flour if sticky, until pasta sheet is 1/16” thick (This will be setting 8 on most machines). Place pasta sheets on a lightly floured surface and cut crosswise into 16 8”-long noodles.

20200806_160308.jpg


This is another Do Ahead! The dough can be made 1 day ahead; chill. Take out of the refrigerator and bring to room temperature before trying to roll it out, usually about 1 hour. Noodles can be made 1 day ahead. Stack on a baking sheet in layers with parchment paper in between. Cover with plastic wrap and chill.


20200806_160339.jpg


Bechamel

Step 9
Heat butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat until foaming. Add flour and cook, whisking constantly, 1 minute. Whisk in warm milk, ½-cupful at a time. Bring sauce to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer, whisking often, until the consistency of cream, 8–10 minutes; add nutmeg and season with salt. Remove from heat, transfer to a medium bowl, and press plastic wrap directly onto surface; let cool slightly.

This can be made one day ahead! cover and chill


Note:

Homemade pasta is great, the best, in fact. It is rich and delicious and can be rolled paper-thin. However, it is not always possible, so there is also the fresh store-bought: Available in the refrigerated section of specialty stores and then, of course, the supermarket noodles.


Golden Flower.png

Rules of the Road

  1. Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
    Take pictures! Be creative!
  2. Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
  3. Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
  4. Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)
  5. Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
  6. Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
    7. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post. If you don't and someone reads it, there is nothing to tie #MarketFriday to that post. I have missed a few posts because the tag is sometimes #8 and it doesn't come up in the search. Please put it on the post.
  7. Please only one post each week. Believe it not, I run out of voting power if you put in many more than that.


Gradient - Green.png


Assembly


Step 11
Reheat the sauces. Combine Bolognese sauce and the remaining 1 cup broth in a large saucepan over medium heat, and heat until sauce is warmed through.

Step 12
Meanwhile, if you made the béchamel ahead of time, heat in a medium saucepan over low heat just until warmed through. Watch it, you don't want it to boil!


20200806_163521b.jpg


Step 13
Working in batches, cook fresh lasagna noodles in a large pot of boiling salted water until just softened, about 10 seconds. Remove carefully with tongs and transfer to a large bowl of ice water; let cool. Drain noodles and stack on a baking sheet, with paper towels between each layer, making sure noodles don’t touch (they’ll stick together).


20200806_163631 (1).jpg


Step 14
Preheat oven to 350°. Coat a 13x9” baking dish with butter.


Step 15
Spread ¼ cup béchamel in the prepared baking dish. Top with a layer of noodles, spread over a scant ¾ cup Bolognese sauce, then ½ cup béchamel, and top with ¼ cup Parmesan. Repeat process 7 more times, starting with noodles and ending with Parmesan, for a total of 8 layers. Place baking dish on a rimmed baking sheet and bake lasagna until bubbling and beginning to brown on top, 50–60 minutes. Let lasagna sit 45 minutes before serving.


20200806_165024.jpg


Step 16
DO AHEAD: Lasagna can be assembled 12 hours ahead. Cover and chill. Let sit at room temperature 2 hours before baking. Cook, covered with foil until the last 20 minutes, then finish cooking uncovered.


20200807_192217.jpg


Heart On A Course L.png

20200806_191017 (1).jpg


Please leave the link to your post here so it can easily be found by others. It helps you and me to have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much for joining us!! ❤


20200806_190956.jpg


And just like that, this post is done. I hope you had a good time and learned a little something new. As always, I want to thank you for taking the time to visit, and just remember, #MarketFriday loves you!


20200805_111744.jpg


I want to thank you if you managed to make it this far on this post. The source of the recipe is a 2013 Bon Appetit Recipe which has been substituted with different things, but, the basic recipe came from the magazine. I love my mom's but hers is more complicated and sometimes I try to keep it simple. As a note, you can use bacon if you cannot find pancetta.


As always, there must be flowers to color my world. #alwaysaflower


23KQwnti57stuXpnvnU2D4w5Hhi3Micu1ZRCk7Tjiao4xBwLYzD8UGf2ap5YyGpfRK5q3gKjK1z894kbjDVKjUtRyjA3xCE.png


Christmas countdown! 72 days 21 hours 54 minute 33 seconds until Christmas!


20201224_182500.jpg


I promised to try to remember to post one Christmas picture every time I post, until Christmas!

Denise 2.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 2  Copy.jpg


Sort:  

Oh a food post combined with Market Friday! Yum. You sure know how to make it look awesome! Can I say it is certainly a win win! So many layers of pleasure for us foodies! Yes please!

Here is my link. I seem to have nodded off before posting it.
https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@old-guy-photos/a-cornucopia-of-buying

If you noticed, I reposted it at 4:30 am and didn't even shake my finger at you. I just figured when you woke up, you would do it. :))

Not the best pictures as they were with the phone, and I don't know why I do that, as I have the camera in the next room. Just one of those things, food, and the cell phone go together.

The layers of love is one of my favorite meals. I try to make the pasta extra thin to fit more layers of sauce in. The key to goodness. Many layers. Thank you for such a kind comment and for dropping the link! Have a great weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

“ 2013 Bon Appetit Recipe which has been substituted with different things, but, the basic recipe came from the magazine.” wherever it came from I will be making sometime 😃. Looks delicious

Thank you! My mom's recipe is the one I love best, but, it has too many steps to post (It sounds complicated, but, really, the dish itself sounds complicated no matter how simple you make it) When I came across the recipe, years ago, I clipped it and add and subtract from it. :) So, it doesn't feel like the same one in some ways, but, the bones of it and the credit goes to them. I substitute different things in it each time, depending on what I have. :)

Hey, Gene @geneeverett! How are you feeling?

Wow! You went all out on this one, even made your own lasagna sheets. Nice work chef, I am impressed.

I'd like to take credit for this but it's all on my mom. She taught all of her kids how to cook including her 6 boys and all of her nine kids know how to make pasta. I think she cooked like this every day of her life. Even in the leaner times, my mom could make a feast out of three ingredients. So to be honest with you, I make a lot of our pasta, but many times I just use that knife to cut and my hands to shape it instead of using the machine, it just depends on what kind it is. And in actuality it's quicker for me to make it then to run to the store and buy some. Another thing about making your own pasta is that if you notice, it's really thin and that makes it a lighter pasta oh, and you don't feel quite so weighted down with it. Just a bonus for making it Mission Point

Hi Justin! @justinparke Thanks for stopping in and leaving your awesome comment! I think about you and your lovely little family all the time and hope that you have got a little bit closer to reaching a solution for your living arrangements . You are all in my thoughts and prayers ! Have a great day!

Oh wow, that looks absolutely incredible! Thank you for sharing the entire recipe, with pictures, step by step. I will definitely have to make this! Great #MarketFriday post, @dswigle!

Funny story. I decided to read some Market Friday posts this afternoon, and I couldn't figure out why my own post wasn't showing up. I realized I had forgotten to use the tag! One of these days, I'll get all of the things right, all at the same time. Ha ha!!

Thank you so much! @jayna I do that to anything I show off on Hive, mostly because when I see something I like, I hate to have to ask for the recipe. So, I just make a post of it and try to remember to photograph the various steps or ones that will be important. Like making your own pasta. You need to show it, people won't believe you! LOL I taught all my kids how to make it, even my son. The girls and I like doing it together, but, each of us is okay doing it alone.

I will tell you, so many people forget to tag it! But, you added a tag at the bottom of your post. For some reason, I couldn't pull it up, but, tried different ways and I finally was able to access it. It shouldn't be that hard. I just went over and voted/reposted it. I got you covered! Thanks for letting me know! Happy #MarketFriday! Thanks for thinking of me!!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Hi @dswigle sorry have been busy exploring Bangkok city I just got back just want to thank you for your nice tip very kind of you. I will still leave my link here and that Lasagne Bolognese just wow and yummy one of my favorite dishes :) Need sleep now have a great day :)

https://ecency.com/hive-163772/@tinman88/bangkok-city-by-night

Hey, @tinman88 No worries! I have been too busy myself, so no complaining here! Always glad to see you getting out and bringing home some awesomeness in a photo. You have never let me down! Also, I didn't get to the comment yet, just wanted to make sure the $$ got there in a timely manner. The important things first!

Glad you like the Lasagne Bolognese! It is one of my favorites!

Sleep tight! Goodnight and thanks for reading and dropping the link here!

#MarketFriday loves you!

To much happening over this side of the world just like over there but we do our best. Have a great day @dswigle :)

Sure looks tasty and delicious, three shops, full recipe... been busy in the kitchen!

Lasagne Bolognese is like layers of love on a plate, with meatiness or mushrooms depending on the personal taste.

Enjoy!
!WINE


Hi @joanstewart, You Do Not Have Enough WINEX Tokens To Make Another Successful Call.
Please Hold More WINEX Tokens.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.070

Thank you for the wine!

It was my fault for letting myself run out of these things all at once. But, they were not too far from home, so, it was a quick run out. Because I decided early to go for the make-ahead version, it really wasn't any trouble. I just did it the day before, so no stress.

Have I ever told you that stress and I are not friends?

What a perfect term, Joan!! @joanstewart Layers of love on a plate. I will have to remember that. I have done it with mushrooms instead of the beef, it is just as good and the texture is smooth. It was a different #MaarketFriday, but, these are strange times too. :) Thank you so much for always leaving such kind and thoughtful comments!

#MarketFriday loves you!

I try not to start things I know lead to stress, great divide, leave alone.... 😆

Family also enjoy Lasagne, I don't make the pasta from scratch, normally purchase spinach pasta, feeding them not looking for belly aches.

Recipe you used looks tempting, but I know me, I will never make it, never follow recipes I cook from experience to taste never really remember what I made even if it is a hit.

Greetings from South Africa, keep having fun!

Haha! I don't blame you, but, I cook in batches, if I make this, I might make 2 or 4 times the amount needed. It freezes well. I am a lazy cook.

I can only cook by recipe, otherwise, I am terrible if I don't follow them. I know me, so I must. LOL

My mom was a brilliant cook. I think I am probably her only failure. The rest of my eight siblings cook by memory!

Following a recipe means I have to visit shops to get everything required, I do not like shopping..., quick solution is to buy variety of fresh then cook according to what I feel will taste good.

Couple of really unique recipe books I did have, one Italian and one wild cooking South African style my husband in one of his "clean up's" got rid of both...., he never has and never will cook not even braai, I do it all so yup totally peeved about that!

Well linger not in the past..., now I cook A'La Joan Style, eat it, don't eat it, choice is yours in my home.

That works in my house as well, plus helps that all the kids cook and like to.

Your husband doesn't cook? Off with his head! Well you know what they don't cook they usually have other redeeming factors, so I'll leave it at that

Chuckles, knows how to walk leave it that...

Gorgeous fresh morning here with sunshine after rainy weekend, sure to get some work done this week to settle back into content eventually on Hive.

Have a good one!

That is an impressive amount of layers.

Thank you @enjar! The key to success is to roll the dough really thin. The thin layers are what make it delicious. Appreciate you stopping by and leaving your words!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Well. This post is exactly what my 7 month pregnant belly needed to see! Yuuuummmmmmmmm! 😍😍😀

OH!!! I didn't know! Congratulations! How cool! Yes!!!! Every pregnant belly should have some of this!

It tastes even better than it looks! Good luck to you! :)

Thank you! I've been kind of quiet on here LOL but yeah we're expecting our 3rd baby and 3rd girl :D Thanks so much. I have decided tomorrows supper will be homemade pasta of some sort. That looks delicious.

Thank you! I always make it a double or triple batch of sauce so that the next time I want pasta it's easy peasy! Pasta is always good!

Yay for the girls team!!

OMG! What a luscious layered lasagna!
That was a wonderful post, I am drooling. You really are an amazing chef. I have never made fresh pasta but have always wanted to try. After reading this post I may order a pasta maker and give it a go. You make it sound so easy.
Nice job my friend , love the flowers too.
Enjoy your day

Thank you! You are always such a sweet comment to bump into! The fresh pasta is easy, but, before you buy a machine, make some and use a knife to cut it and see if it will be worth it to buy one. They actually are not really expensive (or you don't need an expensive one) because they all basically do the same thing.

Thank you again! You made my day! ❤️

Oh thanks for the advise Denise, I'll let you know, if and when I give it a try. Going to be busy the next few weeks, we have 7 birthdays to celebrate in the next three weeks. So I will be baking up a storm. It's our tradition, everyone gets their own cake.
Gonna put on a few pounds for sure.
Have a wonderful week my friend, thanks for your nice comments, always enjoy your company.

Ha! We always have a cake for each birthday! It is tradition for the person to pick what kind of cake I will make for their birthday. June and August are heavy months. In my own family, all 11 are in June, July and August. :) Thankfully summers are busy to keep me running!

I hope you have a wonderful week yourself and don't forget to take a moment or three for yourself! I adore your sweet personality! ❤️

Looking forward to hearing when you do it!

God, what a post! It's exactly how cooking should be written, it's how I've wanted to write for a long time but can't. Thanks for the reference to me, it honors me.
A lesson in how such a blog should be written. It will remain my model.

What a coincidence, both to post Italian recipes. I didn't know what you posted, so I wasn't inspired, I guess you believe me. An interesting coincidence and one I like so much.

I cook on the run, photograph on the run, write on the run and the result is not how I want it. I have to settle down, sit down, and get more inspiration from your model. That's what I could do for today: Shopping Impressions

P.S. I'm looking forward to cooking your recipe!

I hope you do. I think you will like it. It is a lot of steps, but, if you read it through, you can see that most can be made ahead, so it is not so overwhelming. It is one of those things that is worth it. Make extra sauce. :)

I wish you could see me writing #MarketFriday. I started it at 930 pm last night, with no idea what I was doing, and finally finished it a 330am? Something like that.

Why did I do that to myself?

I don't always plan my daily posts, it is rare, it is on the run as you say. I sit and hope to be inspired...I do collect pictures of everything and this is the whole entire truth behind my eclectic posting some days. But, shhhhhh! It can be our little secret.

I laughed when I saw your recipe, I know it was a coincidence, a great one! :)I believe you are too hard on yourself, I always enjoy your posts and think that many times they are thoughtful, poignant, nostalgic, and full of love for life. They are great posts, Dan and if they were not, I would tell you that too. At the very least, I would not praise them. We are both busy, with busy lives and we do what we can and still maintain our status. Thanks so much for stopping by and reading my way-too-long-to-read-post, then dropping your link! Much appreciated! Thank you!

#MarketFriday loves you!

I like to make complicated recipes. I often spend 4-5 hours in the kitchen. I like to work alone, to do everything myself (and I often make mistakes, spoil food because I don't know some basics). My wife, on the other hand, is very unhappy if she doesn't have help when she makes food...

It takes me about that long to write a post and, like you, I often don't know what I'm going to write about, it really scares me that I won't have inspiration. Funny and nice at the same time, once I start writing the ideas start coming.

Maybe sometimes I victimize myself when I talk about how bad my posts are but maybe I like it when you tell me they're not really like that. Now I've told you a little secret too!

I take forever to write a post! I know!! How can some people zip them off?

I have closed my laptop and left the computer if I sit there too long with nothing running through my brain. Most times that is not the case.

I like complicated recipes, most don't. Check out those cakes that I did for the other #MarketFridays... Oh, I remember you did see them. I am more of a savory food eater as opposed to sweets. I like food. :) I spend hours in the kitchen, but, I like it. If I have help, it is fine, if not, that is fine too. I like the company, but, don't need help. (usually) I have my own ways of doing things. :)

It really is never as bad as you make it out to be. I think it is good to tell people how well they do! We are supposed to wait till Secret Sunday to tell secrets, Friday will never do! :)

Some are professionals and others don't care how they write, if they see that they still get something in return, often far above the value of the post. On this point, I have seen many things that have outraged me but I know that this is the way it is in our world. What upsets me is about myself, that sometimes I become envious and I have never had this feeling before.

Like you, I prefer salty food. I don't cook sweets because I don't like pharmacy-like recipes, that I have to keep track of quantities very precisely. I like freedom (which I have often paid for by throwing away cooked food), I like to mix ingredients as I think is right, so I am a cook who has only learned from my own mistakes.

And I think it's good to tell people your opinion but often people are not ready to listen. Especially here, when everyone is chasing votes, don't risk upsetting others. Most people. And I prefer not to say my opinion than to upset someone, I keep my right to honesty vis a vis friends or newbies when I allow myself to give some advice and say where I think they are wrong. Just to help. Sometimes it has worked. I love those who don't mind!

It's funny, and I never thought of it that way, but, desserts are fussier when it comes to quantity. too much sugar, flour and you can ruin the effect. Perhaps that is why I don't care for it as much. :)

My cauliflower pizza crust is an example. I am not sure it has ever come out the same way twice. My chili is the same. Whenever people ask for a recipe, I freeze, knowing that I cannot duplicate what they ate, only approximate. That is why I use recipes many times. Then I can veer off that and still have a recipe to give them.

I have to say that opinions are usually fine with me unless someone goes out of their way to be rude. Then, it is not fine. I don't mind criticism but, it is the way that it is delivered that makes the difference. It is rare to get someone that aims to hurt, but, I know that it happens.

Advice is always welcome. Most days I need it! LOL :) Thanks, Dan! @bluemoon I hope you are having a great weekend!

I've never made a good pizza. I saw your cauliflower pizza recipe, thought I'd try it but couldn't find the right time.
I most enjoy cooking without following a recipe when I know how to cook that dish. Funny thing is, I often forget to put in an ingredient and then regret not following the recipe.

We had a very rainy week and the weekend is the same. Chances are we won't get out of the house.
Wishing you a sunny weekend and good for the walk!

YUMMM!!!
I love it, @dswigle!
Buon appetito!
or better still...
spero che ti sia piaciuto il tuo pasto!

Aren't you so sweet? Thank you so much! Thank you for stopping by and leaving your words!

Mi è piaciuto molto! Da dove hai imparato l'italiano? I miei padrini sono calabresi e non hanno mai parlato molto inglese.

#MarketFriday loves you!

shakes all the presents & looks at the tags to see which one is mine

That lasagna looks devine. I can't even remember when I made any style of lasagna last. Yum !

Hello, lovely lady! Haha! Did you find yours? I probably hid it because I knew you were a shaker! One of my girls is a shaker too. :) I put something in a box that sounded broken one year. It was fun watching her shake it.

The lasagna was really good! I probably make the bolognese sauce once a month or six weeks. It is a favorite and it freezes really well and is a really favorite crowd-pleaser in the family. Plus I can make it in stages because I am lazy and that works.

Did you find your gift yet? Today is back to hot again. It is the hottest it has been in a while. I looked out and saw my three-headed dragon on the lawn and wondered if it would be autumn in time for Halloween. Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words!

#MarketFriday loves you!

I didn't find mine yet, but I'm thinking about opening them all just in case.

ha ha

My older sister's husband would open his before Christmas if she turned her back. It took her a young year or two to find out that no amount of scolding or anger or pleading could make him stop. His only defense was that he simply couldn't wait once he saw a package with his name! I know, he sounds so immature, but on other stuff he wasn't. After that, she learned either to not put his under the tree till Christmas morning or to label as if it were to someone else !

Maddening ...right ? That would burn me up !

Oh! Yes! He wouldn't be getting any. Then we would see how many he would open up!

Kidding. I think that is kind of cute. Maybe the first year. Then after that... maybe not. It would be like having to babysit another toddler.

Wow, that looks tasty! Bring some of that to Vermont next year!

Haha! Make sure you color my world and you have a deal! Thanks for dropping by and leaving your words! :))

#MarketFriday loves you!

YUMMMMM and you even make your own pasta sheets too!

OMG you really are wonder woman aren't you! ( I promise I won't tell anyone...😜..except I think that they know already.🤣..)

Your lasagne looks so delicious and I'm so happy that there are plantbased alternatives too so I can make an almost meat lasagne some times my self ( though my ex flatmates used to make the best...

Anyhoo, I was full a minute ago now I'm drooling already! 😋

Hehe! Yes! I make it with mushrooms instead of meat and it is delicious, the texture is smooth and delicious!

Making your own pasta is really simple and it tastes soooo much better! It is not like I make it all the time, just sometimes. It is also made really thin so it is not as heavy as the store-bought. I have been doing it most of my life so it doesn't seem too much. It is pretty fast and both of my daughters and my son can make them. :)

I hope you try it sometime.Hands you a napkin for your drool. LOL Thanks for stopping by and leaving such a cool comment!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Yes I and my flatmate usually make it with Quorn, not sure if you have heard of it before, but it tastes- well not so much the flavour, but the texture it almost identical to mince meat and it makes incredible bolognaise sauce and it's based on myco protein- mushrooms essentially...

Now that I have seen you make the pasta sheets, I might have a go myself one day!

Thanks for the motivation!

Speaking ofwhich, guess what I just did...

I just signed up to start this course 😃
https://www.mylearningonline.com.au/our-course/certificate-in-animal-studies/#brochure

Haha! I clicked on it! Good luck to you!!!❤️

Thank you. Hopefully having a structure and needing discipline will get me out of this funky fog that I have been battling every day for the past few months...

I also bought a cheap pushbike too, which I probably will have to push at first...as I have become so unfit (I've been having a few heart/health issues of late, plus the depression...) but hopefully soon will be using it as a bike to ride, not just a pushbike...which begs the question, why was it names a pushbike since you ride it and only push it when it's got a flat tyre, (or your a flat tyre...🤣..)

One of the great mysteries...

Well don't let it all get you down! I am sure that you are under a doctor's care for your heart issues oh, but I can tell you that walking we'll be as good as riding the bike. Perhaps even better. As you probably already know it is number one for exercise and exercise pushes that depression away. I hope that you can grab hold of this before it affects your life in a negative way. You are such a positively, energetic and delightful soul. Chop Chop girl! I need you 100% so I have somebody to goof around with on here.

Yes but if you had any idea about how lacksadaiscal the cardiologist are over here, you'd be taking your heart care into your own hand like I HAVE to too...

And I know that you're right, depression is so bad for your heart, aswell as you mental health and all other aspects of you physical health too, which I why I bought a bike, I need to feel the wind through my hair (as I'm pushing it along.🤣..)

You know I met Peakd and everyone here last year and was so glad that I did- it was fun. This time, this year it has saved my life.

Don't get me wrong, getting on here every day and having to think- to fight through the thick fog clouding my brain and eyes to put the effort into my posts has been a HUGE effort, but I did it and that is one of the reasons that I am still here, literally and figuratively and I think making myself push through it to be on here has started making me feel a little bit clearer and more determined to move forward and upward and I know once I get that wind moving through my hair it will push the fogs away too.

Hopefully I can pick it up tomorrow and fingers crossed I can put it together without it falling apart the minute I get on it...🤣😳

I think I just realised I'm having amid life crisis.(50 on the 30th.😭.)..except I got the pushbike instead of the ferrari..🤣..and now with signing up for this course and am now having to re define my career direction- which I'm still not entirely convinced about...after all, the logical way to do it and my preferred way to do it is to be producing my animal based docu-series for broadcast, then studying to become a vet (with the profit made from those programs) so I can do nothing but travel around the world and volunteer in animal sanctuaries- with my video cameras developing more programs- WHEN I retire, not now...BUT now I have just committed myself to paying off a $3k loan to study the animal course now and I'm still a couple of decades off retiring...oh crap...now I'm doing it around the wrong way and....I really REALLY don't like doing things- back to front, around the wrong way....😬...now I really have to sort myself out don't I...🙄 and salvage this situation somehow...and find the light at the end of THAT tunnel....🤐 she says shaking her going what have I done...

Hello there
Today Friday I work all day and eat a pintxo and although it was delicious and I'm not hungry, you have whetted my appetite.
How delicious I usually make it with more tomato and without butter but here we have very good oil heh
But the dough bought, I have the machine that I buy to make the cold porcelain dolls but I have never dared to make pasta

image.png
el trastero de txatxa
it looks delicious
Well, I'll leave you my Friday market, flowers for everyone
image.png
The rainbow market
xoxo besos muxus

Hello, Beautiful! I make it with tomato and oil, this is a much simpler recipe and tastes delicious also. I am hungry, all over again, just looking at it. I am sorry it takes so long to answer you. I feel so slow to get going today. Do you use the dough for the porcelain dolls? :) That is funny. I love homemade pasta! You can buy it at the Italian Deli, I am sure, but, it is so much lighter and thinner. You can have layers and layers of it!

Estoy muy feliz de ver tu nombre aquí hoy. Eres un amigo tan dedicado. Muchas gracias. Espero que todo esté bien para usted y su esposo. Quizás España casi haya terminado con COVID. Tus números son muy bajos. Me encanta. Te amo, mi hermosa amiga.

#MarketFriday loves you!

MMMmmmm, I know how fresh made pasta tastes like but never actually made it from scratch yet. If I can get the time and energy I know where I can find the inspiration.

Thanks @dswigle 🍳

Haha! It doesn't take as long as it does for me to stop at the store and get pasta unless it is gotten on the way home. :)

Thanks, @kerrisravenhill for the vote and the words! Mwah!

#MarketFriday loves you!

@dswigle dear, wow very yummy and delicious food.I really feel hungry.🍜🍝 Happy Friday.

Here is my #MarketFriday post👇

https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@sumaiya777/nino-rossi-best-qualities-and-branded-apex-shoes-my-choicing-apex-shoe-on-marketfriday

Happy Friday! Thank you so much, I am glad that you liked it! It makes me hungry every time I look at it!

Thank you for your kind words and for dropping your post!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Ooh Ds! My face has drool on it, no lie! I love, love, love lasagna, and you went the extra mile by making homemade pasta! Holy extra effort!

And pancetta too? I am dying! It looks amazing, I am soo going to try this recipe! And what did you serve it with, a small bowl of mozzarella, basil, tomato, and olive oil? I'm going to go get something to eat now, lol!

Oh, you just made me smile, Kat @generikat I love lasagna too but, yes, I do make my own pasta because it is really easy and both of my girls like to do it. I have eager helpers, who am I to turn them down? Honestly, you can make it so think, you need 8 or 9 layers instead of the 3 or 4 with store-bought. It is lighter and settles better. Honestly, my mom spoiled us growing up. And then she gave me a pasta machine. She taught her girls how to cut it by hand and then rewarded us with a pasta machine. LOL

I know! Pancetta. I hope you do try it. It is a good recipe and I got it from Bon Appetit. My mom's recipe was so much more complicated and this already is challenging, so I used it. (it is delicious!)

You guessed it! It is a bowl of mozzarella, basil, tomato, and olive oil. My favorite and I probably eat it every day. Just reading you made me hungry! Thank you for stopping over and leaving your words. It is always such a treat to see you! 💗

#MarketFriday loves you!

Awe, mutual feelings alert, I start smiling as soon as I see your name😊!

And I would never turn down eager help, that's awesome! What I am seriously intrigued about is that your mom's recipe is more complicated than the one you posted, that's mind blowing to me! I mean, just prepping all the components is already such a feat, talk about a labor of love.

Oh dear, just re-reading that bit about the bowl of mozz and stuff has made my gut start singing an ode to ingestion, I must go find a snack, hope all is well!

I ❤ #MarketFriday back!!!

A small list but three shops :) but worth it that looks so good

I had a mishap with my cooking yesterday did chicken and seasoned with an all purpose seasoning and salt, too much salt LOL

her eis my post for this week

https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@tattoodjay/market-friday-r10lx5

It is not too bad if you are used to making it. I can make it quicker than you can buy it. Not including the sauce, which I usually make ahead and freeze so it can be quick. :)

Thanks for stopping by, Ace @ace108 and dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

You're welcome. I guess you make ahead makes if more worthwhile to make bigger load and freeze them.

It is pretty yummy! I think you would like it! :) Thank you so much for the kind words and for dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Today I thought to starve, but after reading your post, I decided to go drink coffee with a sandwich))) You are so great: you make the dough yourself !!!! I am lazy so I buy it in the store. Your lasagna is amazing, but I cry: I can't eat it. I cook lasagna in a way that suits my diet. You had a big family !!!! donut riddle funny))))
https://ecency.com/hive-196308/@tali72/handbags

Haha! I am glad you are not starving today! :) The dough is easy to make and my mom made sure all her kids knew how to do it.

You cannot eat it? Do you cook in a way that suits your diet? Are you on a diet or is it something that restricts what you eat? I do have a big family! I love having so many. The doughnut riddle was funny! I had to use a food one because of the post.

Thank you so much to you and your husband for participating in #MarketFriday and for dropping the link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

when the family is large and, moreover, friendly, this is a great wealth! In the country where I come from, it is not customary to have more than one or two children. and at the same time, relatives do not live amicably: everyone is on his own. it is sad. I'm glad that you have it in a completely different way. your mother is a wise woman since she made sure that her children have such practical skills! yes, unfortunately I am intolerant to lactose and all types of fats and vegetable oils. I have a very strict diet

Thank you so much for taking the time to drop your link! Have a wonderful night!

#MarketFriday loves you!

I would gladly join to get a taste from these foods.
My #MarketFriday entry for today is also about foods:
Tortillas Street Food in Szolnok, Hungary - Market Friday (2021.10.15).

It is a huge crowd pleaser in my extended family. They love homemade pasta, but, are happy to not have to make it. :)

I have just run rampant with the untraditional #MarketFriday's haven't I? Different is good and keeps it interesting. Speaking of which, I see you have food too! Bravo! I love street food! Best stuff ever!

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your words and dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Thank you so much for dropping the link to your post! It is much appreciated and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Is there anything you can't do can you make it a table for 5 😊 That is so mouth watering one of my mom's favorite dishes in Italian style she would do for us every Sunday 😊

Haha! Table for five, coming right up! That is pretty much what my mom did too - we had such a large family and we always had relatives dropping in on Sunday, so with this, there was always plenty!

Thanks for stopping in! Have a great rest of your weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Cool i will wait till next Sunday when you make your fresh batch see you then 😁

Have a great week @dswigle 👍

Hey! Set another plate Denise cause that is calling my name!! Lol..I just took photos for a dish that I'll be posting on soon (different community though)! I missed putting up my #marketfriday post but hopefully next week! My computer has been hijacked by the kids so I've had much less time on it myself as of late. 😕
Anyway, loved this post even if it did leave me salivating for some of that lasagna! 😋

I would be more than happy to set a place for you! :) Don't worry about missing putting a post up, you know #MarketFriday will be here next week and the next week and so on. We will be here for you. Don't you love when they hijack your equipment? If you go to their house, I bet you cannot hijack theirs! LOL

There is just something special about bolognese sauce. It is my absolute favorite. Thank you so much for stopping in! Have fun with those kids!

#MarketFriday loves you!

You're very welcome! Bolognese sauce is right up there for me too! 😋
It truly does get on my nerves a bit. Especially when they have laptops and such. 😕
Wishing you a beautiful weekend!! 🎉🙂

Go figure! We have spoiled our kids! All of us, you are not alone! :))❤️

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your link. It is so much appreciated! Have a great weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Thank you too so much, I am grateful

It is always a pleasure!

Question:What has no beginning, end, or middle?

the TIME :-)
!LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@dswigle, you've been given LUV from @victorbz.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

Thanks for the LUV!

Ha! You left me a riddle! :)

!LUV you right back!

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@victorbz, you've been given LUV from @dswigle.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/3)

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your link! It is so much appreciated!

#MarketFriday loves you!

What a lovely post. Some need-to-try recipes here - and enjoy the countdown to Christmas - it's just around the corner

The lasagna bolognese is to die for! Takes too long to do, but, anytime someone wants to make it for me, I let them! My mom makes it the best! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a lovely comment!

Christmas countdown as the shipping/purchasing will be more challenging this year. No dawdling! :)

#MarketFriday loves you!

When I find some time - I will attempt to make the lasagna bolognese. You're so right about Christmas - much more challenging this year

You can make it in stages, that way it is not overwhelming and I love it for that!

Good idea. I love food that can be pre-prepared

It has directions for make aheads.

What a sweet meal. Hope the market didn't take you time to gather those items. Big thanks for the ideas shared

Hope the market didn't take you time to gather those items

Haha! Of course, it did, but, not too badly. Thanks for stopping by and leaving your kind words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Thats very good recipe with delicious taste of your food, really love it the way make it and descriptions with photos, anyway, its friday and happy market friday.

https://hive.blog/marketfriday/@sheikh27/marketfriday-at-jamuna-future-park

Thank you so much for the words and for dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you so much for the upvote!

#MarketFriday loves you!

I love everything about this post especially the pictures very nice pictures @dswigle

Thank you so much for your words. I appreciate them. Have a wonderful weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Congratulations @dswigle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 58500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 59000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you for the notification!

#MarketFriday loves you!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
!LUV
2

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer ! Much appreciated!

#MarketFriday loves you!

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@dswigle, you've been given LUV from @pixresteemer.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (2/5)

Thanks for the LUV!