You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday's Fish Story

in Market Friday2 years ago

A day fishing on the ocean. I think about how it was with lust but also with fear, I love fishing but I pity both the bait and the fish. That's what happens until the first fish I catch, then I forget.
You described as visually as possible this adventure on boat and ocean, sorry you didn't fish too. I, if I had been just a witness, would have photographed everything but better that you didn't. When you photograph, strange, but you miss the moment even if you then have it all put into photos.
I don't know if the choice you made to talk about fish on the last day of the year is accidental or has a reason. In our world so far away, it's a tradition for the end-of-year meal to include fish.
Happy New Year, Denise! Wishing for you and your family a better new year, everlasting wish, but I hope this time it actually happens!

Sort:  

I know exactly what you mean!

I pity both the bait and the fish

There is just no getting around it, especially if you love seafood, and you know we both do! I might have written it a little confusing. I did get to fish, but, that was one of the reasons I didn't bring a camera/phone on board. I have nowhere safe to put it and if it is choppy out on the water, I don't need to be worrying about where to put it, so I usually never bring one. I don't even bring it kayaking on the river. I don't usually have any pockets to put a phone in, so I just skip it. I would rather have the time in my memory than struggle with that.

It is true when you photograph, you always lose the moment, and can only truly relive it to some degree in the photos themselves. I did fish, but, I caught them and released them back into the ocean. I had no place to put them as I was in a hotel, but, it was still fun to go. One less fish ate that night. :)

I purposely talked about fish on the last day of the Year. My mother is French, and the most traditional of French New Year's food at le Reveillon, includes foie gras, oysters, and plenty of wine or champagne. My father is German and so we have sauerkraut and fish (he used to have carp as a child, but, we just have fish) My godparents are Italian and so we follow their tradition of seafood on New Year's Eve. Funny, you are the only one who blinked an eye on the reason for fish. Rather than have me come out and say it. It wasn't a coincidence, but, it wasn't in the plan at first, but, migrated that way later in the day. Just trying to fit it in the right way. At first, I was going to the Aquarium. :)

Thanks again, Dan! @bluemoon Happy New Year to you!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Now I understand, you go fishing and kayaking, but for objective reasons, you don't immortalize these moments. You make me think of a great Romanian conductor, Celibidache, whom I like very much, who didn't agree that his concerts should be recorded. All the joy should remain in the moment and not later.

French mother, German father, Italian godparents! Your family made the European Union before anyone else. I think it's fabulous this mix of nationalities, each with distinct customs and characteristics.

Happy New Year to all!

I can truly appreciate that sentiment. I know we all like memorializing moments of joy, but, sometimes, just being in the moment serves me better. As for the kayak and anywhere near the water, I take a few but, hardly any. I have seen cameras and phones go in the water or get ruined from taking the pictures so close to the sea spray with salt! It ruins the camera over time.

Haha. Yes, they did make the Union ahead of schedule, Dan! @bluemoon It is a great mix and everybody likes their own customs but, of course, they have mixed over time!

Happy, Healthy, New Year and one of Prosperity too! Yes to 2022~

Thank you, Denise! We are already in 2022. I don't know if you want to know this, but I'll tell you anyway. A long time ago I wrote a post titled "When I'm Sixty Four" after the Beatles song and on the occasion of turning 64. Tomorrow I turn 68!