You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Antigua and Barbuda, Market Friday Style

in Market Fridaylast year (edited)

You write so beautifully, Denise! Especially when you don't want it to be ultra-poetic or overly charged with love... Here, in the text below, you give an example of normal love but so warm, beautiful, and moving. This a call and a message to those who, perhaps only out of ignorance and carelessness, do not think of the one in front of him, who sells his work and his life so cheaply.

The prices are ridiculously cheap for most things and even then, most tourists will try to bargain them down. Not because they need it but, because they can. Call me stupid, but, I normally pay what they ask, sometimes even giving a little extra. The one or two dollars that I will save won't even buy me a cup of coffee. Unless you are doing it for sport, I feel like it might be helping them out.

I would like to say that we too, especially Magda, don't bargain in such situations, we always pay the asking price, and leave something extra.

I've always loved children, but since Ilinca came along, even more. Gorgeous photo of dad and daughter! I love children's eyes, they don't lie. You look at their eyes, their look and try to guess or understand what they are thinking, you wonder what is there.... curiosity, dreams, desires? I understand why she was impressed by you, why she liked your hair, so different from her mother's... You can think and wonder what she doesn't think and wonder now. I mean what the future will be like for her?

You have released so much of my nostalgia with this post, Denise.
Wishing you a wonderful vacation and journey ahead!

Sort:  

Thank you so much, Dan @bluemoon I think you are right, it is ignorance on their part to think that living is so cheap where they live. Food is not cheap unless you grow your own. There are no huge farms on these islands, there is no room anyway.

Tourism is the main source of employment and income in Antigua and Barbuda. The other source is government services. I think it is tough when you are dependent on a service-based income, especially during covid. If there are no people to service, there is no income. I believe some people believe they are doing people a favor by buying their wares, but, when they try to score a buy with a low value attached to it, I am insulted for them. That could be me or my mother trying to sell something to earn a living. How would I feel? Probably hurt, and maybe a little insulted that they value my work so little and worse, making me believe that is all it is worth.

Wherever I have gone, I only see hard-working people making the best they can with what little they have. Are there some out there that take advantage? I am sure, but, I would rather err on the side of pure-hearted than make a mistake.

I have always loved children too! They have no hidden agenda, their hearts are pure. They have not learned how to be deceptive yet. Hopefully, they never will. I always wonder what they are thinking! My hair is very different from her mother's, who most likely had gloriously dark waves of hair, long and beautiful. That is the majority of what I see in the people. I have no reason to think she is different judging by the daughter. I am not the first blonde person she has ever seen, but, she was sitting next to me on the bench, waiting for the local bus. It was sort of funny because she was petting me like a cat! LOL The father asked if I could take their picture, which delighted me to no end. I asked if he wanted me to take a picture for him and he decline, so it was an honor to walk away with two pictures of them. I do wonder what the future holds for this generation. Good things, I can only hope;

Nostalgia is not a bad thing. It gives me a feeling of warmth. allowing me to remember things that I enjoyed from a different time. Thank you so much, Dan! I hope you and Magda are well!

#MarketFriday loves you!