You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Antigua and Barbuda, Market Friday Style

in Market Fridaylast year

This looks like a pretty cool place. Are each of the islands unique in their own right or are there a lot of them that are really similar? I'd probably get all my money stolen if I came to a place like this. I suck at haggling, so I would likely just pay what they ask too. With two cruise ships there, I have to imagine the total population of the island tripled in a matter of hours!

Sort:  

All of the Caribbean is pretty cool, to me anyway. Each island is unique and so are the people, the architecture, the history, and where their roots started. That is what I love best about each one.

I pay what they ask because many of the island people are poor, living well below the poverty line. There are some that do well, or at least maintain a living, but, they it few and far between. These islands are incredibly beautiful and there should be no poverty, to be honest. There are high-end shopping and spas, hotels built on these islands, and the only ones who benefit from them are the companies and maybe a few local politicians. If they put all the earned money back into the economy or the island itself, I would be happy to see the growth, but, they don't.

The islands that are wealthy are not from the local people. They allow rich people to build/buy these mansions and live in seclusion. The islands are not rich, but, the people that live there are.

This particular island had two ships, but, when we were in St. Croix, there were 6 cruise ships and about 10 yachts on that tiny island. Thank goodness it was a national holiday, so everything was closed except the beaches. :)

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Wow, that is really interesting. Thanks for sharing. Ten cruise ships sounds nuts!

Six cruise ships and 10 yachts.

Oh right. Sorry. I did read it, I promise. I had just woken up! 😃

:) I was just joshing with you. :)