You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday on Market Friday

in Market Friday2 years ago

Not at all! Did I ever tell you about my first few weeks in the US? I was in a Mall - my first ever as SA only started building malls in the last two decades - I asked someone the way to a toilet. I was met with shock and confusion. After asking a number of people for a "toilet" in my best South African accent, someone eventually said "Oh!! You MEAN the restroom!" I never used the word toilet again while I lived there. But it did cause me to chuckle. Here in SA even in public areas the signs all say TOILETS. If someone asks for a restroom here they will be directed to a bedroom!

Sort:  

Haha! I never call it a restroom either. I had always referred to it as the bathroom. although, I am sure that would cause some confusion too as you can, not always take a bath there. What do you call that room? When I was growing up, in New England my grandmother always used the term toilet, which, it was. My mother used the term bathroom and I answered everything.

I wished I had been there when you asked. I cannot believe (and yet, I can) that anyone would be so ignorant as to pretend to be shocked over such a thing. As if they didn't know what a toilet is. I apologize for all of them.