Market Friday Canterbury England

Welcome to today's #marketfriday hosted by our dear @dswigle and for the rules and the fun way to join in go to her latest post here.
20181201_142121.jpg
I have to imagine myself enjoying this amazing cappuccino in a woodland Cafe in England today. As I'm awaiting my car's repairs there are no markets for me in the present New England, but I love revisiting those wondeful days in Old England , marketing in Canterbury.

20181124_112501.jpg
This Window view was from the Cafe Nerro in Canterbury. Now, I freely admit the cappuccinos were better in this little local place just a few miles from here in Bridge, where we had our house, but I Loved this building.

This cafe Nerro was in one of the old buildings in Canterbury that boasted having been visiting by Queen Elizabeth and that is the First one, not the current. It was one of my favourite spots to sit up here and look down onto the High street.

I suppose most old buildings claim this or that 'slept here' but in such an old place as Canterbury you could well believe it. If one believed in ghosts, you'd be bumping into them left and right.

I wondered what they thought, these Victorian and Elizabethan ghosts milling about, as modern people drank coffees and wrote on odd glowing boxes

At this time, it was the Christmas season and the lights were going up between the buildings. I even indulged in browsing the over priced soaps and things at LUSH.

20181129_114547.jpg

I Love Canterbury and every Saturday they have an open air market and one could buy so many things.

My favourites were the foods as many local farmers would sell the best local raised or locally hunted meats, pheasant sausage or a brace of squab could be had easily enough. There is something magical about cobbled streets and old buildings in a walled city.

20181130_103456.jpg

Even in the evening one could happily walk the little thoroughfares and marvel at the window displays; dreaming of what indulgences you could manage, depending on how full your purse was for the day.

20181202_163922.jpg
Of course we always found enough spare change for gelato or a sweet treat.

20181202_164041.jpg

And there always seems room enough, and a pound or two, for another cappuccino
20181203_091929.jpg

Today, I have to content myself with my morning fire and a hot pot of tea. My 'marketing' today will be on my morning ramble when I'll go "shopping" for some moss or twigs, perhaps some new shells and sea stones, they are great art supplies and decorative object for the window ledges after all.

I really Miss Ole' Blighty and hope to return again soon, but for now I'll recall happy days spent shopping and poking about the old walled city of Canterbury and the lovely countryside of Kent.

I hope all of you had a lovely day out Marketing even if it was simply recalling wonderful markets of your past.


If you'd like to follow my Work Here are some Links:
NFTshowroom
MAKERSPLACE
My Website
Instagram
Twitter
My 3Speak Channel

Sort:  

Canterbury is such a quaint little town, from the cobblestoned street to the markets they bear. I am not sure how you ever left there, although the weather did make me feel such a chill, there is nothing more romantic or fun than snuggling up to a nice fire with tea, if you please.

What a lovely area, for sure! I love your #MarketFriday! Thank you so much!

You know I love when you are a part of the #MarketFriday Challenge! I have personally found there is always so much to learn about people, where they live, and how things are done in different parts of the world and I love hearing from you! For me, reaching out across the globe and learning about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, has been such a rewarding experience. You know how much I love gardens and even our gardens are different from place to place. We have become a melting pot of culture, but, it is still the rituals, festivals, food, architecture, even your language/languages that separate us... and what is normal for us? There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. We do differ in many ways, which makes us interesting and unique, but, there are many ways in which are so much alike.

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!
Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
Take pictures! Be creative!
Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)

  1. Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
    Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
  2. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post. If you don't and someone reads it, there is nothing to tie #MarketFriday to that post.
    Please only one post each week. Believe it not, I run out of voting power if you put in many more than that.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Reposted

I love that area, on my visits to England over the years I visited there a couple of times and had a great time exploring all over

Hope your car is repaired and your mobile again soon

Great shots. I love the lights and whisper of christmas coming in the shop window.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.