You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Irish Eyes are Smiling: Market Friday

in Market Fridaylast year

Haha! Truth! They were all Irish! :) OK, not all, but, noticeably represented. I love those kinds of memories! Ours was Father O'Connor and my 1t teacher was Sister Brendan Marie. I remember asking her why they gave her a boy's name. OMG how rude! I was young and curious, I actually thought if it was given by mistake, she could get a new one.

I loved when we got to see them outside of the school/church scenario. It made us feel special, to be chosen like that. I remember when I was a little older but still young, I saw them at the grocery store, buying beer Beer!! I never divulged their secret, only to find out much later that, it was allowed. LOL

The rosary beads are so very special to me, my very best friend in the whole world made them for me. My mom loved using them when she came to visit. I have a collection of rosaries. My mothers, grandmothers, aunts, my own, and a few I have been given over time. I don't do the stations of the cross or any of that, but, I still find comfort in using them. And when things get rough, most definitely. ❤️

It has been a long winter for you without your usual reprieve. I hope that spring comes soon to you, I am sure enjoying the turning of the season.

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your words. Happy St. Patricks Day!💚

#MarketFriday loves you!

Sort:  

Hello, I use my rosary beads almost like worry beads. I find comfort also in having them near me when things are rough. While my sister was dying I held them together with her and prayed and I truly believed it gave her peace.

The Irish are high spirited and fun to be around, we had a great time.

It rained here today and we had a lot of melting snow thank goodness, hoping to see some green grass soon.
Thanks for your thoughtful, kind and funny comment, always a pleasure.

That is the perfect comparison! Worry beads! I always, always carry a set in my purse. I know, but, I do and just knowing I have them gives me comfort.

I was visiting my mom in the hospital and I heard a voice saying she wished she brought her rosary beads. I went into her room and prayed with her I didn't know her and I have no idea what came over me, but, she fell asleep while praying.

I believe it did give your sister peace, the same as it gives us peace.

I hope the rest of yuor night is wonderfully peaceful.

For sure, I carry my mom's beads in my purse, it's nice having a friend like you who gets it. I think our parents did a darn good job on us Denise.