You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Antigua and Barbuda, Market Friday Style

Tourism should be good for the economy or shouldn't be promoted in my opinion.

That is well said! That is so true!!

Politicians...? Let's rather not even go there. When I get going about politicians, my wife often tells me I'm going to get myself into trouble...

What I will say though is, as you say...

I think the people have been manipulated by politicians, telling them it will pull them up financially and this will be good for their economy. I believe that the only people who gain anything are politicians/government.

I agree with you 100% and I believe that to be true not only for the area you covered in your post but in many countries!

Things can be deteriorating and falling apart in a country, but when you listen to politicians they will try to convince you that they are creating a land of milk and honey...

I can honestly say I try to enjoy them as they are, and do not exploit them for the sake of making a good post, so, perhaps my posts are not as exciting, but, I like to show them as they are, in the comfort of their own skin.

I would much rather read your post, which is based on facts and where I can sense your sincerity, getting true facts, instead of reading something just for the excitement and still being none the wiser.

If I may say one last thing...

I tend to get irritated by people who are quick to raise their voices and share their opinions about situations and countries where they have never been...in other words, things they know nothing about. They often become opinionated and even quite vocal, based on things they've heard and read, thinking that that information makes them an expert on the topic.

What I appreciate about your content is the fact that you've been there...on the ground. You've seen it with your own eyes. To me, that is valuable information. I'm not really all that concerned about the excitement so much.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts too. I get the impression that we think alike on this topic...

Sort:  

I feel like we are on the same page also. Nice to see. :) I loved traveling when I was just out of school with no cares or responsibilities. I realize now that those were the best moments in my life, talking with people wherever I went. Trying different food in every place I went to. Living like a local. When I had children, the entire family traveled extensively, and they loved traveling and living like a local.

We settled when the kids were in high school and readjusted them to the American lifestyle. :) They all are in college and some beyond. It has been an interesting growing up for them and I imagine that when school is done, they will keep on moving about the world, keeping in touch with their roots. I think actually less travel as the world is not as cool a place as when they were growing up.

Your children were very privileged to be exposed to traveling while they were growing up. I think it gives children a great advantage to have that kind of experience.

Yes, sadly the world is not as cool a place anymore. But once again, I think this is where it is a good thing that your children got exposed to traveling at a young age and they are well-rooted now. I believe that because of this, you can have more peace of mind as a parent, knowing that they are experienced and will not easily fall into some traps due to ignorance. That's just my opinion...