Bought A Fresh Catch From Roaming Fish Vendor Ladies | Support Locals!

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

Hello! Happy Friday!

I have been excited all day to post an article here for the first time. I am thrilled to share about what I bought this week in this community. I always check the posts here because I am curious about what others' market looks like. Now, it is my turn to share mine. We got some admirable markets in our town but this time, I will share my experience of meeting two lovely ladies.

It was a bright day when I and my father had a nice walk after an exhausting day. Also, we were contemplating if we should visit the public market to look for ingredients for tonight's dinner. Sitting all day is bad for your health and so, walking is a great and fun exercise for the legs. As we walk in the neighborhood. We saw two ladies carrying a big basin and a weighing scale.

"Hey, neighbors, we are selling fish! Still fresh from our ocean!"

We waved back to them with a smile. I really love seeing people with positive energy. The lady vendors had nice auras. We took a rest in the curb while we waited them to reach us.

IMG_20220831_085926-01.jpeg

They then put the big basin on the ground and started spilling marketing skills. I noticed that their basin was already broken but they managed to put them back in shape by using wires. It just broke my heart just to see their basin. (Am I too soft?)

IMG_20220831_090054-02.jpeg

I was amazed at how big the fishes were. I know that they were fresh because of the color and shape of the fish. Aside from the marketing talk of the two ladies, we also had a small talk.

"How is your business lately?" My father asked.

The spark in the ladies' eyes turned dull suddenly. They said that their catch is not that great anymore. They always wake up very early in the morning in hopes of blessings from the ocean. It really sucks to know this part. On the good side, our neighborhood patronizes these ladies because they know that they have the freshest fish.

We got the talakitok or in English, carangidae. They also got maya maya, the fish with pink scales, and barracuda. The nice lady got her run-down tools such as the chopping board, a knife, and a big stone. You can see that they have a lot of customers because of their tools, hehe.

IMG_20220831_090230-01.jpeg

She cut the fish into smaller pieces for us. You see, she is already an expert in precisely cutting in equal parts. She used the big stone to hammer the knife through the fish. I was surprised that it was not that messy at all.

IMG_20220831_090250-01.jpeg

IMG_20220831_090355-01.jpeg

She put the pieces of the fish in a metal bowl and weigh them. The weight of the was 1.7 kilos. The ladies were asking for 650 pesos, but we gave them 700 pesos instead. ($14 USD~ Giving them extra will not hurt our wallets. I am happy that we met them along our walk.

IMG_20220831_090848-01.jpeg

Conclusion

Our situation up in the North is not that great since the 7.3 magnitude hit us. Of course, we still are living in fear. Our fishermen chose not to sail their boats because of the fear of tsunamis and aftershocks.

We chose to patronize our local sellers to help them. We can show our support to them by buying a product or two. It is not that hard to love the locals because they have great attitudes and a positive aura.

It was a heartwarming experience for my dad and I to at least show our support to the community. We waved goodbye and continued walking. I really do hope that next time, we will meet the ladies again.

In the evening, we cooked the carangidae. It rained that night and so, a hot sour soup (sinigang) is perfect. We ate together as a family and enjoyed the company.

IMG_20220903_121325.jpg


That is it for this article. I will see you at the next one!
📸 All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited. ©️jijisaurart

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1566085699631058945 twitter metadata:anVkZV92aWxsYXJ0YXx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9qdWRlX3ZpbGxhcnRhL3N0YXR1cy8xNTY2MDg1Njk5NjMxMDU4OTQ1fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jude.villarta ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You made me crave for sinigang too @jijisaurart. The best sa hangover yarn. hehehe!

This is a sign ate chi! Time to cook some sinigang! 😊

Loading...

That's catchy🎣! We've reshared it.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Nakakatakam..kakamiss yung sinigang na isda. Yung medyo maasim na sabaw bet ko

Yeah, yung maasim tapos hot rice yum yum!

Just the soup is fine to fill the stomach. We been calling that one 'big head' for the head surely haha. But I never yet tasted a fresh one, only frozen is available in that kind. Added with sourness. Hmmm Sunday we shall have the same dish as you haha.

Say hello to your father for my regards.

Okay, I want to see the dish tomorrow, hehe. Sinigang is best with many tomatoes.

My father says hi back :)

Eto ang namiss ko! Magsigang ng fresh ang isda.
How much na rin yan dito.
Those ladies reminds me of my as she used to earn money that way but instead of fruits, she sells fruits and snacks.

Mahal daw yan ate pag sa resto. Swerte namin nakabili kami sa mga vendors dito

ay oo bhe, mahal na din yan dito kahit hilaw pa
ang sarap nga at halatang fresh pa talaga

Congratulations @jijisaurart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.
You got more than 800 replies.
Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List
Be ready for the 9th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It's really good to buy from those naglalako kasi you know their goods are fresh. The sinigang is perfect for this kind of weather 😊

Yup and also help na rin sa small business nila. Sherep ng sinigang hehe. 😊 Luto ka na rin, C! 😊

I love fresh fish because my father would always buy a kilo. Gosh! I can see how fresh the fish is.
Hot soup is best for this rainy season. Warm the body.

Yeah, fresh fish is the best especially from the locals. 😊

Pasko! Paksiw! 🤤

Hows the weather today? Maulan ba jan? Naku ingat lagi madalas paglindol ngayon no. Grabe sarap naman nyan. Sobrang fresh! Nakakamiss yung tindahan namin 😢

Maulan dito sis. May bagyo pa rin kami. Sarap humigop ng sabaw pag Maulan hehe

Dito rin samin malakas ang ulan e.. stay safe...awww sinigang for the win 🤤🤤🤤🤤

i love sinigang !! my favorite soup

Yeah, me too! Pwede rin pork na sinigang hehe.

yes yes yes that too anything basta sinigang

Please drop the link to your post on the #MarketFriday post here.

Thank you!

Welcome to #MarketFriday! It's great that you are are able to join :)

We do have fish peddlers here too but I don't think they will cut and prepare it the way that lady vendor did. She came prepared :D

Seeing that dish you made out of that makes me crave for some of it. A hot soup is perfect for this rainy weather :D

Hello, Lee! Yes, this is my first time posting here! I love this community because I learned about the different markets in the world.

Cheers!

It's one of the main reasons that I love this community plus it's fun knowing more about your own market :)

Wow sinigang tas fresh na matatabang isda .. kaso iyung kinain Kong sinigang kaninang dinner mapait, na-apduan Ng binilhan ko, huhu.. Nag-crave Ako sa sinigang kahit sinigang na kinakain ko kanina..🤣