You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday: Wading the Salt Marshes of Chincoteague Island

in Market Friday2 years ago

Flashbacks to childhood and reading a book early school called "Misty of Chincoteague". All I remember is horses and swimming, and maybe someone got sunburned (or that could be made up). Looks like a cool place, and of course who doesn't like ponies?

Sort:  

Wow! Are you serious??? That is so awesome! I loved that book when I was a kid! No! Sunburned was very real. I am blonde and I can attest to that!

It has been a warm week, but it is still pretty fun to be here! How doesn't love a pony? How about a herd of them>?

Pony Penning Week is in its 97th year. It just doesn't get old!

Just something about that name Chincoteague that is so unique. I guess it stuck with me for what 50 years? Wow.

I know, right? I love the Chincoteague and Assateague Islands. It is said to be an Indian name meaning “beautiful land across the water”. The pronunciation and spelling have changed over time. Court records in 1671 indicate a spelling of “Jungoteague”. A reference from the early 1800s indicates a spelling of “Gingoteag”.

'Four things greater than all things are: Women and Horses, Power and War". My fave Redyard Kipling carved those immortal words in stone a hundred years ago. ❤️

There is much truth to that. Especially the women and horses. :)

Hi @qwerrie !! Good morning from here!

good morning, Denise! I just cooked my dinner and consumed it and enjoying my deserved cup of coffee. let me treat you with... more !PIZZA?.. a good way to start the day. we have a great relaxed sunny Sunday here! 💃