Always a mountain... #marketfriday

in Market Friday2 years ago

Untitled design - 2022-06-10T233949.252.jpg

I am a South African by birth. I was raised there, went to University there, and met my husband there. We moved to the UK in January 2001. Since Denise has set the tone this week with a travel style #marketfriday post, I will follow suit... and this #marketfriday post is a throwback to the first time I returned to South Africa on holiday, that first Christmas 2001, and a wonderful day trip that my husband and I took with friends of ours...

...and since we spent money doing what we did, I think it qualifies as a #marketfriday post 😂😂😂

Where did we go?

To my most favourite place in the world💗

Can you guess?

If you know me, you just might...

😍Let me show you... 😍

Untitled design - 2022-06-10T232807.582.jpg

Isn't that a beautiful sight?

This area is part of the highest mountain range in South Africa, known as the uKhahlamba-Drakensberg mountain range. More specifically, this is Champagne Castle in the Central Drakensberg Mountains - now, I wasn't in my absolute favourite part of the Drakensberg mountain range, an area known as the Amphitheatre, but I was in the Drakensberg mountains... which I adore! ... and Champagne Castle is a beautiful part of the range, not to be sneezed at!!!

It is approximately 300kms from Durban, which makes it about 270kms from where my home is in South Africa. So...it was a decent 540km roundtrip for the day... but I love road trips and it was so worth it!

The most expensive thing for sale there.... a ride in this helicopter...

DSC01468.JPG

... but the South African Rand had just tanked (sadly) and so for us it felt pretty cheap at the time. I will never forget...the exchange rate was 20:1 to the pound sterling and we booked a helicopter flight to the top of champagne castle for £25 per person including a glass of champagne at the summit.

DSC01498.JPG

And this was our pilot... and was he ever a young maverick tearing through the valley👀... I could have sworn a few metres here or there and the bladetips would have grazed the walls of the narrow valley we flew through on the way backto the hotel. It was clearly his very familiar playground... an exhilerating flight, that's for sure.

DSC01495.JPG

The most beautiful thing at my market? Hands down....

THIS

DSC01493.JPG

I mean it was just pure bliss - what a view! Cheap at the price, right? It just doesn't get better than sitting back and purveying the beauty and splendour of God's incredible creation... and I could honestly have sat there all day💞

And what could we get for $10 in South Africa at that time... a round of oh my gosh do you know I can't remember... I could have sworn we ordered cocktails...but maybe it was milkshakes hahaha, from the Champagne Castle Sports Resort Pool Bar, to round off the day, that's what 😜

drinks.jpg

Aah and that is my brief sojourn through some memories that popped up while I was writing my comment on Denise's post... and so I decided to write about it!

Next week, perhaps I can actually get to a more traditional market hehe.

For Denise, it is #alwaysaflower ... for me?

I think....

#alwaysamountain💗

~ the mountains are my happy place, my family and friends... my rocks.~

#marketfriday by @dswigle


Header image Road towards Champagne Castle by Jennifer Sophie from Getty Images - Canva Pro Library

2nd image - Champagne Castle and Cathkin Peak by Marnus Van Der Merwe from Getty Images - Canva Pro Library

Sort:  

Oh my! £25 per person for a helicopter ride! That's amazing!

Okay, I'll stop squealing now.

Those mountains are beautiful, and I bet your pictures (which are exquisite) don't even do them the justice of being there in person.

I'm like you when it comes to being out in the beauty of nature. I could sit all day long staring at its beauty. That is, if I wasn't living in Ireland, because, if I did, I'd probably end up getting very wet. Lol!

hahaha, all that green that surrounds you is green for a reason, Julia 😂But I love Ireland, I truly do...I only have happy memories from my two visits across to the green Isle. And yeah, I could get lost in the beauty... I have frequently. My thoughts just float away with the clouds... it's very serene💞 !LUV !ALIVE

Hey Sam! I'm back! Your post is the first of my daily DreemPort fun and once again, you on that mountain is making me smile. Isn't this a great challenge? So, much fun to be had travelling the globe and seeing inside other people's worlds. With that said, I'm clicking away and transporting to another place in time and space. Weeeeee!

dreemport_gif1

@juliamulcahy, @samsmith1971(1/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

@juliamulcahy! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Loading...

Wow! You had my mind going with this post of yours... First of all, that helicopter is an Alouette helicopter. Those helicopters played a massive role in the history of our country and it took me back in time...many years... Maybe it was a bit before your generation, so I don't know if it would have the same meaning to you, but to me, it brought back many memories!

Then, to put things in perspective for today... You spent 25 Pounds per person for your helicopter ride (including a glass of champagne)... which means 50 Pounds per couple, at an exchange rate of 20:1 back in 2001. I took the following screenshot of the current exchange rate this afternoon when I read your article...
pound_exchange_rate_screenshot_2022_06_13_143753

Two weeks ago we had to go to Johannesburg for a family emergency. Our vehicle's fuel consumption on the way back was 6L/100KM over a distance of 590 KM. That means we used just over 35 liters of fuel to get back home @ R21.09 at the time...at 35.4L x R21.09 = R746.59.

Let's compare that with your 50 Pounds (per couple) at today's exchange rate. At 19.5478:1 that would mean in ZAR value today, you have paid R977.39 for your helicopter ride. I consider your rate per couple as it was also me and my wife in the car.

My thinking (reasoning) here is, imagine if you paid 50 Pounds (a bargain in Pounds), 10 years ago for the flight in the helicopter, what will you pay for that same fight today? At today's prices, we were able to drive from Johannesburg to Durban and we would still have money left for what you have paid for that flight 10 years ago!

The exchange rate is still very similar, but what you get for your money is a different story, which is why I wonder what you would be paying for that same helicopter flight today?

But enough about history, maths, and exchange rates... The fact is, you've had an awesome time and I really enjoyed reading about it.

Your post really made for some interesting, fun-filled reading!

I had no idea what type of helicopter it was, Jaco. An Alouette, you say? I've just looked it up and chatted with hubby. Brett says they were in service when he was in the army in SA in 1991. I just saw that they were the first modern utility heli delivered to the defence force in SA and was used in mountain rescue and the border war. Very interesting. I learned something new haha. But that pilot could fly; boy could he fly!!! The heli was like an extension of his being. It was great fun. wonderful memories from that trip. I hope your family emergency was resolved successfully and that everyone is ok on your side of the world 🙏Thank you for your awesome comment and the insights... the trip was actually in December 2001 so almost 21 years ago. !LUV

@jacoalberts, @samsmith1971(3/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

Thank you for the tokens! I do appreciate them!

I'm glad you had fun! That's the most important part!

My wife's mom (eighty years old) fell down the stairs in her home and was seriously injured. And to top it all off...she has been diagnosed with the beginning stages of dementia as well. She is not well at the moment, but at least she has been stable over the last week...

!ALIVE

@samsmith1971! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @jacoalberts. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Ha ha — "always a mountain." I see what you did there!

Wow, what amazing memories. Don't you sometimes wish you could spend a day visiting another time of your life? That champagne at the top of the mountain must have been absolutely dreamy!

haha...uh yes !LOLZ I paraphrased Denise hehe... and absolutely... you know I had no idea what to write about because I hadn't been to a market lately and I also didn't want to write about the school tuck shop acquisitions this week by my kids🤣 but in replying to Denise on her post, this memory came up...so I flowed hehe... and if there is a mountain then it's highly likely I was happy 😍Thank you for popping by @jayna !LUV

@jayna, @samsmith1971(4/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

What did the mayonnaise say to the icebox?
Close the door, I am dressing.

Credit: reddit
@jayna, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @samsmith1971
Release your inner Rock Star with Rising Star! The best #play2earn game on Hive! Play for Free!
(2/4)

I guess it should be Dreemie in South Africa hehe . To save money might be i would go for hot balloon or para-trooping 😆 But you havent missed the fun hehe. Captain is in blue dress 😄seems like he is shy from camera.

You are looking cute and adventurous 😍 Elegant couple. Instead of viewing the beauty of markets i am feeling freshness after glancing at my Sam 🤗
!LUV

@samsmith1971, @ayesha-malik(1/1) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

aw you are too funny and kind Ayesha hehe ... that captain was probably just thinking...drink up I wanna fly haha. It was a great adventure truly... zipping through the sky twisting and turning with the shape of the valley... quite the thrill! I was almost 21 years younger there too !LOLZ ... although I still have the same zest for life and desire to scale mountains... on foot though😍 !LUV Thank you for visiting my post xx

@ayesha-malik, @samsmith1971(4/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

What's a dry orange good for?
Nothing at all. It's juiceless.

Credit: reddit
@ayesha-malik, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @samsmith1971
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(2/4)

Beautiful Sam, and that’s an amazing idea for this post. ❤️🤗💕

Thank you Susan... I'm glad I could find the pics! !ALIVE

@itsostylish! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

!ALIVE

@samsmith1971! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @itsostylish. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Wow this is amazing, I would totally love to do this.

hehe it was super fun... wonderful memories !ALIVE

@khaleesii! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

It pols truly wonderful and breathtaking

Aww, such a beautiful memories in the past. I would also love to hop into an helicopter someday. You guys look so cute 😎😎 I came all the way from Dreemport.

All the way from Dreemport...hehe ❤️ !LUV thank you Princess, I appreciate that you saw my post in the Port and took the time to read it and leave a sweet comment. Well keep dreeming and one day you may find yourself in a heli too 😍

@princessbusayo, @samsmith1971(5/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

Hehehe! Yes, I believe someday I would. It's my pleasure coming to your post too.

South Africa is soo beautiful @samsmith1971🥰
I've not been to a mountain before but hopefully I will someday...

I like how you gave #MarketFriday a different perspective 😊

The topography and landscape are truly stunning... and it's strange you know... I come across pictures on Google and I'm like that looks so much like South Africa...9 times out of 10 I am right... weird when even though the exact scene is not one you have seen before, you just know from the general feel of the place. !ALIVE😍

It's weird yes but I assume that feeling of familiarity is nice and when it turns out to be the place you felt it was then that's great🙃

@kamarah! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

WOW 25 fir a helicopter flight that is indeed cheaper and such an amazing experience I bet

Yes, £25 was super cheap even back then. Honestly is was a fantastic experience. I felt like I was in 'Airwolf' haha. I could almost hear the theme tune as we weaved our way through the valley. Avery special experience too landing up in the mountains for a little break away from the world. !LUV

@tattoodjay, @samsmith1971(5/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

Riding in a helicopter is an amazing experience for sure I did it a few times over the years both in my time in the Military and in peacekeeping

Have a super Sunday

Hi @samsmith1971,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you so much @teamuksupport . This is very much appreciated !ALIVE

@teamuksupport! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Oh My God, Sam!!! I don't know of I should say something about the beauty of the place or the author of this post. You are looking so pretty 😚😍

I know you and that's why I knew that this is something going to be about mountain because I know how much you are attracted towards mountains.

I also want to visit those heights some day and feel the environment with open hands and eyes closed. My imagination about such a situation soothes me a lot. I wonder how would it feel when experienced real

What a great memory that must be… the mountain is absolutely stunning! Wow what a view.
And yes, the helicopter ride counts 😉
Thanks for sharing your post. Enjoy the Sunday further 👋🏻☀️

Thank you for visiting. My Sunday is almost over on my side of the world but it's been a lovely weekend so I can't complain. And yes...I love the Drakensberg...it has a special beauty. !ALIVE

You are so welcome @samsmith1971 😁 think we are in the same time zone. It’s 23:47 here in Spain.
Great to hear the weekend was lovely, mine was too.
Have a great new week 👋🏻☀️

!PIZZA

hehe it is now 23h17 so I am one hour behind you here in the UK... but we are close !LOLZ Glad you had a lovely weekend 😍 Hope you get some of that gorgeous weather that we have been promised this week❣️🌞😎Have a great week... x

How does a tiger find his favorite song on Apple Music?
He uses their algrrrythm

Credit: reddit
@littlebee4, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @samsmith1971
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(3/4)

Aha… so you still are in the weekend lol 😂
Thank you so much 😊 it feels like we are having summer already for the last weeks. Today was 31 degrees Celsius 😎 a bit hot hehe so hope it goes your way…
Thanks, you too @samsmith1971

@littlebee4! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

This is super cool @samsmith1971
Just when I was expecting to see some food items or market road, I saw beautiful mountains and a helicopter 😅 I love this really.

The most beautiful thing at the mountain market... I agree totally with you, what a beauty to behold! ❤️

Thanks for sharing this with us, I had a smile on my face because of this 🥰

aw thank you, Merit🙏😍😎🤗 Yeah that view...to die for... 💗I have your post open together with a bundle of others to read... I am looking forward to it... I meant to read them yesterday but got caught up in other things xx !LUV !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@samsmith1971, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @merit.ahama and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/1 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@merit.ahama, @samsmith1971(1/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

Can't wait to welcome you to my post ❤️