Bourbon Barrel Cake

Kentucky is known for their Bourbon Whiskey, which happens to be a preferred liquor. This is my stash of Bourbon, in case you don't believe me. I like to drink it neat. But that's for another article.


I reason I bring it up is that I have heard so much about this Bourbon cake, and it's the Kentucky Woods Bourbon Barrel Cake. I have been wondering how it looks and what it tastes like. Is it any different from any other cake?


So I went to their website, and they described the cake as follows:<.p>

"Our Kentucky Woods™ cake is the original, one and only Bourbon Barrel Cake™ and is a moist brown sugar cake with pure maple and chocolate cake, topped with walnuts, chocolate and caramel bourbon icing. We use seven year aged Kentucky bourbon to give a very unique nutty and maple flavor. After baking what is left of the bourbon is not the alcohol, yet the essence which is the richest form of bourbon. All the flavor without the alcohol, is our secret!"


I love pure maple. I love chocolate. I love walnuts
.

I love caramel bourbon icing.
And best of all, I love seven year aged Kentucky Bourbon!


Bourbon has been produced in Kentucky in charred oak wood barrels since the 18th century. This barrel cake really piqued my interest, so I ordered the Bourbon Barrel Cake.


When it arrived, and I cut it immediately. Of course, I wanted to taste it!


Just look at the colors of this cake! It looks very good.


YUM!


It tasted fresh. It was moist. The cake retained all of the rich flavor of the bourbon, with a rich brown sugar, nutty and maple flavor, as promised!


Well, folks... it doesn't disappoint!
But since I can bake,
I might try baking my own Bourbon Cake
(without the barrel).
> This is a post for Market Friday hosted by @dswigle. If there is one other post I don't want to miss (the first one is #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay), this is the one post I like to join every week. Do you know that both @dswigle and @tattoodjay are both members of #TEAMUSA?

😍#ilikeitalot!😍

I love #marketfriday.

Until my next post, stay sweet!

Love ya!


All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6, unless specified.



Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!

@silversaver888

Sort:  

That cake looks really yummy @silversaver888
Enjoy!!!

I’m a rum kind of a girl. Here in Spain and in the Caribbean you have Rum miel. What is rum with honey… it’s really nice.

Wow... it must taste really good!
image.png

Yep… it does. If you can get some, it’s worth a try.
Even with a slice of mandarin or orange… 🥰

0dc1206e_e963_4884_b2ea_d7e91a14a163.png

This brand is the best… I did taste a lot 😋😉

I'll try it!!!

It looks good to be true. Or is it the camera effect?

Without a doubt, this would definitely be very delicious.

Thanks for sharing and as usual the storyline is intriguing 😁

But that's for another article.

An article am looking forward to read. Those are some powerful drinks there!

@dswigle what do you think about the cake?

I think it would be a great cake. Cakes made with liquor usually have a deep and flavorful taste.

Loading...

The cake looks good and you confirm it tastes good too
I do really like the container it comes in - so cool

And looking at your bottles - I have decided you are a true collector of all kinds :p

I lie the container too.
I think I'll keep it for something.
Hehehe... I wanted to taste the very subtle differences
of Kentucky Bourbon.

Ms. Saver @silversaver888
A Blond Joke for you......

A teacher was giving a lesson on the circulation of blood.
Trying to make the matter clearer, he said, “Now class, if I stood on my head, the blood as you know, would run into it and I should turn red in the face.”

“Yes, sir,” the class said.

“Then why is it that while I am standing upright in an ordinary position the blood doesn’t run into my feet?”

Bobby shouted, “Cause your feet ain’t empty.”

!LOL
!LUV

Hahaha!
!LOL

What is Victorias Secret?
High prices.

Credit: reddit
@stokjockey, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @silversaver888
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (2/4)

Cause Your Feet ain't Empty, I Love That Ms. Saver @silversaver888

OH NO!
You are out of jokes for the day!

@stokjockey you can call @lolzbot a maximum of 1 times per day.
Level up by buying more $LOLZ so you can share more jokes per day!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 91 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
14

That looks delicious 🍰

I still have more than a half in the ref!
Just in time for the people in the park.
I'll bring it to them tomorrow.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I am not a bourbon person myself I always drink fast even alcohol so beer was safer for me when I drank

But I love the presentation of the packaging if that cake

Hahah... whereas I drink slow!
Neat drinkers drink slow. hehehe!
So, I beat you pay extra for the packaging, I'm sure!
I think I can approximate the taste, it not better... hahaha!
Thanks, @tattoodjay, and take care.

Never had that! Looks Outstanding!!

Which one, the Bourbon... which one?
Or the cake, hehehe!
I was gonna bring my stash to LV, @fat-elvis!

I see a bottle of Makers Mark which is a wonderfully sweet Bourbon but for a little more of a bite is sip

IMG_20200810_201948916_MP.jpg

on the rocks.

Hehehe!
We can enjoy sweet Bourbon together!

We used to live in Cincinnati, just across the river from Kentucky. We could get to Kentucky or Indiana in 20 minutes or less! There were several distilleries in the Tristate area and late at night, or early in the morning, you could actually smell them in the air if the atmosphere was just right.

The cake looks very yummy and I can just imagine how it tastes! Thanks for sharing sis and now I will be drooling for the rest of the evening. Got a napkin? Take care sis!🤗😘🌸❣️

That close!
Yes, the cake is yummy! I enjoyed it very much.
And I will bring some for the people in the park tomorrow!

Hung and kisses sis 🤗😘🌸

You are very sweet to the folks around you sis! Thank you for being YOU!🤗😘🌸❣️

Sounds delicious @silversaver888, you should definitely bake your own bourbon cake!🤗
The charred oak wood barrels are popular in Cincinnati, you can pick up the old whiskey barrels locally. Many use these charred oak barrels for winemaking!

The cake is not complicated to make.
I'm sure I can make one much more ... tasty, hehehe!
Nice. I didn't know that @silvertop!

Yum... @silversaver888 That would make a wonderful post!!!!🤗
I am sure your cake would be so very delicious!!!

Cool cake and I know where to go when I need a bourbon!

Come to the house... you're welcome anytime, @brain.rrr!

The cake looks really delicious, I saw this kind of cake here but because of alcohol I didn't taste it, Umm probably I should try a slice at least :D

Yes! You should try a slice, hehehe!

When I first started reading, I thought you WERE making a cake, then I see you bought one. It is always good though, when you find you DO like what you take a chance on. I guess since you say you like bourbon neat, this flavor would hit home nicely.

I haven't made that many cakes with spirits, but through there years I have found one or two I really liked.

Back in the pre-internet days, I saw a magazine article on a company in Georgia (I think) that had made and shipped Amaretto Creme Pound Cakes for years and how awesome they were. I did a total splurg at the time and ordered a small one (like a half sized bundt cake) that cost $25 ! What ?? I know, but that was at least 30 years ago and for me, THAT was a totally ridiculous price for any cake and especially a small one. Anyway, I loved it a lot. It came in a metal tin and was SO moist! I then decided I could make up a recipe that was nearly as good and so I did ! My Mom loved it as much as I did and we both keep Amaretto in our house all the time since then. Mine is not wet moist like theirs was, but I know I could soak it if I wanted too after it was done. Most of the time I was serving it at family functions, so I didn't want to drench it in raw liquor for that.

I bet your version of the bourbon cake will turn out just as good.

Wow.. Amaretto Creme Pound Cake!
I haven't made that one yet.
So I looked it up. It sounds so delicious.
I bet you if you used the true pound cake recipe
and added the Amaretto instead of vanilla...
You'll end up with the moist cake!
I don't have Amaretto in the house.
I will have to buy that ingredient!

Back in the day, I'm not sure how I researched it, being computers weren't everywhere yet, but I found that there is such a think as amaretto creme that is sold.... somewhere, but nobody around me sold it. I did use my favorite pound cake recipe as a base, but instead of using canned milk, for the fluid, I use half amaretto and half heavy cream ! I let the batter blend for a while and you could tell the cream was kinda-sorta "whipping" in the batter, making it light looking. I still use the heavy cream, but my Mom uses regular milk instead and likes it just fine.

Also, the amaretto is very sweet, a cordial it seems to me. I like to put a a little in my coffee once in a long while. Yum !

I found one!'
image.png

Wooo Hooo !

Back in the day I didn't have the net to go out and hunt some, so I made do. It still turned out good. If you try using it and it is good, that is all that counts, right ?

Now I am thinking I might need some too, just to know what it is really like. :)

What is your address...
I'll have one sent up to ya!!!
Send it via discord Silver Saver#1507

Oops ! I missed this ! Sorry.

That is ever so kind of you. Funny, but all these years I never went out and looked for it, once using the regular amaretto and heavy cream worked so well.

That is such a very kind offer.

I like Kentucky Bourbon. My favorute is Wild Turkey 101

1641664507623038.JPG

Aha... another Bourbon afficionado!!!
I like it so much!!!

Aha... another Bourbon afficionado!!!

👍

Bourbon makes everything better!

Sure it does!!!!
CHEERS, @thedamus!

Oh yum!! I see a couple of my favorites in the front row...and there are very few (in my opinion) that should be drunk any other way!
But since the point of your post is the cake...I will also say that I am now in dire need of a bourbon cake!

Hehehe 😍
I'm waiting for a time to bake a Bourbon Cake!
Take care @barracudadiaries!

Wow! you have an amazing collection!!! Recently my husband and I wanted to buy Bourbon but in my city in the south I couldn't find it. in the center of the country we bought Bourbon Three roses. we liked it. Cake with Bourbon!!!! you surprised me!!! I completely agree with you: if you can do it yourself - do it !!! or at least try it

I thought you were referring to my silver and gold until I saw "Bourbon".
Yes, I want to taste the subtle differences of the liquor!
Yes, most definitely! I will do it.
I'll probably do the yellow cake, since the chocolate is way too decadent!
Take care, @tali72!!!

I haven't seen your other collection yet. just your bourbon. my husband used to collect coins. but it's been gone for a long time now

That's the purpose why you accumulate coins....
for a rainy day!

yes, that is very smart!

MOUTH WATERING!!!

untitled.gif