Market Friday - Farmers Market in Riverview Park, New Jersey

in Market Friday3 years ago

This post is for #marketfriday community hosted by the lovely @dswigle, if you didn’t join yet, please do so, it is so much fun!

I can't believe how time flies! My last post in this community was 9 months ago!!! It's been too long... I was busy with life. This Pandemic paralyzed us all... but I'm always looking at the bright side of things: I came out of it with a new set of skills, because I never stop learning, and the best thing of all: I got my first grandson on March 1st, 2021. :)

So here we are on the road to recovery, farmers markets are coming alive little by little, and I am ready to go out there, take pictures and write blog posts to share the beauty that surrounds me every single day.

This Sunday there was a little gathering in the Riverview Park, close to where I live. It is a small park, but with a great view of New York City skyline. Here is a shot I took and edited in HDR... it looks like a real painting, I love it!

rp1.jpeg

As you can see, they set up a few tents. Let's go and see what they've got! I love to buy from farmers!

rp2.jpeg

I can't take too many pics, it is quiet and it feels awkward. I see a stand that sells fresh eggs, I want some!

rp3.jpeg

Here are the eggs I bought, $4 the carton, I think it is less than in my local supermarket. Free range, good stuff. Can't wait to make a big omelet when I get home!

rp4.jpeg

Hey! I made a friend too! Uncle Bud. He makes BBQ sauce and of course I bought a bottle - $6.

image3 (3).jpeg

rp5.jpeg

Well... that's all for today. I didn't take more photos because everybody was packing up, the market was only between 11 am and 2 pm. I got there early, but I spent quite some time day dreaming on the promenade.

A dreamer is a dreamer, no matter what.

PS - The BBQ sauce is amazing, I will go back next Sunday and buy a few bottles!!!!


F1B56A61-CB2E-44D1-A22F-B836D20DD84E.png

Follow me and my stories
0BA25C9B-589B-4828-81CA-2E444FD75F0D.gif

76AC110C-7FC9-4609-B70A-B98A7A5598A9.jpeg

Sort:  

I have not visited it so far (and probably I will not visit it in the future either, because nowadays I live in Hungary under minimum wage), but I already have mixed feelings about New Jersey.

I heard from a friend that the real attraction of New Jersey is its oceanshore. It stretches all the way down to Cape May, famous for its beautiful Victorian houses. Dolphins can be seen from Cape May's beaches. He have been there four, maybe five times, and he have always come away with a feeling he have only had in Beverly Hills, LA: He is one of the poor and he cannot relate to the people around him. It is not a good feeling. Nevertheless, he would go down to Cape May any time, again and again, it is such a beautiful place.

But I heard from another friend that you see an incredible amount and scale of chimneys alongside the intricate motorway system in New Jersey. The factories smell. It is pretty awful. And he said a few years ago that New Jersey is one of the worst states for public safety.

I see on your Hive profile that you are from Jersey City, New Jersey. Can you confirm (or deny) any of the above mentioned things? What is it like to live in New Jersey?

Hi, Thanks for reading my blog post, @xplosive. Yes, Jersey shore is beautiful, big mansions and millionaires living there. I am going to the public beaches every summer, it is beautiful. We have amazing parks too. The factories are inevitable, NJ is highly populated (the densest in USA). I don't know about the smell, those factories are not in residential areas. Overall, I love living here, it is a mixture of cultures that makes everybody feels at home. Hope you will visit one day, you won't regret it, I promise!

I see this is everywhere, seeking for organic foods. Yes, they r always than the other ones in supermarkets.

Yes, there are farmers markets everywhere. Some produce is more expensive than in the supermarkets, some are less. The BBQ sauce was expensive, but it was very tasty, I wanted to drink it I swear! Thank you for stopping by @videoaddiction

Hi, I also have some time without writing a post, however, I come by here on the platform to see how everything is, time passes very quickly and daily occupations sometimes do not allow me to take time and concentration to write.
That looks like a good place to get fresh food, greetings!

Lovely shot over the city @starjewel, taking photographs of food and people are two I am not comfortable with either.

Congratulations on the arrival of your grandson, many happy hours and years ahead enjoying the company of this little fellow.

Thank yo so much @joanstewart, I really appreciate your comments. I love taking pics of people and food! And I love your photography of nature and animals, amazing stuff! 🙂

That's what makes Hive interesting, we all have our quirky enjoyment in life.

Hey! You got enough and Uncle Bud's BBQ sauce alone was worthy! You will have to ask him if he takes mail orders! I usually make my own, but, some days, I like to try something different! I am so happy to have the farmer's markets open here, although not as many are here this year, and maybe they have quit.

You have such a wonderful shot of the skyline there! I am totally jealous! Le sigh. I will never go back to Connecticut, but I sure do dream about it! I will come to the market anytime with you~ I had a lot of un but you managed a wonderful post! Thank you!

I appreciate all the work you put into making #MarketFriday a success! It is heartwarming to have the love and support given to a tag you are trying to grow into something. You have made it fun to visit your post and each different person adds a unique touch to their posts. Your little piece of this world, and, people are interested in expanding their culture. This challenge opens up my world, and, I hope yours too. to me and so many others. Thank you again. I hope you have a most wonderful day! Hive on!!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and to restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.

Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! You must use #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post and then drop the link to your post on my #MarketFriday post, so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you! ❤️

Upped and reposted