You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday - Farmers Market in Riverview Park, New Jersey

in Market Friday3 years ago (edited)

I have not visited it so far (and probably I will not visit it in the future either, because nowadays I live in Hungary under minimum wage), but I already have mixed feelings about New Jersey.

I heard from a friend that the real attraction of New Jersey is its oceanshore. It stretches all the way down to Cape May, famous for its beautiful Victorian houses. Dolphins can be seen from Cape May's beaches. He have been there four, maybe five times, and he have always come away with a feeling he have only had in Beverly Hills, LA: He is one of the poor and he cannot relate to the people around him. It is not a good feeling. Nevertheless, he would go down to Cape May any time, again and again, it is such a beautiful place.

But I heard from another friend that you see an incredible amount and scale of chimneys alongside the intricate motorway system in New Jersey. The factories smell. It is pretty awful. And he said a few years ago that New Jersey is one of the worst states for public safety.

I see on your Hive profile that you are from Jersey City, New Jersey. Can you confirm (or deny) any of the above mentioned things? What is it like to live in New Jersey?

Sort:  

Hi, Thanks for reading my blog post, @xplosive. Yes, Jersey shore is beautiful, big mansions and millionaires living there. I am going to the public beaches every summer, it is beautiful. We have amazing parks too. The factories are inevitable, NJ is highly populated (the densest in USA). I don't know about the smell, those factories are not in residential areas. Overall, I love living here, it is a mixture of cultures that makes everybody feels at home. Hope you will visit one day, you won't regret it, I promise!