First Time Free Market During King's Day πŸ‘‘

in Market Friday β€’ last year

In my previous post I mentioned experiencing King's Day in the Netherlands for the first time and how I wasn't expecting the vrije markt (free market) as a recurring activity, where citizens sell used items at a reduced price. This happens all over the country and here are some of the highlights of the few free markets I passed that day.


IMG_20230427_133553.jpg


The first free market we visited in Amsterdam was located in Bijlmermeer, where vendors sold the usual market items, that weren't necessarily pre-loved but were definitely at a good price. The food stands were the ones that stood out, especially those that sold Surinamese dishes and snacks, like viado, saoto soup (soto ayam), teloh, bara and samosas.

1683107582155.jpg


1683107583225.jpg


1683107582026.jpg

Because of the large Surinamese population in Bijlmermeer, the marketplace (that's also there outside of the holiday) sells a range fruits and vegetables consumed in Suriname, like ginger, peppers, antroewa (African, Surinamese or Vietnamese eggplant), okra and bhata (aubergine). A downside is that the sellers raise the prices because of the high demand for these goods.

1683107581811.jpg


1683107581748.jpg

The vendor that caught my full attention was one selling Javanese-Surinamese snacks, with a deal I couldn't pass: three Indonesian snacks for five euro's. What I had to purchase was the in banana leaves wrapped steamed sweet snack dokun/dokoen, which is made from grated cassava and coconut.

1683107581700.jpg


1683107581663.jpg


1683107581625.jpg

One lumpia and another pastry were my second and third choices. The dokoen was sticky and sweet and brought back memories from my childhood, because it's been years since I last had this snack in Suriname. The pastry and lumpia were also flavorful, but cold as the seller fried those earlier that day and not on the spot.

1683107581574.jpg


IMG_20230427_133551.jpg

Another treat we couldn't resist were the grilled chicken satays (skewered meat), that were hot off the grill and a sign of warmer seasons ahead. The satays were delicious and a nice change of snack option. The satay sauce I could do without though, because of the lack of spiciness and watered down flavor.

1683107581499.jpg

After that we proceeded to another part of Amsterdam - Vondelpark - where the free market experience comes through, with more citizens - children and adults alike - participating. Whether it is by selling (used) items, picknicks or by facilitating games. One game that was creative and funny was where a participant needs to throw an object through a hole in a carton, with the king's face on it and a text "The King Is Hungry".

1683107583874.jpg


1683107580730.jpg


1683107583827.jpg


Ever experienced King's Day and/or a Vrije Markt? Let me know in the comments below πŸ€“.


Also want to share your market experience? Check out @dswigle's post and/or The Market Friday community for more information.

Chasse into the backstage! πŸ’ƒ

Sort: Β 

Tasty treats normally in high demand at street markets from various countries, interesting to learn of some you enjoyed.

!LUV

They were in high demand yes!
Especially the skewered satay.

Enjoy the weekend!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 155 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
2

Are you a Filipino in the Netherlands? Because you know lumpia hehe..

!LOL Hahahaha No, I'm from Suriname and living in the Netherlands.
Suriname has a huge Javanese (largest island in Indonesia) population from which I descend, among other cultures.

What would happen if giant ducks roam the land?
Earthquacks

Credit: reddit
@jane1289, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @tanjakolader

(2/4)
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ

Wow

I wish I can have a bite of that, already salivating at what that grated cassava and coconut will taste like.
That is such a beautiful market and a fun place I must say.

We have markets that sell fairly-used items cheaply but you can't find cooked food like this there and there are no games too.
Thanks for sharing dear.

It was my pleasure sharing this experience.
The food, games, selling of used items and other events were part of King's Day, where they celebrate the birthday of the king (monarch) of the Netherlands.

Greetings from dswigle! You must drop your link in the #MarketFriday post here

Thank you very much!

Many apologies for running so late this week. Mother's Day was last weekend and it was impossible to do anything but Mother's Day all weekend, which was my pleasure to be treated so wonderfully. That put me severely behind in writing personal responses, but, I did get to read them all, as always. I read and voted your post, so thank you so much, but, it lacks the attention I usually give it.

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, and eventually branched out and evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, and even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact that these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday

Yummy! Street Markets!

Hi, how are you?
I'm late to replying myself as my parents and in laws are/were on vacation and we're trying to spend as much time as we can with them.

Glad you enjoyed Mother's Day!

Have a great weekend!

You too! Glad you had a nice vacation! I usually spend time with my famiky on vacation! :)

Enjoy your weekend!!