Market Friday presents: In God We Trust, All Others Pay Silver or Gold

in Market Fridaylast year


signal-2023-05-11-21-43-30-590-6.jpg


I like coins. Quite honestly, they don't even have to be these high-end gold or platinum ones, I am not a snob. It is actually quite easy to start a coin collection. I began with the coins I already had in my pocket. Sounds a little silly, but, just like Hive, it comes a little bit at a time, until one day, you have a jarful. I think the best part of keeping a coin is learning about it. Where was it minted? What is the history of the coin? Obviously, it is circulated, (it is spent and passed from person to person) but does it still look like it is brand new, or has it had a rough life?


20211006_151638 1.jpg



Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) Join me as we share our markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see the different markets and cultures of our friends here on Hive.


signal-2023-05-11-21-43-30-590.jpg


While the American Gold Buffalo is 24-karat gold (1 troy oz of 0.9999% gold - pure gold), the American Golden Eagle is "only" 22-karat gold (1 troy oz of 0.999% gold + 0.0909 troy oz of silver and copper. Coin is 91.67% gold, 5% copper and 3% silver) and the difference is clearly visible when the two are viewed together. You can read more about the gold coins here.


signal-2023-05-11-21-43-30-590-2.jpg


The Buffalo/Indian Head nickel was minted in 1913, until 1938. It was one of our favorite coins in circulation. My father had obtained a slot machine, a nickel one to be exact. It was full of buffalo nickels. When it was a rainy day and we were all inside, my father pulled out the slot machine and we took turns pulling the one-arm bandit and seeing if we would win. To this day, none of the kids in my family walk into a place to gamble. For us, it was a way to pass the time on a rainy day. After your chores, of course.


20230511_192548 1.jpg


The American Platinum Eagle is 1 troy oz of .9995 fine platinum with a unique design that wasn't borrowed from previous bullion coins (American Eagle Gold/Silver and the American Buffalo coins all utilized previous coin designs). Like all US Mint Bullion coins, the Platinum Eagle is legal tender and has a face value of $100. Face value does not equal the value of he coin.


The standard 1 oz contains 1 Troy oz of .9995 pure platinum, which may have a significant value considering the platinum spot price. But, like any other investment, it can go up and down, so I never buy any more than I can afford to lose. Of course,I am not an expert, I can only write what works for me.


STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!


Question: What flies without wings?



source


Answer! Can you guess??? Some days, it seems like time flies! Slow down, you are moving too fast!


20211006_150745 1.jpg


I admit, I do love collecting coins, they don't even have to be expensive, but it helps if they are pretty, or pretty amazing. I still have the original jar of pennies that I collected. I wonder how old they have to be to be considered antiques. Now I am curious.


20211006_152505 2.jpg


What is the difference between face value and intrinsic value? A quarter is always going to have a face value of 25 cents. That can never change. These coins from the mints are actually bullion coins, minted into a quarter... Their value is in the melt value. So, it has a rolling scale. Whatever the sot value is that day. That is the value. So, bullion is for collecting, not spending. Who in their right mind would spend a coin worth $50.00 or $1,000.00 in a vending machine? Would you? Not bloody likely.


You can do it. One coin at a time. That is all it takes. You would be surprised how it adds up over time. That is why, once upon a time, I saved pennies. Until I passed in some pennies and saved nickels. And so on. Inch by inch. I know. It is an unusual market, but, a market nonetheless. Happy #MarketFriday to you!.

Center Crest.png

Please leave the link to your post here so it can easily be found by others. It helps you and me to have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much for joining us!! ❤


And just like that, this post is done. I hope you had a good time and learned a little something new. As always, I want to thank you for taking the time to visit, and just remember, #MarketFriday loves you! Thank you for supporting the challenge! Have a most fabulous day! Cheers!!


spring 2023 flowers.jpg


As always, there must be flowers to color my world. #alwaysaflower The lovely Hellebore is a winter bloomer! What a wonderful present to see popping up. It is also known as the Lenten Rose, although it is not a true rose.


Hive Thrifted.png


A big shout out to the Hive Thrifted Community Store that opened recently, and it is just waiting to be discovered by the Hive Community! If you've not heard about HIVE THRIFTED this is your opportunity to declutter, put unneeded items up for sale, and earn HIVE or HBD! Check out the intro post here If you like the idea of extra income the easy way, read up on it in the intro post, you won't be sorry! Any Questions? Ask away! If you reblog the current post from Hive Thrifted, which you can find here we can start filling up the Hive Thrifted store,


W5LtFUPm6g7293LJ3Vg8LGMxSXJbQHxtovyJAqw2j9RsivpZ42Ycyswj1Tzss1cqTWCvrF2HGPcMKHifCuQ1yT7Cncf6MweiwZbf2C89cSmhmwBDh6bzz5kpfTLDNa3epU6ozDSeFhFNKkiqbuqY2w8xt5o9p.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:


Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!


1.Go to any type of market, or anywhere where you pay money for a service. It can be a museum, a movie theatre, or an auction. Be creative!
2.Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost? We like to compare prices, otherwise, it is just pictures of a market!
3.Post the pictures! No out-of-focus ones, please! Tell a little bit about the pictures that you post. Having many pictures to scroll through does not make a better post without explanation.
4.Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated) If you don't, then #MarketFriday should be your first tag
5.Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
6.You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post.
7.Your #MarketFriday post should be submitted sometime on Friday UTC
8.The post MUST be in English
9.Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 2  Copy.jpg

silverbloggers logo.jpg




20211006_154355.jpg

Stackin!


Sort:  

A cool collection of coins and yes indeed a market

I had to dig into the past for my post this week https://peakd.com/marketfriday/@tattoodjay/market-friday-shops-in-milford-ct

I am always awed by your support of the challenge.
It matters not when it was and yay!! We get to go back to Milford for a moment!
That will be fun~

Thanks again for stopping by and leaving your words~

#MarketFriday loves you!

You know I always love joining Market Friday, but I really need to get out and get some new images for future posts soon

You and me both! I did it already this morning. I needed to!

Hi, JJ! :) Happy Saturday!

Beautiful coins! I've never seen the platinum one before. I also didn't know the American Buffalo was 24k vs. 22k for the Eagle.

I was a HUGE coin nerd as a child. My oldest was an 1863 three cent piece. It was much smaller and thinner than a dime. I ended up selling off most of my collection as a young adult but then have gotten into it again within the past few years. I always remember, as a child trying to imagine all of the hands those coins had passed through.

What flies without wings? Time.

The platinum is beautiful, isn't it? I actually didn't realize there was so much difference until I paired them up together. These pictures were the worst, but, I was taking them with my cell phone and to be honest, they come out a lot better with the camera. Usually, I don't mind the cell phone if that is all I have with me. I was at the other house... too many hours away to want to change.

You were a coin nerd? :) That makes my heart happy to hear. :) Great coin! I love to hear stories of kids being so passionate about something. I used to wonder about the number of people who traded it off. I still love coins. Got a coin from a shipwreck. It is pretty cool and not American, but, it is the coolest Spanish coin from the 1700s

When you get something special like that, it makes me want to find another to keep it company!

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words, Eric! @ericvancewalton

The time answer is right!!!! And it sure does!!!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Loading...

First for everything, stacking silver or gold always wonderful seeing the design, knowing the value and keeping it safe for those rainy days.

Hope you did not miss @siversaver888 Hive Silver Round

@tipu curate

Thank you so much, Joan! @joanstewart I like the designs and it is an easy way to beat inflation right now. :) The good thing is, it is portable.

I did miss @silversavers' post because I just got home about a half hour ago. So I ran over! Thank you for letting me know. That was really kind of you and thank you for the tip! I really appreciate it! I appreciate all of your support!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Stacking is not something many do here that I know of well no one talks about it.

Only ever met one work associate many years ago who bought directly from the Mint, an ardent collector around 1975, he suggested to try at the time Krugerrand, pity I didn't listen then! People I knew who bought, mounted into jewellery, most had them stolen.

Moving goods of value in this day and age, doubt it will reach a person, extremely high import charges another concern. Fifteen years ago I would most definitely not have thought twice about it, glad you managed to make contact.

Have a wonderful day!

My dad bought Kugerrands in the 1970s! Maybe late 60s? Not sure, but, he bought bullion and was considered a good buy at the time. He did it for years. He loved those beautiful coins! Only stopped for political reasons. Isn't that always the case? Before he passed, he gifted all of them to his kids. Hindsight is always best. I know this personally.

My parents never had sufficient spare to dabble into this form, Mom did keep some coins and stamps which I have none have been sorted, boxes I need to go through!

I spent money on travel, when children arrived keeping ones head above water with a couple of holidays every year, itchy feet...

Hindsight is always 50/50 a classic that most of use enjoy and wear the Noddy badge for. 🙃

It is fun to sort through old boxes like that. It fascinated me to see what was important to my grandparents and even more so, my great-grandparents. Believe it or not, neither one of them had much. People didn't collect anything back then, except children's memoirs or their extended families. I think collecting began with my parents, honestly. They moved from their home state and wanted to keep some of those memories. Not really sure but that is what it seems like to me. I hope to break that behavior, but, first I need to sort through a few things. :)

Travel was mostly paid for by my job, incorporating both with new living locations, and don't think I am not feeling fortunate for that.

I collected stamps when I was a kid. I still have them. I was fascinated by the different countries!

Only my Mom's mothers sideboard I inherited at around 14, now arranged it goes to a niece keeping it on the girls side within family, never really knew any of the other grandparents.

Old boxes I have plenty to go through one day, who knows what one has until you start sorting and clearing !LOLZ

I hope your day has been wonderful!

No electricity tonight, yup make the most of what you have!

I wish I could give you some of mine. You don't have any solar, Joan? I think I might have asked you this or maybe Lizelle. I am so sorry, but, applaud your attitude. ❤️

Criminal element in the country see solar on the roof you become a target, they steal the panels and know there are batteries if they can get to that as well.

Our cellphone towers, places where 5G towers went up are targeted for batteries, some steal electricity straight from the source to power their homes free of charge.

No my dear friend, here you keep a low profile and blend in to stay safe.

My Dad had a small coin collection when he was older. He never spent any money on such things when we were growing up, although he may have held onto a silver piece or two after they were no long every day coins. He only had one medium size gold coin. He said he had always wanted one for some reason and so he finally got one for himself. My Mom has since sold it all with the exception of a couple of pieces that she shared with David and I because she knew we had spent time with Dad as he shared about whatever his new pieces were. He had also bought, as a novelty of sorts, one of the gold clad Kennedy half dollars that came out one time, for each of his children and grandchildren that were alive at the time. Mom eventually did give those out.

I like neat coins if I come across them and will keep them if I see them, buffalo nickels, wheat pennies, silver dimes or quarters, even silver certificate paper money. I really only have a handful though. I also have one of those packets that has the set of coins that was made in the year I was born. I actually think I got them at an action so many years ago I can't remember for sure ! I do find them fascinating.

Who would spend such a thing? Usually people that steal them and don't really know the difference. I used to find some in change machines when I worked in vending. They would be in breakrooms where people bought snacks and coffee and the such. I would just shake my head and wonder if the person they really belonged too knew they were gone yet.

Those are some nice coins you have there Ms D !

I think that's how you start, for a lot of people. You save special coins/bills that are cool or mean something to you. When I was younger, I remember saving every 50-cent piece that crossed my hands. I used to go into banks and ask for sequential bills for graduation gifts or other monetary gifts. Weird, right? I think your dad did it right. He got the ones that interested him personally, not every coin that came into his vision. I still like the buffalo nickels and wheat pennies. I still get the occasional wheat penny (actually a cent coin, but, have no idea why we call them pennies?)I get them less and less and only got one buffalo nickel in the last couple of years. However, during Covid, I got a lot of cool coins! Go figure! I think people were spending them in case they passes away. Or breaking them out so they didn't have to go to the bank. Wait! Were banks even open? :) Good grief. I forgot (actually will never forget) how dismal life was then. The world seems much brighter now! Yes.

Anyway, that is pretty cool about the Kennedy halves! I think you would like foreign money. They only used to take their own money pre-Euro and I had a shoebox with different monies in it. Some of the Spanish coins and Mexican (I got plenty of those in SA) had gold-rimmed coins. Super beautiful! You didn't want to spend them, but, wanted to keep them. Anyway...

Saving silver and gold is for fun and what I do unless there is a reason, such as putting money aside for leaner days, or the banks shutting down. Kidding, but, you know what I mean. Yes! Proof sets! All the coins for one year. I always loved that idea. The idea is pretty cool for a first birthday.

Bingo! You nailed it. People that steal them or find them and don't have a real interest or know the value of it willing to spend them every day. Anyway, thank you for stopping by, and appreciate the awesome comment!

#MarketFriday loves you!

When I was a teen and for many years after, our local skating rink would have a constant "special" that you could get in for less money if you paid with a 50 cent piece. Someone somewhere has a mountain of those now for some reason. That was way after they were no longer silver, so I have wondered here and there what the motive was. Maybe by asking for that, they sometimes got older silver ones by default, or maybe they were building a 50 cent clad outhouse or something....LOL One never knows.... right ?

Within a month or two of covid, I no longer paid anything with real money unless I absolutely had too. I didn't really want anyone handing me change back after handling money of hundreds of other folks. I kept all the coins I did get during that time, but it barely fills the bottom of a glass half gallon apple juice jar. I didn't know if coins would disappear altogether at some point, so that is what I did.

You made me curious why we might call pennies... pennies. I knew why I did, it's because that's what my parents said they were ! LOL.... but on quick glance, it seems like some think it had something to do with us being under the British pound sterling system in the beginning of our country and there being 100 pence in a pound. I also didn't know that "pence" was the plural instead of pennies at the time. That was about all the research I did in 2 minutes...LOL....it's the British's fault ! .. or it may just be a theory.

I never wondered about that before.

It has everything to do with the British, but, we were pushing all things British out of our system. Even Pounds and Ounces - gallons, miles. We tried to run as hard and fast from them as we could. So why steal their penny? LOL

I used to get 50-cent pieces from the banks if they had any in their drawers or grocery store if they had one in their drawer.

You are right, during Covid, I never paid in cash ever - and to be honest, most stores didn't take cash. Some of the stores here still don't take cash. Actually quite a few.

Back to the fifty-cent pieces... Now I have a bunch of them, but, they were pretty cool, so I still will pick one up if I see one. Alas, few carry cash! I bet they are building that special outhouse!

These coins look very beautiful! My entry for this week:

https://ecency.com/hive-196308/@tatdt/market-friday-in-diagon-alley

Thank you and thank you for supporting #MarketFriday!
Have a wonderful weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Now this is an interesting #marketfriday! I love your Dad's gambling set-up. Exactly the preferred method. I particularly love collecting foreign currency. I used to have so many coins from my travels. They're so interesting when compared to other countries. Have a wonderful weekend Denise. This side we're buttoning the hatches for the first frosts. I expect also the first snow on the mountains. Brrrrrr. I'm off to tuck in the goats, horses and chickens

I thought that was pretty smart of him, to be honest. I have been to Las Vegas because it is fascinating, but never pulled a slot machine. I really do detest gambling, for myself. I don't judge others.

I collected coins on my travels, Tracey! I loved the coins with silver and rimmed in gold. They were so cool! There are so many countries that had beautiful coins.

I told you I had a shoebox full of foreign coins. The kids were fascinated by them too.

First frosts. Wow. Spring had a hard time getting going, but, I think she has it now. I love snow on the mountaintops. A stunning look. :) Lucky duck! You get all the beauty!

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your words!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Oh I also love those silver pieces rimmed in gold. My favourites. And your dad knew what he was doing when he gave you the "game"

Have a wonderful, flower filled week

You too! It is going to be perfectly Spring weather this week. 25/26C

I have some silver coins I bought from Perth mint. They are quite nice.
No coins needed for my lunch but lesser cashback even with at an earlier time
https://hive.blog/hive-105017/@ace108/marketfriday-no-cash-back-for-the-chicken-rice-video-or-by-ace108
At least, it was free coffee.

How cool! Which coins did you get from Perth? No coins are needed for lunch! Earlier and you still did well? Free coffee?

What a great deal! Thanks so much for leaving your words and dropping you link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Hello @castri-ja !! Thank you so much for your participation in the challenge! Thank you fro dropping the link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Thanks

!ALIVE

@dswigle! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @castri-ja. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Wow, those are some really impressive coins. I am just starting to grow my silver holdings. I have a bunch of coins I picked up along the way and then the stuff that was left to me from my Grandpa. I remember visiting the treasury in DC and doing the tour when I was a kid. Money really is pretty fascinating!

It is so funny what it is that makes one collect. I was left some coins by my grandfather too. I didn't collect that much twenty years ago, but, maybe fifteen, I was here and there. I had a dry spell where every penny counted so no collecting.

I remember you and I talked about the treasury when you went to DC... I like going to the Bureau of Engraving for a tour, which they no longer do. Sadly.

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

I remembered always making sure to a spare coin in my pocket not to save nor to spent but for safety. My late grandma used to tell us that it will save us against Engkanto, just filipino folklore.

Now, been saving sometimes in my piggy bank

Happy Friday Denise, and here is my entry for this week

https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@lhes/after-three-long-years-welcome-home-mi-amor-how-we-spent-our-first-day-together

Oh, yes!! Those mythical beings take on human form! Who wouldn't be afraid of those ? :) Especially when our elders told us.

That was the best way, the piggy bank. Then I would know where it was. Safely put away. Coins can b fun.

Happy Saturday now! Thank you for stopping by and dropping the link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

I love the coins as well, specially the older ones.

You can find my contribution for #MarketFriday by clicking on the link.

Enjoy your weekend.

Thank you so much for supporting #MarketFriday! I love the older ones too.
I appreciate you dropping he link also! Yes! The weekend is upon us!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Coins from @dswigle?!!! I LOVE it! 🩷 If you change your tag to #silvergoldstackers more coin folks on hive will find this lovely post. 🙂

Hope you are doing well. 🌺

Hi @dfinney! My first tag? I can't because it is for my challenge, #MarketFriday, I can add a tag? I was gone all day today, so it is probably too late! Thank you for looking after me!

I have actually been collecting for years. :)

#MarketFriday loves you!

The second tag, but yes probably too late this time. 🙂 But next time. 😃

We have an account that seeks out the tag and sometimes gives a little love. 🥰

Thanks. Because it was a #MarketFriday post, I didn't think I could put it in there, but, I will remember it for the future.

Thanks! Hope all is well with you! ❤️

Happy Friday @dswigle. My son is a big fan of coins. One coin at a time and he already has a bigger budget than me... 😀 And he is only 6 years old. 😊 I like the design of the American Platinum Eagle coin. My thoughts now fly without wings to the beautiful Slovenia that I wrote about in my entry today, here it is... 😊

https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@jelenaa/market-friday-at-the-foot-of-the-alps

That is exactly how to grow! One coin at a time! Wow! Six years old and saving! That is awesome! I do like the Platinum Eagle! It is such a pretty coin, front and back!

Hehe! Your thoughts fly! Great one! Thank you so much for your words and for dropping the link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Hello Denise, I'm happily surprised to discover that your collecting coins ! Looks you have pretty decent amount of wonderful ones.. I started back few year ago, it all began long time ago when I discovered a Napoléon in bronze is a small village just under a thin layer of earth ^^

Hope you'll like this one :)

Have a good weekend 😘

Yes. for a few years now. Those are what I bought for that shipment. It is so easy to get carried away with those pretty coins! Oh! A Napolean in bronze!!! Oh, I would love to hear that story!! Do you still have the coin?

Yes!!! I know I would! Like the post!? You know I will love it!

#MarketFriday loves you!

We were in a local market in a small town in the south and as I was still looking at the ground, I suddenly saw a kind of small metal round. At first I thought it was a bottle cap, but as soon as I held it in my hand, I realized it was an ancient coin :)

After brushing it with vinegar, it was back in acceptable condition. And yes, I still have it, in a little treasure chest with flint arrowheads from Algeria and bullets from the second world war found in Normandy 😉 the all perfect memory pack ^^

Have a good weekend dear @dswigle 😘

That is so cool - and bizarre, isn't it? To have surfaced that close!! What a happy accident that you were looking down when you did.

I went to Normandy when I lived in Europe, the vision of those cliffs and D-Day looking back at me. I have arrowheads and I am getting ready to use a metal detector on the old house at the shore as it was used during the Civil War.

History is interesting, although not always pretty.

Yeah, that was the perfect confirmation that it's always to look both at the sky... and at the ground ^^ !

A metal detector, this would be my dream tool :) Always wanted one, but I know I will get one..

History is interesting, although not always pretty.

Couldn't agree more, there is many way to look into it, but in the realistic point of view, it's indeed quite terrible. Afterwards, I also like to think that history was also made by millions of anonymous people and that perhaps, without some of them, things could also have been much worse !

Take good care 🌺

Now, that part is true. Sometimes I feel odd when I post about the Civil War of our country or things that happened during it. The house I have on the Atlantic Coast (referred to as the Shore House) was taken over and used for a hospital. It has many interesting things about the house, but, the history... wow. Not all good, but it is what molded the area.

I find small things about the house, the longer I own it.

Have a wonderful rest of your week.

Yes, there is always a negative and often terrible bias towards all things good and beautiful... It is the weighing of the whole and the total balance..

I was also wondering, in relation to your previous comment, if you had already shared any images and texts about this house which seems to be a real haven of peace!

But I guess you might also prefer to keep it offline ;-)

Have a beautiful day 😘

There's always a market for gold and silver coins.
Now we're $tacking!

Yeah, baby!! Now we are talking! StCk them high!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Also keep those copper pennies from that coin jar of yours. Those pennies dated up to 1992 are worth 2.5X their face value in copper commodity value.
https://www.coinflation.com/

Yes!!! I am glad you said that. I never spend those. At first, because it was only a cent, but then I kept them because they were! :)

Thank you. You are always such a fountain of knowledge!

This was a very interesting post to read! And I love your photography! Thank you for sharing this with us!

You can find my post for this week here.

Well, honestly it was a cell phone. I was at my other house and I forgot the camera. Coins come out better with a camera, for me anyway! I guess it is interesting, but, only if you like coins. :)

You must like coins!

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words~!!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Even with your cell phone...I still love your photography! With the technology of today, I've seen some great photos taken with cell phones...

And yes, I do like coins👍!

Enjoy your weekend!

It was Mother's Day, so I did nothing on here! Well, Monday is a different day!

Cell phones have come a long way, for sure.

I hope you had an awesome Mother's Day!

I did!! The entire weekend! I didn't even visit Hive until tonight! Yikes! Too good #MarketFriday! Thank you for the wishes!

Here is my participation for the market Friday

https://ecency.com/hive-196308/@femcy-willcy/buying-of-new-birds-inside

Thank you for dropping your link! There were five of them a few minutes ago! :)

#MarketFriday loves you!

https://leofinance.io/threads/view/thetimetravelerz/re-leothreads-vfzznty1
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( thetimetravelerz ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

golden coins look so...powerful...:)
There are people who definetely can kill anyhbody to get this coin, and not because it's golden, but because they have immortal passion to collect different coins;)
many people say gold is the best investment now, so...these coins have a line of those who desire to have them;)

https://ecency.com/hive-196308/@taliakerch/fresh-vegan-marketfriday - my entry to your Community this week✨

I have to say that if you are investing in stocks, bonds or the market, gold or silver is another good investment. It is not the end of the world if one doesn't do it. While they are just one more way to save for the future, there are lots of ways.

Thanks so much for stopping by and dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Hi @dswigle, your coin collection does certainly look fantastic, congrats! Although I don't personally collect coins, I have spent some of them at this sweet market 🙃😋 (my participation to #Marketfriday). Have a nice week!

Haha! Nice one! :)

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your link~

#MarketFriday loves you!

Well hello Denise , Good morning to you :)

Those coins look amazing for macrophotography , i hardly see cash money any more these days .

Question: What flies without wings? hot air baloon

and look i even made a #marketfriday post today

https://ecency.com/hive-14396/@stresskiller/it-s-time-to-spring

have a great weekend

But does it really fly?

Hot air balloons work because hot air rises. By heating the air inside the balloon with the burner, it becomes lighter than the cooler air on the outside. This causes the balloon to float upwards, as if it were in water.

I admit, I think you are right, but, you know Google... always has to be right!

Thanks so much for being a part of the challenge!

#MarketFriday loves you!

people call it flying with a hoot air balloon, since they move from a to b .

Congratulations @dswigle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 78500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 79000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Thank you for the notification @hivebuzz ! Have a great day!

#MarketFriday loves you!

All good @dswigle! You're a true Hive champion! Onward to that new goal!

Well it's nice to collect coins indeed because some other coins like ours in the Philippines contain history and legacy. Though it made me wonder if that american gold buffalo coin has it's similar value since it was made of pure gold.

I did say that in the post as it used to make me wonder how you can pay thousands of dollars for a coin and have it only have a $0.05 value on the coin.

What is the difference between face value and intrinsic value? A quarter is always going to have a face value of 25 cents. That can never change. These coins from the mints are actually bullion coins, minted into a quarter... Their value is in the melt value. So, it has a rolling scale. Whatever the sot value is that day. That is the value. So, bullion is for collecting, not spending. Who in their right mind would spend a coin worth $50.00 or $1,000.00 in a vending machine? Would you? Not bloody likely.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words, Paul! @mrnightmare89

#MarketFriday loves you!

I am confident "In God We Trust" Precious Metals, are safest from State confiscation. Thanks for showing and sharing, dswigle - @dswigle.

I don't know... Do you think? Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words.
Have a great weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

@dswigle These are all fascinating collections of coins, I wish to have the gold coins some day.

You can kindly check my Market Friday post here:. https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@oluwadrey/market-friday-its-farming-season-and-its-time-to-go-a-herbicide-shopping

Thank you. I really do like coins. If they are valuable, it makes it easier to love, yes? I will check out your market post. Thank you for dropping the link.

Have a nice day!

#MarketFriday loves you!

time flies without wings 😁

Here is my entry for today's Market Friday

https://ecency.com/hive-196308/@jane1289/when-flowers-bloom-in-spring

I didn't expect your collecting coins too

Yes!! Time flies!

Thank you for dropping your link! I love coins!
Plus, they are a little pretty!

Thank you for your support!

#MarketFriday loves you!

I might start collecting coins too 😊

Thank you for dropping your link. Have a great week ahead!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Hello, beautiful Denise. Here's my entry, only an entry for now but later on will be back to read and learn from your pretty post.
https://peakd.com/@mrnightmare89/along-the-street

Thank you for dropping the link, Paul! @mrnightmare89 and for putting a post together. I appreciate it as I know how busy you are with the store.

Thank you for taking the time out of your day and for dropping the link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

My mum still has some old coins at home, since we stopped spending it here in Nigeria

My entry for this week https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@elizabeth2323/my-market-friday-getting-my-sewing-materials
Thanks

Have you stopped spending coins in Nigeria? Or did they change coins? Thank you for dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

We stopped spending coins. Just notes now. Thanks for taking time to read.

Haha! Yes. It certainly would be at 2 am. The only active ones are the night markets, but, even at 2 am, they are probably done.

Thanks so much for dropping the link! I appreciate your support!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Hi @dswigle,

I remember you from the Hive Engagement League.

Do you happen to know how to submit long-form posts to top Curators?

Thank you.

~ Chris Rice
Open Source : D.Buzz

I remember you too! Hi @chrisrice

I have no idea, I didn't even know there was such a thing, to be honest. I do it the hard way. :) I find communities that interest me. In the beginning, commenting was what I did, as much as I could afford. Once you find groups you like, comment on more of those to make your name familiar. Over time, people will recognize you and read yours, just because it's you. In time, top curators will notice you, if they haven't already.

I'm sure this isn't what you are looking for, but, I remain blissfully ignorant of any other way. :) I hope you are doing well. Thanks for stopping by!

#MarketFriday lovees you!

Ah okay, yes, that's the same thing I did.. and that's one of the reasons why I helped start https://d.buzz

I like the social aspect of exchanging comments 😃

Posted via D.Buzz

I wondered about that!

I think that the exchanging of comments is important on social websites, although I think that many misunderstand writing a few words with commenting. You can tell by circling the posts here and seeing four-word comments. How much can you really put across in four to six words?

Yes, that's true, I agree with that.. sometimes I also leave brief comments, especially for beautiful photos.

BTW, have you viewed any posts by @philnews.xyz? He is a close friend of mine.

Posted via D.Buzz

Thanks for thr heads up Chris

Posted via D.Buzz

-Hi! Ma'am @dswigle Nice collection of coins you have there, that I only see the first time hehe! Thank you for sharing!. I have my #MarketFriday participation! And here it is

https://peakd.com/hive-141359/@aimharryianne/lets-go-to-party-and-some-food-stuff-too

Have a blessed day!🙏

Thank you for the words about my post which coins did you like best? Did you figure out what flies without wings? :)

Thank you for dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

-Hi Ma'am @dswigle All coins you have shared
have their unique beauty!😇

About the question which flies without wings..most of the answers is time. And it's correct but for me it can also be "Mind". Because we can go anywhere through our mind too.! Hehe..Have a blessed day!🙏

It seems like you have a very cool and nice collection of coin, from your family and yourself- all these have a nice story or may be behind else.

https://ecency.com/marketfriday/@tokenism/our-recent-market-view-for?referral=tokenism

Thank you! They are a lot of fun to collect! I appreciate the words and dropping the link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Couldn’t find any silver coins on my country. People only buy gold jewelry and gold bars! But we could get tiny silver balls from jewelers; they use these silver balls to make silver jewelry.

Gold is more liquid and easier to exchange into fiat money.

I couldn't either! I guess they don't like stacking the metals? Not sure. I get just silver rounds, just like the balls except flat like a coin.

I think silver or gold works pretty well. Thank you for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Hope your ‘plan’ about moving is getting some progressing information. From my readings, things are going to get really bad. The plan to take down the whole societal construct is moving forward even faster.

Great collection of yours.! Collecting coins will give us the opportunity to look back what were the different designs and shapes in every coins when time comes there will be changes in the circulation.

I suppose change is imminent. In the meantime, I will enjoy the coins that are circulating! :) Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Once i start to collect coins, i still have some coin but now they're not worth anymore but it's the memory from past I've.
Your question is great!!! Good luck to everyone

I just started keeping the ones I like, it really had nothing to do with the value. Over time, I guess some were worth more than others, but, it was always about keeping some that were special to me.

Time! Time flies and has no wings!
Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Yes it's all about to keep the one which is your favorite and it's worth to keep that

I also love #marketfriday

Even if it is just metal, it will always have an intrinsic value in the market. When you make the comparison with the fiat value system where inflation robs us.

Yes. That is the best point about collecting it, yes? Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

I believe it is more for the fun of the historic of the coins as well and the pleasure of collecting them.

It is for the fun, that is how it starts. Historical value is a given... then it sometimes becomes more.

You really have a great collection of coins. I also love to collect the rare and antique pieces of artworks.

Very nice. Perhaps someday you will do a post about them? That would be fun to peruse!
Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you !

Yes I will. Right now I am very busy in gardening these days and growing beautiful flowers in my garden. I also post about them from time to time.

Sounds awesome! Gardens are always fun and flowers are beautiful. Thanks for stopping by! Have a nice day!

Happy Friday. All these gold and silver coins looks so beautiful and amazing. Those who were wise and put their savings into such things i.e. silver and gold are in for a huge profit today as their prices have steadily increased.

It is always a crap shoot, whichever way you go. I have faith in it though. We shall see, yes?

Thanks for dropping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

I also love coins too but I guess they have a special place in people's heart here. I have noticed that a lot of people here love coins.

Here on Hive? Indeed! They even have their own challenge! :) Thank you fro stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 155 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer! Much appreciated!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!PIZZA


Hey @dswigle, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks for the beer @pixresteemer!

Each and every coin in this post is worth holding my friend. and you are the lucky to have all these.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@dswigle(1/5) tipped @pixresteemer

A coin filled market....... alluring huh

Here's my entry lovelies
https://ecency.com/hive-196308/@pearlie123/ma
Do have a great weekend

Thank you for dropping the link.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Wow, amazing coins. I like it. I have some old coins I kept in my wallet. Have a lovely day Ma'am Denise!

Here's my entry for this week #MarketFriday challenge. Thank you!
https://ecency.com/hive-196308/@zehn34/going-on-robinsons-supermarket?referral=zehn34

They aren't old coins at all. They are all very new coins. Thank you for dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Ahhh, I missed this! Goes to show how busy I am!!!
Beautiful, sweet @dswigle !
It's a wonderful hobby. There is ALWAYS a market for gold and silver!!!
Keep stacking!!!

el dinero es papel lo importante es oro y plata

I am sorry, I don't speak Spanish.