Market Friday. 'Lulu's Place.'

in Market Friday4 years ago (edited)

'Lulu's Place.'

This is my entry for the Market Friday challenge organized by the very organized @dswigle

See her market Friday blog here:

Let me tell you a little in advance about the one and only........Lulu's Place. I came upon it quite by accident whilst visiting Bribie Island. I couldn't believe my good fortune, when out of the corner of my eye, I spied THE MOST INTERESTING PLACE I HAVE SEEN IN A LONG TIME.

It will all be self explanatory soon, but my aim is, that you will enjoy visiting Lulu's place as much as I did. Here goes!

LULU'S.jpg

Isn't this place fascinating? Well, you haven't seen anything yet. I wasted no time at all in grabbing my camera and with a great sense of expectation I let my index finger and the shutter button do its thing non stop, until I walked back to my car a good half an hour later.

POP UP 2.jpg

I feel it is only fair to pre-warn you though..........I took quite a few photos. After snapping some shots of the exterior, I made my way to the entrance. And I was pleased to see safe distancing rules in place and the friendly door greeter wearing a mask.

MASK.jpg

I just had to take a profile shot to capture that very funky, rainbow coloured hair.

MODEL.jpg

Once inside, I hardly knew where to begin in my quest to get you to 'experience' Lulu's as opposed to just viewing it.

FISH ETC.jpg

There was absolutely no space left for any more stock and I found myself being careful not to knock over any of the interesting items as I began to explore.

STUFF.jpg

The venue Lulu uses for her costume hire business is a very old cottage situated on 33 Torbul Street in Bongaree Bribie Island. The rooms are quite small but it was obvious that Lulu intended to make the most of every spare centimeter to display her goods.

T PARTY.jpg

Soft, colourful, toys were grouped together on shelves, on chairs and even on the floor, giving the appearance of harmonious family domesticity.

TOYS.jpg

I was the only browser at the time as it was quite late in the day, but I could just imagine the looks on children's faces as they took in the gaiety all around.

toy -collage.jpg

I met Mr & Mrs. Ted sitting next to some glamorous shoes.

MR & MRS TED edit.jpg

There were more shoes for sale.......

SHOES 2.jpg

And shoes for little feet.

SHOES.jpg

And just in case you were wondering, most, if not all the items in this very unique place are Pre-Loved products.

Just like the sign says, on the wall outside.

SIGN.jpg

I found wigs.....

WIGS.jpg

Elaborate Indian head gear...

INDIAN.jpg

Fairy dresses.......

LL2.jpg

Sarongs for only $5...

SARONGS.jpg

A Juke Box!

LL.jpg

JUKE BOX.jpg

A clown Ted was hanging around, waiting to check on all the customers as they came in. I think he was employed as an undercover security guard actually because I'm sure Lulu wouldn't want any of her prized possessions going missing.

CLOWN TED.jpg

Yes........this place was a veritable Treasure Trove laden with trivial trinkets and attire, both trendy and traditional. (Ok, that statement is very debatable.)

HAT ON MODEL.jpg

BOWLING.jpg

MM.jpg

In between browsing and taking photos, I had a chat with Lulu. She told me she visited Bribie Island a few years ago for the weekend and still hasn't left. She loved the place so much, she now calls Bribie Island, 'Home.' And who can blame her? It really is a very desirable and popular place to live.

LULU.jpg

Is that a zebra, a striped polar bear or an animal of unknown origin hiding in the corner of this book shelf?

BOOK SHELF.jpg

There were pretty things like big, blue flowers .........

FLOWER.jpg

But I was also confronted by things that were downright UGLY!

UGLY.jpg

SCARY MASKS.jpg

BUCK TEETH.jpg

BALD HEAD.jpg

I daresay a purple witch is mandatory in such a place.

PURPLE WITCH.jpg

As is, a Halloween loving witch.......

WITCH.jpg

How about a skull ring or two? Or even better, one for each finger?

SKULL RINGS.jpg

I read this sign, obviously written by a frustrated parent who is needing some space after housing, feeding and looking after adult teens who have no intention of leaving home. (lol)

TEENS.jpg

Another security guard????

COW.jpg

Now that's a Mask!

MASQUERADE.jpg

Check out this cool racing car driver.

R CAR.jpg

On my way out, I noticed a few old, Bribie Islander magazines available.

B ISLANDER.jpg

And once outside, I took in more of the quintessential props that made Lulu's place so very unique.

Such as this buck-toothed wheelie bin.

BIN.jpg

The retro chair and table.......

P1OP UP.jpg

Who needs expensive advertising campaigns when Lulu's van does the job more than adequately?

groovy van.jpg

I've saved the best for last. A not so subliminal message for the mail man. I couldn't help but smile at the very fitting sign on the letter box.

Good on you Lulu. Keep the junk out. You don't want to damage your reputation by accepting trash on your premises.

NO JUNK MAIL.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VEIWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

gPCasciUWmExqEMoBN8rd4VmqRSFUZRqbKVdC1t3kP6oYc4bNCg1wBHKNQYYZ7ZJsy4Bp8PoeRZDqoWXSa8G4GLVQ8pQMEmussWLdJ19TEwYVcofKzciKZLyQ4Vo4UGWfnMF1KUYdv.png

qurator gif.gif

team-australia-hive-badge-slim-cowboys-hive.blog-trudeehunter.png

Quirite badge RS.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 12 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
9

My God that is a lot of junk taking you back in time you could really have fun in there shopping for a Halloween night or fancy dress party and what a beautiful colorful shop 😊

Hello Beautiful
What a beautiful market and how many things, those are the ones I like, you have to find the treasure
Happy Friday

That shop looks like a fantasy one, I would not hesitate for a moment to get into one of those if I came across them crossing the streets :D

Literally you took us there, I very much enjoyed the items, thank you!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #898.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Beautiful post of a very unique shop! Amazing stuff the owner has accumulated inside!! Even the van was fully painted!! Quite a lady owner!

What a lovely colorful knickknacks find sure there would be something for everybody in there 😊

I will be the first to admit that I was excited about going into Lulu's! Who could resist with that funky rainbow-colored hair? I can tell you that experience started as soon as you walked in the door! I'm not sure she could have said one more thing in there, although I have to admit that I was very excited! I think you hit the nail on the head when you said it had the appearance of Harmony. It really does! She had quite the accessorized She department. I can't imagine an Indian headdress that wasn't pre-used. LOL

Although I loved the fairy dresses and sarongs oh, I might have they were quite a cheap price. It was the Jukebox that I wanted to take home with me. Trendy a traditional is going a little overboard but it was a pretty cool place. I will book for zebra under the Left To Die book. How inappropriate. LOL

I closed my eyes skipping through the ugly and Lee skull rings. say that this was unique and really adorable. I love the garbage bin with the buck teeth and for advertising van. You really outdid yourself with this place! Lulu's looks like a fun place to take a stroll through and stay awhile. I dare say that it would take a while to get through that stuff I don't know how you did it in a half-hour! Thank you so much, my dear!

Thank you so much for taking the time to join the challenge! This was such a cool place, I think we could go back there again and again! I love going places with you! You never disappoint and mundane or over the top, you make it fun! I appreciate the love and support you are giving to #MarketFriday! Without you and people like yourself, I wouldn't be able to have such a successful challenge! I know that at this time, it is harder to find something to fit the challenge. On a good day, it takes a lot of time and effort to be part of, so it means a lot to me that you participate. I hope you know that there is great latitude in what Market means. It can be typical of where you shop for food, or it can be a unique place that you visit. Thank you again for being a part of all this and I hope that you will, indeed, have a great day and week ahead! There is no doubt you know what you are doing, but I have been getting lots of #MarketFriday tags that are not, so I put this in for people that may be reading your post! If any of your friends might be reading this... and wondering how to participate, this should clear it all up!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you! And I do too! xoxo

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

I miss your post here. I hope all is good with you 😊

Congratulations @trudeehunter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Saint-Nicolas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
HiveFest⁵ badges available in the HiveBuzz shop