Market Friday - Colourful Indian Bangle Shop

in Market Friday2 years ago

IMG_20220124_130348.jpg

Hello everyone! Today is Friday and it is an exciting day for me because it is the day of #marketfriday challenge, initiated by @dswigle. This is my favourite challenge of the week as it gives me an opportunity to write about the interesting things I find while shopping and discover those that other participants write about as well. Today I am going to share a post about some beautiful bangles I found in an Indian bangle shop.

The name of the shop is Mangala Deepam and it is located in Jalan Ipoh, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It is not specifically a bangle shop as there are other thingss which are sold as well but there is a specific section dedicated to bangles alone. I found many types of bangles from simple plain ones to fancy, colourful and beaded bangles. They range from cheap to more costly priced so everyone can get bangles that fit their budget.

IMG_20220124_130404.jpg

There were a ton of bangles and my eyes were glittering :D I usually get bangles after buying a new outfit to match it. I didn't really buy any outfit at the time, as it wasn't a festive season. However it was the first time I was checking bangles in this store. I have mostly gotten bangles from Little India which is located in Brickfields.

IMG_20220124_130353.jpg

These are different types of bangles. I took this picture so it is easier to explain and compare as they are all in the same picture. The first row consists of simple plain bangles. The second row has some subtle patterns such as golden lines. Finally. the third row consists of fancy bangles which have a lot of patterns and designs. The prices increase depending on how much pattern the bangle set has.

IMG_20220124_130348.jpg

These are simple plain bangles. They don't have fancy patterns and are suitable to be used as 'middle bangles' when we want to mix two or more colours. I have some of these too and use them as filler bangles in the middle section of my bangles arrangement. As you can see, almost every colour is available, from neutrals of black and white, to warm reds and purples, and cool blues and greens. Most of them are priced at RM 9.90 (2.26 USD).

IMG_20220124_130323.jpg

These are mid-range bangles. These have some designs but are still affordable.

IMG_20220124_130342.jpg

Aren't they beautiful? They come with slightly chunky bangles on the edges and thin plain bangles for the middle section. In my opinion, they are the perfect mix of both simple and fancy bangles. I love these bangles and I own a few sets too. Once, someone even complimented me and said that my bangles looked classy :D You can just get one set of these and split them up into two and wear half for each wrist. They are priced at RM 14.90 (3.41 USD)

IMG_20220124_130301.jpg

These are fancy bangles. Such bangles can be work alone or with a few filler bangles in the middle. Many of them have beautiful stones embedded and sometimes they add little mirrors too.

IMG_20220124_130254.jpg

Their price varies depending on how many bangles are in the set. Some are priced at the same rate as the plain bangle set but there will be only two fancy bangles in one set. The two bangles may actually be enough and still elegant because they are usually chunky in size. They can be worn just like that or mixed with a few plain bangles. Such bangles are suitable for events like weddings and reception.

IMG_20220124_130401.jpg

Here are more fancy bangles. As I mentioned earlier, you can see many sets consists of only two bangles which are chunky. The price is around RM 15.90 per set. That is 3.64 USD.

IMG_20220124_130307.jpg

These are fancy bangle sets with a larger number of bangles. Therefore these sets are more expensive. They are RM 29.90 (6.84 USD)

IMG_20220124_130313.jpg

Almost all of the bangles on the right are fancy bangles except the ones on the bottom section which are faux gold bangles. They look like gold but are not gold. The people who like gold jewelry but are unable to afford them can accessorize themselves with these for wedding events. On the other hand, the bangles on the left are thread bangles.

pexels-mian-rizwan-10164658.jpg

Source : Photo by Mian Rizwan from Pexels

I got a royalty free picture from Pexels so that everyone can see how they look close up. These bangles are made of thread. These are the most expensive. As you may have noticed in the previous picture, they come in their own container which I think is just a measure to ensure the bangles stay intact. They are priced at RM 34.90 (7.99 USD).

IMG_20220506_174223.jpg

Final bonus picture! This is my own bangle collection. I store them in a bangle bag like this. I have a few more bangles that I store elsewhere. I don't have a lot but these are sufficient because red and gold match most Indian outfits.


0bfa51744d8ffc72651cc6f6ad327d7d84480c1ce1ed230f77cbea165502bc1b.0.png

I changed the look of my avatar XD Thank you for dropping by and have a wonderful weekend ahead!

Sort:  

So colourful! Love them all!

Thank you! Glad you like them and I also love the colours.

Loading...