You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Calhoun Experiment: How Overcrowding Led to Social Breakdown and Abnormal Behavior in Mice

Yeah this crowding thing is quite interesting, and one can only wonder how it impacts people. I had noticed this phenomenon in animals myself when I was a kid because of a fish aquarium my mom had. When there were just a couple fish, they became very territorial, fought all the time to the point of death and fiercely guarded their areas. But when you put a lot of fish in, of the same exact kind, they behaved completely peacefully! Just swam next to each other like nothing's the matter. It was so strange that it stuck in my memory, even though all other details have vanished, like what type of fish they were.

Sort:  

Nice... I think I saw a similar experiment done too.

Is it far stretch to say this applies to humans?

No, not a far stretch at all. I remember reading or listening to biologists saying we used to live in small groups of people where everyone knew each other, and they went on to hypothesize on how this might affect our current behavior and psychology. For instance, in a small group it makes sense to compare ourself to others, since everyone can be your, say, sexual rival; but it doesn't make sense to compare ourselves to rich famous people who live in other countries and who will never compete with us for a mate or a job or a position, but we can't help but do exactly that, because our brain thinks everyone we see is a member of our small village.

Wooow, I've never seen it this way. Technology has really made the world a global village. I could like to see the literure on that...Its stuff like this I love to read...behaviour intrigues me.