You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A challenge to the thesis of "intellectual laziness" of believers in God

in StemSocial15 days ago

I believe in God. But it's not as if I've always done so. There are a lot of people who don't want to decide in favour of faith because they are in doubt. Those who doubt feel the challenge in what makes them doubt. It is extremely difficult for people who have grown up in predominantly secular circumstances to find God and it is not enough to say that God will come to you. In order to come to him, people need other people who meet them intellectually and accept their challenge. It is very easy to say ‘I don't believe!’ just as it is easy to say ‘I believe’. Reasoning both, on the other hand, is an act of courtesy and a dialogue that needs to be conducted between Christians and non-Christians. Don't you think?

Sort:  

It's understandable. For some people, looking and researching at church history helps. So perhaps you can start with that too. Am just giving you what I can as I am not capable of discussing/debating such topics since I am not an expert in it. 😁 I can only offer second hand info based on what I've read and watched. 🙂

I've seen several conversion stories online and some said reading abt such history, like by the early church fathers, made them realize the answers. Hope it helps. God bless on your spiritual journey.

Thank you, since a journey, it is. If you like to see in a society more of what Christianity wants to offer, the Christians themselves have to come out of their own spaces and dare to debate on a level; meaning that the level of debate and challenging each other needs to be led in that open space. That also requires some courage to face someone who is good at arguing and to meet the arguments in a manner the other one can accept.

“When men choose not to believe in God, they do not thereafter believe in nothing, they then become capable of believing in anything.”

― G.K. Chesterton

I would describe modernity as Chesterton did here.

God bless you, too.

Yep, plenty of Christians who can discuss and debate such topics. For sure you can find someone out there. So many Catholics have also posted content online. Have not tried searching regarding your concern though but I do hope you will find the answers soon enough. 😉

I already did and do find spaces in which I debate as a Christian, so I am in no need for further encouragement - my intention could also be described as encouraging others. Since you are a Christian yourself, and you may find yourself in the defense as such, by statements like the above one in my post that "you are intellectually lazy" or similar implications, I was giving an interpretation of mine what it can mean to deal with God on an intellectual effortful basis.
Do you never find yourself in the defense or someone questioning your belief? If so, how satisfied were you with the result of such a debate?

Oh I see... Yes I have found myself on the defense before but I just let them be after giving some suggestions. We all have our own journey in life so if they can't understand something then it is best that they find the answers on their own if they are really interested to know the answers. 😀

find the answers on their own

Did you find your answers on your own? Or was it that someone asked you a question which has surprised/disturbed you and let you therefor come to your conclusion?

Though I agree that letting someone be, can be a wise decision when oneself does not have the patience or the means to remain engaged. There might be another human being who then might pick up the thread of conversation. To rely on that, might be seen as a bit too convenient, though.

From what I experience right now in the world is that Christians self reflect on what they might have "let be" too much. So there seems to be an imbalance of what one did not bother with, since it may have been too bothersome. I can be wrong, though.

But I welcome Christians to come out of their closets. Where I live, Christianity seems to be the least thing people think about. I myself treated religion badly, because I never felt challenged by my Christian fellas since they did not bother with me to give me a challenge instead telling me "just believe in God. That is enough."

Would you argue that this is not a valid point?
I think that is something which is perceived by doubtful people or non-Christians as being a bit too righteous and vain in receiving that kind of suggestion.

if they are really interested to know the answers

Exactly. I agree. But they need to find an intelligent and in them interested questioner.

For sure it depends on the person. But for me nobody told or asked me anything, it's always been my own questions and when I need to know more I find everything online (or thru confession to a priest or an ex-seminarian whom I trust). This is why I am so happy so many priests are being interviewed and do talks too, especially Catholic exorcist priests. Ah the wealth of information they provide online in terms of spiritual warfare. And even the lives and writings of saints, oh wow everythinf is online. I love it, I love everything about Catholicism. Glory to God in the highest! 🙏