You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing our community with STEM live events

in StemSocial4 years ago

Hello here! Sorry for the delay in answering, week-end time is always complicated for me, with the boundary conditions (i.e. the family). I would love to see you on-board and also writing about your field here.

Concerning the peer review process, I like to show how we are an example in particle physics. Our main journals are all open access (the community pays for that), all our preprints are available on the arxiv before even getting submitted (and this holds for many many years) and we even have the scipost initiative that is an open access online journal where even the referee reports and the replies to them are publicly available. I wish this could serve as examples :)

By the way, would you be interested in a holding a live event (a la AMA, with video + recording and so on) about a topic related to your field?

Sort:  

Thank you for your answer. The open source initiatives are really a progress. However, I feel with all the new possibilities the blockchain technology brings to us, there might be a dezentral, peer-reviewed process possible that also distributes the value of publication directly to the authors of that paper. We will see what will develop in this regard.

I am happy to contribute to the mentioned project. Maybe @suesa is interested to do a conjoined format about clinical development or cellular immunology. I might also need some technical support/advice...

Not before the 31st of August. I'm struggling to get my MSc despite the pandemic, and that day is when I am supposed to turn in my thesis. Don't have enough mental resources for a productive cooperation with someone else, and wouldn't want to give anything but my best!

pressing thumps for a successful time writing your MSc! It is clear that you don’t have the nerves to to an extra project on top. But lets keep the idea for later on.

 4 years ago  

Don't worry, if you are interested we can schedule you for the fall or the winter.

 4 years ago  

Several people tried to bring this already in the past. Personally, I don't know. Do we really need a blockchain for this?

Also, how do you define a peer in a decentralised way?

Concerning the live events, I will be the test case number 1 and we are still at the stage of defining things. So no worries, we have time!

Physicists have led the way in open access! Although I fear perhaps the attachment to arXiv has led to a very PDF-centric publishing infrastructure. I'd love for publishing to be more web native.

 4 years ago  

This is true for the PDF part. I like what some journals do (EPJC for instance) where you can access the articles in a browser in a quite readable way (although I usually prefer the PDF so that I could annotate them).