You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing our community with STEM live events

in StemSocial4 years ago

Hey ho.

I am doing research in the fields of toxicology and risk assessment of chemicals in food as a post doc at the University of Vienna, Austria. My blog (which can also be found here)is all about toxic stuff and debunking myths around science. I also run @de-stem, the german subcommunity of @stemsocial, together with @chappertron, a fellow biologist.

Sort:  

Nice blog you've got going on there @sco. It was a relief to see there is a version of it in English (or, at least most of it?). Your category 'bad science' has planted a little seed in my head which might motivate me to develop a similar project on 'bad psychology'! Who knows ... :)

I hope you and the family are all safe and healthy over there.

 4 years ago  

Hi sco. I am missing your posts. Really! Any chance to resurrect them at some point? And more important question, would you be part of the volunteer list for the live events?

I underestimated the work that is required to pursue a academic career. At the moment I am completely full with writing project proposals. That in combination with students, my contract ending in december, a (relatively) new child and COVID-19... I would love to continue blogging, but atm it's just not possible, I fear.
As for the live event, what exactly would that mean for me?

 4 years ago  

Congratulations for the baby! I understand the feeling perfectly well (you can check the state of my blog those days :D ). Dealing with everything is an art (I quite fail at this at the moment, personally). Good luck for everything!

In terms of work, the life event is expected to be a kind of one-hour event with a general audience seminar followed by a question session. We have not thought yet about the details.

Let's keep it like that, then: I will have a look at the first live events, consider the ammount of work it would require to organize one in similar quality, and will then decide whether to do it.

 4 years ago  

I am still very unsure about the first event schedule. Too much on my plate at the moment. Anyways, you will be kept informed ;)