You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: VERBASCUM PHLOMOIDES AND SOME CREATURES ON IT

in StemSocial8 months ago

With your photography, you have caught me in your web of enjoying insects. When you speak of the macro lens, is it another setting on your camera or do you physically change the lens on your camera? As you can tell, I'm a beginner at this photography stuff. I take all of my pics with a Cannon Power Shot SX530 HS. When I want to capture fine detail I just zoom in. Of course, my photos don't capture the detail your pictures show.

Being able to enlarge the pics is also very cool. The shots of the jumping spider, especially when enlarged are so vivid, showing every detail. I have seen a few Mantises around our farm. Here in the States we refer to them as the Praying Mantis. Back in the day, it was illegal to kill them and a hefty fine was imposed if you did. I'm not sure how the authorities would ever know back then, but now it may be a different story as there seem to be cameras everywhere recording your every move. Not so much in the rural area we live in, but in the larger cities you can see them everywhere.

Thanks for capturing my attention with your wonderful skills. I've got so much to learn!

Sort:  

I use a camera very similar to yours, the Canon PowerShot SX60 HS. For the macro, however, I combine it with a macro conversion lens with a snap-on adapter. Now, that's a lot of words but the thing is simple and easy to use. The exact name is Raynox DCR-250 Super Macro Snap-On Lens. It's a small addition to the lens of your camera that you can easily mount and unmount. Here is the link where you can see how it looks. https://www.amazon.com/Raynox-DCR-250-Super-Macro-Snap/dp/B000A1SZ2Y?th=1

Yes 🙂 it looks like one of those laws that isn't possible to monitor and enforce but it works more like a vague repellent for extremely honest, law-abiding people.
Yes, with modern cameras maybe they can zoom in enough to see you killing insects. Still, there are probably ways to kill a mantis discretely or make it look like an accident. Organized crime professionals will surely know a trick or two.

Thanks for the info and the link to the Raynox DCR-250 Super Macro Snap-On Lens.
I checked it out and Amazon has it for $67.00.
I've ordered it and can't wait for it to arrive.
Once it arrives, I don't mean to BUG you, but if I have any questions can I call on you to straighten me out?
Tough law to uphold, but just having this law in place is a good thing. If folks would realize that the Praying Mantis can act as an effective form of organic pest control they may think twice before sending it to its grave.

No problem. 🙂 I'll gladly answer any question about that macro lens, if I can.

THANKS

it looks like one of those laws that isn't possible to monitor and enforce but it works more like a vague repellent for extremely honest, law-abiding people.
Yes, with modern cameras maybe they can zoom in enough to see you killing insects. Still, there are probably ways to kill a mantis discretely or make it look like an accident. Organized crime professionals will surely know a trick or two.

o-oo!