You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Man Who Forgot How To Speak - Treating Wernicke's Aphasia Through Non Dominant Language, A Live Study

in StemSocial • 2 years ago

Last night I made a suggestion that perhaps if we got him to learn a new language, or perhaps reignite some of the French he learned many years ago, he may well learn to speak properly. It was reported back to me, that it did indeed work and for the first time in two years, my friend spoke coherently.

That's wonderful news :) What made you think to try it? I hope your friend continues to improve 🙌

Those of us with our health should be truly thankful...

Sort:  

I had been thinking about the plasticity of the brain when it came to recovering from strokes, and in particular I was thinking about the brain disorder which stops the sufferer from recognising loved ones (I can't remember it's name). Basically when the pathways between the fusiform gyrus (facial recognition) and the amygdala (emotion) gets damaged, the person can't recognise their mother for instance.

They can recognise their mother, however because the emotional pathway is damaged, the brain makes up the story that the person must be an imposter, ergo they have no emotional recognition.

However, when the same person goes out of the room and speaks to them on the phone, the emotional recognition is back.

So that got me thinking about possible pathways in the brain and I thought of that.

Cg

Brilliant :) ... I hope it will help a lot of people 🙌

With the facial recognition, what would happen if contact was initiated via voice, but then became a video call while the emotional connection is strong?

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@cryptogee! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good question and one I've often asked myself. My guess is it would probably create extreme distress, seeing as the brain is so invested in the "imposter" story.

Cg