Overheard conversations in the garden

in Hive Pets2 years ago (edited)

IMG-20220510-WA0024.jpg


"Hey Ninky, look at those two, what are they doing?"

"Oh Olive stop gawking at the neighbours, they're just having a lie down in the sun, what's your deal?"

"I just don't like the look of that black and white one, he's got an attitude problem"

"No he doesn't, I chat to him every now and again, he has issues with Stuart across the road though and Tom next door picked a fight with him the other day over a mouse"

"Oh, I didn't know about that, what kind of mouse was it?"

"I think it was a pygmy mouse, seems a silly little thing to have a tiff over"

"Look at them just lounging over there, I wish we had that nice sunny patch, bunch of spoilt brats they are"


IMG-20220510-WA0025.jpg


"Stop your jealousy, it's unbecoming and you're gonna give yourself a reputation in the neighbourhood"


"I'm going to eat you"


"What did you say?"

"I didn't say anything, are you feeling ok? You're being weird"


Hmmm it will be such a delight to carry you off in my claws


"No, really, did you not hear that? My hair is standing on end, does it feel like we're being watched?"

"You need to lay off the catnip you moron, nobody's watchi.... OH HOLY CRAP WHAT THE HELL IS THAT THING?"


IMG-20220609-WA0001.jpg



I'm totally going to eat you, my talons are itching for your pelt


"Mooooooommmmmmmm there's a big freaking bird out here that says it's going to eat us. I'm getting out of here. They can keep their sunny patch and their weird looking bird too".

"And you say I'm the weirdo hahahaha you just called your human MOM. Scaredy-cat. I reckon I can take him, I'll give him what for".

"Oh no, he's taking off. RUNNNNNNNN, scatter, hide!"



From behind the safety of a window Olive and Ninky watched the large bird land on something. It wasn't a cat. It was just a pygmy mouse. It hadn't even been watching them. Olive scoffed at their silliness

"We're way to big to be taken by a hawk. Gosh my heartrate though. Maybe it's time for a catnap, instead of catnip"


Photos have been used with permission by my neighbour Melanie



Rachel Carson Quote.png


Ranger Andy Text.png

Sort:  

Hahahahahah! I'm sure that's how it works.

Of course, I also happen to actually speak to my cats, as if they'll listen and speak back. "No, it's only 3:00, it's not time to eat yet." "Why do you need to sing the song of your ancestors at two in the morning? Go to sleep!"

Oh don't worry, I think all cat people do. I talk to mine all the time. They reply. It is just how we are 😊

Oh you know that is so annoying, mine do it too, my older cat has thing horrible sound she makes, she sounds like she's stuck somewhere and it does my head in. It works though and I always get up to go find out what her story is. Silly felines.

I'm always afraid a raptor might swoop in and nab my little dog when we're out in the wilderness, and I'm stone cold sober on these hikes. No catnip.

It has happened before with the bigger birds so I don't blame you even without the catnip 😉

I talk to my cats all the time, and when I use Chadeaux's voice to tell my hubby what he's saying, I use a bit of a lisp.
Because that's how I hear him. (The cat, not my husband! LOL!)

Hahaha I can hear it in my head. I'm almost sure they think the same things of us you know 🤣 they're awesome animals to observe, so attitudish

That is so how it is!!

Lol Fiona I swear this kind of conversation does happen 🤣 Cats crack me up.

Loved this! Well done!

I'm glad you enjoyed it, I wish my imagination saw everything this way, it would be really comical.

Lol I’d be scared AF if I were a cat and see that hawk. Could probably easily carry and fly me around then eat me afterwards 🤣

Hi @hiddenblade

Thanks for stopping by. I think I would too actually. That hawk is about the same size as a small cat so I definitely wouldn't want one of those chasing me 😉

It was a funny encounter. We had an owl on the roof a few nights before this as well, so the roof of the cabin seems to be the local bird hangout now.

so cute