Wonderpets! Our most loyal companion.

in Hive Pets3 years ago

wonderpets banner.png

I have been a fur parent for as long as I could remember and I can testify that they have been the best companion man has ever had. In this blogpost of mine, I am aiming to nudge the memoirs of my readers as I recapitulate and share my journey as a fur parent. To those who are furparents, I warn you this might give you nostalgia and tears.

581064_413538902001158_1574331861_n_413538902001158.jpg

I first had my pet whose name was Pogi (it means Gwapo since he was quite a handsome dog, he looked like a German shepherd) back when I was a child. If I recall correctly, I might be at the age of 7 or 8 years old. Pogi was a gift from my grandfather. I still remember those sweet mornings whenever I wake up. The iridescent shine of the sun hitting our glass window, the birds chirping soulful music and the comforting silence of the morning. It brings me joy seeing my dog Pogi as I wake up and play with him. His soft paws and lovingly look on his eyes are the reason why I love how my mornings start.

As I got older, we eventually had 2 additional dogs added to the family. They were Tara and Dave. Tara was purebred Dalmatian, while Dave was a chihuahua. Due to problems we faced for Tara (she needs exercise like walks in the park and we simply do not have someone who could own up to that responsibility) we gave Tara to another furparent who willingly accepted her. Now only Pogi and Dave was left. My dad brought home another addition to the family which is Lis (also a chihuahua).

249569_216321815056202_3646512_n_216321815056202.jpg

Dave and Lis mated until our furfamily got bigger and bigger. Pogi was considered the big brother of the furfamily. He was a very peculiar dog. If he was a person I would describe him as neat, prim and proper. Very odd for a description for a dog but he was never potty trained by us, he unexpectedly taught himself where he could be excused and use the toilet. He was a very good big brother. We all know how chihuahuas have a bit of an attitude right? Whenever Dave and Lis barks at him, he always stays silent and never attacks them. He'll just sit in the corner, with his usual cross legs pose (I don't even know how my dogs do that but seriously who crosses their legs?) and ignore the naughty chihuahuas.
75216_413534525334929_1433317922_n_413534525334929.jpg

But in every happy story, sadness always follows.
Pogi got old and became sickly. apparently he was infected with the parvovirus. We didn't expect that his immune system was that susceptible since we all thought he was an Aspin. But we thought wrong and before we could help him, it was too late. He tried to hide his well-being from us. He acted as if he's okay and that we don't need to worry. Until the day we never expected came.

It was the death anniversary of my grandmother and we were dining out with my family. We told my grandfather of the situation Pogi was in. He visited our house and talked to Pogi. I couldn't even bare to look at them conversing as I was secretly hiding and holding back my tears. Morning came and my Ate Ging told me that he passed away. Apparently, he was only waiting for my grandfather to visit him before he decided that its time to go.

My mom heard the news and cried. She told me and I was frozen shocked, I was sad and was trying to hold back my tears as to appear strong in the family. But deep down inside I was heartbroken. I cried in silence.

149439_413538622001186_488472865_n_413538622001186.jpg

Few years after Pogi died, I already recovered and happy since Dave and Lis' family grew bigger and bigger. Dave was closer to me and my dad so he was my first pet that I cherished the most other than Pogi. They had 3 puppies namely Bono, Nana and Badiday. Dave and Nana had 2 puppies, Bumbum and Namnam. Yes, Namnam and Bumbum are a product of incest. I think they did it when we went to the mall. We should've had a CCTV camera to check what's going on with the dogs so that we could call their attention. Lol just kidding! Anyways, I had the best life with my furfamily. But then again, life is unpredictable. Where Happiness is, sadness is just around the corner..

I noticed that my oldest dog, Dave, had a lump in his neck. I was the first one to notice it and immediately told my dad about it. We went to several veterinary hospitals to see if someone could diagnose him. But not a single one of them know what's his condition. They gave us a bunch of antibiotics and my mom tried to research for some herbal medicine alternatives. But deep down, we slowly are trying to accept that we can never help him and that its all too late..

261330_231441116877605_7072529_n_231441116877605.jpg

I remember the night I carried him to our Veranda. I was conversing with him and hugging him. I told him that if ever he's tired, it's okay for him to rest. I was crying and also trying to hold back my tears. A few weeks passed, my parents were spoon-feeding Dave as we noticed that he's getting thin and not eating on his own.

It was Sunday morning when my parents were spoon feeding Dave while I was eating my breakfast, my mom and I had a little argument. I was mad at her and I went upstairs to my room. Suddenly, I heard her yelling and bursting into tears that Dave suddenly collapsed into her arms. She fears that Dave died. For years of trying to hold back my tears, I immediately broke down crying and in disbelief. I hurriedly went down and tried to resuscitate him in hopes that maybe he would be revived. But it was all too late.

I looked over my dad and signaled him that its too late. He's gone. My dad broke down crying and carried him upstairs to my mom. They were crying and giving their kisses and goodbyes to Dave while I gave the final goodbye. I held him in my arms one last time as I recall all the memories we had together and said my goodbyes. Until my next dog followed, Mami Lis. My loss and pain experienced with Mami Lis is a different type of pain which I cannot express so in words. Therefore, I shall let this one pass.

ghost.png

Losing a pet is hard, they always have been our most loyal companion. A shoulder we can confide, although words are impossible for them to convey one look from their innocent and lovingly sparkle in their eyes, we immediately know that they would lay their life for us. As a pet owner, the amount of time spent with them is never enough. If only their lives were much more longer, those battles we go through every day would be so much bearable. I could go on and express more in depth about this topic but the pain still lingers in my heart, so I decided to keep this short.

My message to all those furparents reading this blog post, spend as much time with your pets. Create tons of memories with them, as death is inevitable and time is ceaseless. Those days that have passed can never be redeemable and the pain of losing an invaluable part of our lives is irrefutable.

--end--

hive closing banner.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @arnyray! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁶ attendee badge is waiting for you
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I could never imagine losing a pet!!! Just by thinking about it breaks my heart. Hugs 🤗

such cute and loving doggies! :) it's hard to watch a close friend and loved companion pass, it's good to just remember how cute they were and how happy they make u..