Whatever Did Molly and I Find This Weekend?

in Hive Pets3 years ago (edited)

1621274049039.png

NO MOLLY! Don't Eat Those Eggs!!! ...

Come on Molly! You can’t eat those eggs, they need time to grow into baby birds. You wouldn’t want to eat baby birds would you? Anyhow I don’t think there’s enough egg there to even fill your little stomach.

Flashback..

In order to fully appreciate the story we have to flash back in time. Let me take you back a long long time ago... to Friday ha ha Ha. On Friday night we had our neighbors over for a campfire.

In the months pre-hand I had collected miscellaneous sticks that blew into the yard, so I didn’t have to mow over them. I piled them up near fireplace so they would be handy when I needed something to burn.

As you can see the fire is still smoldering from the night before. Well, I did throw a few remains of twigs in there. I took this photograph on Saturday.

IMG_0560.JPG

All the twigs that I had placed there are gone because I had burnt them all. The only thing left were some larger logs that I didn’t get a chance to put on the fire, before we were too tired and called it a night.

The only reason I noticed something strange was because I was so close to the ground picking up the small remains of the twigs.

Something caught my eye near the wood pile.

1621277031025.png

At first I thought it was a strange round stone. But as I got closer I knew what it was. An egg! I found a total of three in my investigation of the area. I also found an area that looked like a nest had been built there, and it contained one feather. I gathered the eggs and put them back in the nest. I must have moved the eggs out of the nest when I was blindly gathering wood in the dark on Friday night. Shame on me!

Below is a closeup of the Egg..

IMG_0556.JPG

I Found 3 In Total ..

1621277442425.png

Like I had mentioned, I gathered all three eggs and place them in what appeared to be a small ground nest underneath the large pile of logs.

IMG_0572 (1).JPG

I gathered up another pile of twigs from the rear of the yard, where an old tree has died and is dropping them. (What I really need to do is cut the stinking thing down) I then proceeded to place those twigs near the nest to help protect it. I really have no idea if the bird will be back.

IMG_0573.JPG

What Kind Of Bird Is This?..

I googled ground nesting birds for my area, and only a handful actually came up. One of them being the Killdeer.

8798767657687687687.jpg
Source - AllAboutBirds.org

This is a noisy and fast little bird. I see them scurrying around the yard, but never really gave it much thought, that I would ever locate a nest. Well, I guess I can't say that again!

So How Does This Tie Back To Molly?? ..

Now the story thickens. On Sunday, I was out weeding the Strawberry patch, which is looking lovely. The majority of the first sets of flowers have developed into berries. Some of them are already transitioning to red. Not sure this is a good thing and it may be related to the lack of rain we have had. I ended up giving the patch a good dose of water that evening.

Here is my small Strawberry patch that yields more berries than we can eat. We end up giving most of them away.

IMG_0565.JPG

IMG_0561.JPG

IMG_0562.JPG

IMG_0564.JPG

IMG_0563.JPG

Molly LOVES Strawberries.. And especially loves them when daddy feeds them to her right out of the patch. She happened to be outside with me today. She was busy cruising the yard, looking for shady spots to sit. The shade makes an ideal place for her to stare off towards the neighbors houses.

BUT! When she spotted me in the patch, she came flying over..

IMG_0589.JPG

I wanted to get a few glamor shots, but in typical Molly fashion.. She refused to look at the camera. hehe

1621278881453.png

I continued my rooting around in the patch, pulling weeds, examining the berries, and ...
BAM! WHAT!!! What is THIS???!!!!

IMG_0582.JPG

Yup, you guess right! Another Killdeer Nest :-) with 3 tiny eggs.
This one, unlike the other one near the wood pile, was made of grass. The more I researched the Killdeer bird habits, the more I realized that they are not the most consistent of birds. They will make their nest out of almost anything and sometimes even nothing at all.

IMG_0583.JPG

And Who Is By My Side ..

Through all of this excitement? Molly of course! and she is patiently waiting on one of those berry treats that will never come (unfortunately).

IMG_0600.JPG

Here come those puppy dog eyes!

IMG_0603.JPG

"I'm Sorry Ms Molly.. I would love to give you a tasty sweet treat, but all that is here are just a few tiny eggs. I can't in my right mind give you any of those. I'm sorry baby girl."

"You really didn't want any of those Killdeer eggs anyhow, did you?"

IMG_E0604.JPG

Oh Molly! Bad Puppy!!!

It just wouldn't be right to eat those. They will be baby Killdeer sometime soon. They deserve to live and not be your next snack! Hahaha.. I am just kidding. About Molly actually being interested in them. If anything, she would probably run away if I pulled them out of that nest and showed her. She is expecting a strawberry.. NOT eggs. I can guarantee that to you. The eggs are safe from doggie tummy.

Before I commenced my watering of the berry patch, I was able to capture a few more cute shots of Molly sitting in the grass.. Most likely still waiting on a berry treat.

IMG_E0597.JPG

IMG_E0595.JPG

IMG_E0593.JPG

An Unfortunate Ending ..

I finished the watering, and later returned to the patch to check the nest. In roughly 3 hours time, one of the eggs was attacked by something.

IMG_0586.JPG

NOT MOLLY! Before you even think to accuse her of this shenanigan's. I can attest to her whereabouts for that period of time. hehe. I carefully removed that egg, and now there are two.

I also found a few feathers lying close by.. uggg.. I hope the momma bird didn't become a meal for something else. Yikes!

IMG_0598.JPG

I'll keep an eye on the two nests, and update you if the mother birds actually return and the eggs actually hatch. I have my doubts.

And that was my interesting weekend..

Hive text divider.png

IMG_0603 (2).JPG

“Some birds are not meant to be caged, that's all. Their feathers are too bright, their songs too sweet and wild. So you let them go, or when you open the cage to feed them they somehow fly out past you. And the part of you that knows it was wrong to imprison them in the first place rejoices, but still, the place where you live is that much more drab and empty for their departure.”
― Stephen King, Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

NFT Showroom Member

Are you interested in creating an NFT for your art AND using a HIVE based project???

Here Is A Link, in case your interested in listing something yourself!.. NFT Showroom

Are You Ready To Tokenize Your Art???

Come Check Us Out To Find Out How and To Get Started Selling YOUR Art as NFT’s!
NFT Showroom Thumbnail.PNG

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Sort:  

Oh my goodness! Molly is so very cute. I love these pictures of her, shy Molly.
Never heard of killdeer before, today I learned a little from your post. Very attractive little bird I should say.
I am jealous of your strawberry patch. I have a huge container of them and they yielded me all of 5 strawberries this season LOL.
Zoe loves berries and bananas too, she loves mangoes the most.

Haha.. yes She is very shy or lets say NOT that curious of much. Awww.. Next year maybe your plants will double the output! Molly likes bananas and mangos, but we have to watch not to give her things with high amounts of potassium, due to her illness.

Oh! My Gosh! One egg was attacked! The mother bird might have been attacked too!? No! Please check around for some more evidence of what has been happening! Where’s the father bird?!

I wish Molly could act like a security guard for those nests abs chase the intruders away!

Those strawberries look very good! Molly would love rice ones!

Not sure where daddy bird is. Well see. I checked today and the two eggs are still there, but they were cold. hmmm.. The other nest up by the fire pit was empty! Oh well.. nature has a way and those fed something. 😞

Oh! Dear! I fear the worst would happen to them. Poor mother bird! I hope she did survive the attack and could have a new nest. You have a hidden predator in your area?! Who could gobble up whole eggs with shell?!

Have a nice day!

Beautiful as always. Beautiful Molly, she made me smile big time ❤️, beautiful strawberry patch, I move in and eat them all ❤️, sad little bird story, keeping my fingers crossed for them, on the other hand that's the circle of life and after all they didn't die for bad intentions. Unlike us humans that destroy and kill out of greed, not need :(.

Still I loved your little post, they always make me smile 🤗.

Hey! Stay away from my Strawberry patch! and if you see Lady Gaga, tell her the same!! hehe.

You are welcome anytime, as long as you bring Joy with you 😁

The circle of life may be circling around to these eggs. I checked the nest by the fire pit and noticed they were all gone. Not sure what ate them, but they will not develop into birds.

Glad I could help make you smile 😊 seeing you here and reading your comment, made me smile. Speaking of which... I have some catching up to do on your feed.

Lol, you better get to my feed then. 😄. Just put a new one up, let me know if you like it.

I like your style a lot 🤗.

oh yeah! I'm heading there now to check it out 😊

I was going to guess a Kildeer before I scrolled down and finished reading. They are pretty known to just put their nests on the ground like that. Typically if you get near one they start making a ruckus and feigning injury to draw you away from it. We had one near our house when I was a kid and I remember reading about them. That looks like a really nice berry patch. I added some stuff to my garden last night. I really have my reservations about how it is going to turn out...

haha.. your right on your assumptions. Not looking too good so far. Yes those Killdeer are really quite annoying with their high pitched shrill and faking a broken wing. They are really fast though. I could never locate their nests in the past, but I am on to them now!

I liked a lot of things when I read your post. The story of Molly and the eggs they found. The place where you live, beautiful and the strawberry plantings, I love the countryside and the pictures. Molly is very funny. And to finish what you write about you and art. It is an excellent publication. Hopefully the eggs can complete their development and the birds can live.
Regards

Thank you for all those compliments! Too many of which I don't deserve. Molly is a cute pup for sure. I try to include her when I can .. she helps me be funny.. 😁

Ha sido una historia divertida y entretenida. Además se nutre de muy buena información? Supiste hallar respuesta a tus dudas, eso ayudó a complementar el post. Gracias por educar a la comunidad. Es hermosa ti perrita Moly!

¡Gracias! Agradezco los cumplidos y el apoyo. Molly es una gran perra y tenemos mucha suerte de tenerla en nuestras vidas. También aprendí algo mientras escribía el artículo. Los pájaros son criaturas fascinantes. ¡Disfruta el resto de tu dia!😁

Por eso digo que hallaste buen información para complementar tu trabajo. El enriquecimiento valió la pena😉

Hi @bdmillergallery, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you @rem-steem and the entire @bdcommunity for the support and curation 😊

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 61000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 62000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Account creation and Account Recovery steps
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!