Sleepy helper

in Hive Pets2 years ago

20220814_090834.jpg

There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats.

- Albert Schweitzer -



If you've followed my posts for long enough, and actually read them, you'll know I'm a cat person and that I've had feline friends family members for many years. They bring me great joy and happiness on a daily basis and, whilst it hurts me to my core when I lose them, I can't imagine my life without my cat family. I know they can't talk to me like a human can, but that's the point I suppose, they are not human and are not subject to the frailties of humanity. They are simple, and complex in their own way, and are truthful, loving and loyal. Mine are to me anyway.

I've had Cleo since 2011 when I rescued her from certain death at the hands of her human tormenters; she was only a few weeks old and fit in the palm of my hand. She was frail but so cute and I fell for her in about twenty seconds flat. Since then we have been almost inseparable and much of my love, time and energy goes into her.

Sleepy

Cleo is, there's no other way to put this, a sleeper.

All cats are of course, but Cleo take it to a new level. If there was an award for the best sleeper ever, she would win it without doubt. She sleeps on my bed, the entire night through, wakes up, then wakes me up, for breakfast and a cuddle then promptly goes to sleep again. At 16:00 she has her special biscuits (cat vitamins) and at 17:00 it's dinner time. From there it's back too sleep until bed time then it's...well, it's bed time and she sleeps through the night.

I don't mind to be honest, as there's not much more relaxing a thing than having a cat snuggled in one's lap purring and sleeping; it's one the highlights of my day.

We play a little now and then of course, @krazzytrukker sent her over some cat toys from America a couple years back and she still plays with them, a couple little lizards. I spray them with catnip now and then and she loves it, but before long, the need to sleep takes over and she nods off. It's a good life.

Helper

Cleo doesn't need to earn her keep, just having her in my life is all I want, however in those moments between morning, lunch time, afternoon, evening and night time sleeps, and in between the playing we do, she helps me with some of the household chores.

Ok, I'll be honest, having her help me with a few tasks around the house is just another excuse for me to give her cuddles, but that doesn't negate the value of her help. But what does she do?

It's simple really, I pick her up, cuddle her close and wander about the house doing whatever it is I needed to do, and is possible with her in my arms. I take her little paw in my hand and together we perform the task and then I thank her for her invaluable assistance.

Together we've flicked the little switch on the kettle, turned the heater or air conditioner on and off, switched lights on and off, pressed buttons on the TV remote and microwave, and when I secure the house perimeter at night, lock it all down, she comes along as well. She's a very good helper and she enjoys it, based on her purring.

I know this may all sound rather dumb to some people and I also know I don't care if it does. I have said in the past that I like my cats more than most people and I stick to it.

My cats have never let me down, never lied to or cheated me and neither do they try to take advantage of me for their own gain. I don't have to mind what I say to them, they don't judge me what I say or do and yet provide comfort, care and happiness to me. That's something to value right? Sure, her help, around the house might be cursory at best, but the way she helps my life and helps make me happy is so valuable; it priceless to be honest.

What's your per situation? Do you have a sleepy helper cat or dog? Does a favoured pet provide you comfort and happiness as mine do me? Feel free to tell me about it in the comments below.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any images in this post are my own

Sort:  

You know she is all that! She just can't help it. Look at her sweet little face when she is sleeping. I think I can hear her little purr! Oh, she is a champion purring machine.

As you know (or don't) I have two sweet little cats, who never sleep. I mean never! Also, a dog, three horses and... I think that is it. We even take the horses camping with us. They have places that accommodate them. Now that is fun!

I used to think I was a dog person, but, I really like cats. They love to be pet and they will purr until the cows come home. I don't care what it really means, it makes me feel loved. The horses are special and deserve a category of their own. The are exceptionally perceptive and one of my girls is a straight horse girl. The other is everything. She should be a vet. Animals respect her and they obey her right up front. She is even sweet and nice, not demanding.

Anyway, I hope you are having a great day! Happy Sunday!

I question those who say they don't like animals. I don't mind if a person says they're a cat or dog person, or whatever actually, but if they say they don't like cats, I find it hard to relate to them or trust them. It's the same with people who say they don't feel fear. (Idiots.)

I knew you had horses, we're going riding when I come up there remember? (The Devonshire tea...You bring/make the Devonshire tea...I'll bring the mouth to eat it with.)

A good Sunday was had, evening now. Soup and crusty bread for dinner (cold here) and a movie. I hope your weekend is going well.

Cats are some of the best "therapists" on the planet, even though the mostly just listen... we've always had cats around here; well, at least since my University days when I ended up "being adopted" by one of my girlfriends' cat.

Cleo sounds like a perfect helper... and she's a cutie!

=^..^=

They're certainly great listeners and I also feel they're great healers. It may just be my imagination, but my cats have read my moods and acted accordingly. They can make problems seem so unimportant just by being there and that's a pretty special thing.

Cleo is a beautiful little thing and so lovely by nature. She's my little bub.

We have a 'helper' alright, this thing...

...decided to help by biting a hole in my phone's charging cable. He's accounted for at least two laptop chargers as well.

This thing on the other hand, just sleeps the day away, unless he decides he's hungry.

Tito and Evander have requested that you give Cleo a sniff and a hello for them!

Haha, yeas, sometimes the help isn't so helpful huh? I've had similar in the past, but Cleo seems to be rather industrious, especially when it comes to sleeping.

Sniff has been passed on...and that face on Tito in the top image! Cracked me up.

Cats don't plagiarise either.

My sister used to have a cat and when it was moth season Dad used to walk around the house and hold her up to the ceiling so she could swipe moths. She'd go totally limp in his hands, totally trusting.

I have chickens, but we couldn't bear to get another dog (we are dog people) because if we go travelling we might have to leave it and it'd break our hearts.

Lol, nope they do not...they're as honest as it gets.

You raise a good point about travelling and one I'm mindful of for sure. For shorter trips I have a trustworthy sitter, for up to 4-5 weeks. Longer and I'd be reluctant to leave her. This is why I probably won't get another after Cleo is gone. It will mean a large chunk of my life would be missing, but it's not fair on the cat, you know?

It's not, hey. You'll miss her terribly when she goes. I do hear cats have a way of finding you though, you may not have a choice...

With this blog, I may now really appreciate those meowmies that my partner have. Actually I am not really a cat lover. But when I met my partner, I learned to love them as well like our own babies. ☺️

Btw, Hello to Cleo!! -Artemis

IMG_20220814_120233.jpg

It's amazing how they manage to get into our hearts so easily; I've heard many people say they're not cat people only to find out later, they are but didn't know it yet - They have to meet the right cat first. Cats are pretty special creatures.

Cleo told me to say hi back to Artemis. 😼

Yeah exactly!! Some cats are really destined to love us hihi. But you know I am still struggling to pet some of them, like my partner's first pet, Luna. She is so grumpy and feels like she hates hoomans. 😂😂

But since I am her momma, I'm still trying my best. 🙈😹

Btw here's Luna, the grumpy cat. Sometimes my partner thinks to rehome her but there are days that she seems to be nice.

IMG_20220710_160425.jpg

Yeah, some cats are grumpy...But then so are some humans right?

I had a Persian cat called Gemmi who was so fluffy, similar to Luna, and she looked like such a grumpy little thing but she was the most gentle and loving cat. But yes for sure, some cars are just plain old grumpy. :)

Ahahahaa yesss some cats are just like humans that's why I am still being patient on her. And when she don't like cuddles, we just let her wander around.

Some told me that long haired persian cats are just really territorial but I think its still depend on their personalities hihi.

How old is Gemmi btw?

I had to have Gemmi put down some time ago, she was eighteen.

Ohhhh sad to hear that. 😔

I just hope that cats can have a long life...

Btw we lost one of our meowmy few hours ago. Partner brought Butter to the nearest vet at 1am but he was already death on arrival. My hands are shaking right now. We did not anticipate that he will be gone today. I was about to share you our Butter actually. 😢

received_608716970633960.jpeg

I currently also have two rescue cat kids and they provide my daily sanity, love and entertainment.

It's amazing how much they give too, just by being there.

Totally so @galenkp and completely unconditionally……..humans can learn so much from cats and other animals in the way of being.

Humans are the worst of all animals. I know, probably not the general consensus, but it's what I believe. We have a lot to answer for.

Totally so and I fully agree. I have loved and respected the many fur rescue kids that I have had through my life far more than a lot of humans that I have met.

I'm always a little cautious about saying this stuff as I'm not here to offend people. The funny thing is I've rarely come across someone who disagreed.

True and I feel the same way about not wanting and if people think I am weird with my love of animals then so be it hehe.

I don't have any pets right now, but I have at different times throughout my life and I know that love. Sometimes cats, sometimes dogs and sometimes both.

Unfortunately, I grew allergic to cats and I think it makes me smell like catnip, because wherever I go, they come up and love all over me. LOL.... I've even had folks comment in amazement when their normally stranger-shy cats that don't know me at all, come up and show me the love. It's strange and fun.

Haha, yeah I remember you saying this, but you've added the hilarious smells like catnip comment and it made me laugh!

At times it has been really funny. One time I met a man at his home to talk to him about some work he and his wife wanted done. Within a minute or two, a cat came out of nowhere, jumped up on the counter in front of me and rubbed it's head across the front of my body. The man stood there for a few seconds with his mouth dropped open and then stammered out something like..... "he never does that, he really doesn't like strangers"..... I just smiled and of course he gave me the business, because his cat told him I was trustworthy. 🤣

#catniplady

I've had similar situations when people's pets have done that, cat's mostly, and yep, it almost always secures the business.

Cleo is such a cutie 😍😍✨ I also have a cat like Cleo, its name is Kino. ❤ Anyway, seeing Cleo makes my heart warm 😍

She is a cute little thing, as I assume Kino also is. I'd be lost without Cleo although I know I will be someday. Thinking about it almost breaks my heart. But I have her now and that's what's important.

Thanks for your comment.

Hey @galenkp. It was really sweet reading this post. The love you both share is adorable. The way you talk about her, how she never lets you down, how you guys work together and how she makes you happy really makes me admire you both.

I'm so happy for you. I'm also not happy because you all (cat and dog owners) have been enjoying the love and happiness from these cuties ( cats and dogs) and no one bothered to tell me that I've been missing out all these years.
We recently got this dog and cat at home. The dog's name is Nora and the cat is Redd. Nora and Redd are amazing. Just Like your cat, Redd is also a sleeper but He is also a foodie. Sometimes I wish he could wake up and help me with the dishes or atleast do his own dishes. He doesn't really help out so much like your cat but He is cool anyway and we love him.
He likes to hangout
mostly with my mum, I think because my mum feeds him most times.

Nora is my favorite, she likes to hangout with me and I really regret not having them since.
Sometimes I blame all the cat and dog owners for not advising me and letting me in on the joy of having these lovelies(cats and dogs).
But it's ok now. Atleast I now share in the joy and have forgotten the times I've spent without them.

Thanks for sharing. Let's not talk too much so we don't wake Cleo. I know she would be sleeping now

It's good that you are finally able to have a pet and I think you'll be better for it. Let me know if you manage to get Redd to do his own dishes, or yours, I think I'd like to see the photos! 😜

None of that sounds dumb to me. I carry my oldest cat Shady around doing things. I think she might be able to give Cleo a run for her money in the sleeping category!!

Oh you do it too? Cleo likes it, doesn't mind the work...Or maybe it's the cuddles she likes. 😁

Yeah man, Shady likes being my hot water bottle now that she's a bit older. She was a bit more stand offish in her younger days but now she's game!

Once the Boomy cuddles deploy, there's no going back, or so I heard.

I believe I heard similar! ;O)

Thousands have said it.

I love cats! I wish I could have one - again, alas, hubby's allergies won't allow it. Instead we have a lizard, and - sneks. I know you hate them, and I do too in the wild but these pets, most especially Simon - he is almost like a cat.

I saw your recent snake post...Not my thing, but I've known a few who keep them as pets. I don't think I'd want to cuddle up to one so will stick with Cleo. :)

Given the choice I'd also prefer a cuddly warm cat, so no worries.

Cat cuddles are the best. Well, I'm a good cuddler too, but Cleo is better. 😜

I concur and will not comment any further on this topic 😇

Well, after doing a couple of stints of cat sitting, in a few weeks time I will be looking after my friend's black labrador for at least three weeks. He's coming to me so I expect I will be sleeping on the edge of the bed!

Lol, yeah I hope the edge of the bed is comfy; you'll have to get used to it either way though huh? 😂

Yes, I have no choice. It's a case of let sleeping dogs lie .....

Haha, well said. ✅

Firstly, I have learned so many words that are particular to cats just from this post.

I think the more complex the composition of something is, the more complex it is in interacting with them. Take cats and dogs, for example. Their minds are not as complex as ours. They are not complex enough to think deeply about what it is they want for themselves, even if it harms the other person. It is not complex enough to want to leave the other person in a state of deceit. It is not complex enough to make having a simple and lovely symbiotic relationship with them hard to attain.

I have never had a pet before. I have always wanted to have a pet while growing up, but my parents never agreed to that. Maybe because catering for a healthy pet does not come cheap. But now that I am all grown up and independent, I really do need a friend that does not judge. I would actually prefer to have a dog.

The relationship you have with your cat is so sweet and adorable. And the way your cat sleeps often shows that he (or she) is living the good life in your hands. You sure are taking very good care of it.

Is it the same cat that you have had since 2011?

Cleo is the cat I mentioned I got in 2011, yes, so she's 11 years old. I had a black cat called Merlin who, sadly, died in 2020, I had him for 22 years and he was the best friend I ever had. I remember all my pets fondly though and when they're with me I treat them like family members, like I would my children if I had any.

Having a pet makes me a happier man on a daily basis and I think that's a good thing. Maybe you will find out for yourself someday; I hope so.

Well, I don't have a sleepy cat. Like, I don't have a cat at all, but I have a dog. Not sleepy though. Before I had my dog, I was used to my sisters dogs. They were two but one died recently. Anyways, my dog has been very stubborn lately and he has been on chain for more than two weeks.

Dogs can be great pets; man's best friend they say. I have had some great dogs but have always tended towards cats. I had a very tough as fuck Rottweiler back in the day, one if those you'd not want to fuck with. But he was, in truth, a softy...Unless riled up and then rather dangerous. 🤣

These days it cats.

I hope your dog behaves and is let off the chain.

Rott are dangerous especially when they are hungry. I don't think I have the energy for that breed now 😂.

I've never had a cat as pet. Maybe I will try to get one but not anytime soon.

That my dog is too stubborn. If the motherfucker gets out of chain now, he would commit in few hours. He has learned to be a slave on chain..😂

I grew up in the country and our dogs, mainly Border Collie's, were able to roam free due to the amount of space. They enjoyed it. I don't think being chained is much fun.

Yea, dogs roam around here too but the aggresive ones are always indoor. And besides, some tribes eat dog here so leaving a dog roaming around is at the owners risk.

We never let ours roam off the property back then, it was a big property so it worked out well.

Oh! That's cool

I think I just overdosed on cuteness.

She's a cutie, that's for sure. She has such a beautiful temperament also. She's just a lovely little thing all-round.

My goodness, that is a face of complete content right there! I adore cats. I have had two of my own and while I love all animals, there is just something special about kitties. They really do give the best cuddles! While I don't have any cats right now, we have two doggos and a bearded dragon.

Our bearded dragon Lily might just be able to give Cleo a run for sleep champion, especially in winter when she is in brumation 😂

My goodness, that is a face of complete content right there!

She makes that face pretty much all the time and, if I had taken a picture of myself, mine would have looked similar. 😊

Lily is a sleeper huh? I wonder if we're doing something wrong...I mean it seems Cleo and Lily are onto a good thing. We should jump on board the sleep-train.

Yes! I can't tell you have often I have looked at Lily and our dogs napping and think to myself that I have to get in on that action! We usually do it over the weekend though. Family nap time. My husband, the two dogs and I will curl up on the bed for an afternoon nap and snuggle. It is honestly quite refreshing!

We don't include Lily for safety reasons. She gets her own nap times, usually on one of our shoulders while we work. Lily likes my hair for some reason and will bury her face in it while she shoulder naps 😂

Afternoon naps are the best. Sometimes I have two, but only on the weekends...or so I tell my boss.

Hahaha! Well, you have to recharge that battery somehow 😉

Very cute cat 😍😍😺🐈🐈

Hello, there! Cleo looks so cute in that picture. 😻

I must say that I am a newbie as a cat mum, but what Grogu has brought to my life is priceless. We have had Grogu at home for 4 months now, and I can't even imagine the house without him. He is a sleepyhead but he has his frenetic activity hours, and I love to see him running around the house. He also likes to "help" around the house with the chores. When I sweep, he likes to chase the broom and try to catch it, haha.

It's so comforting to have him purr in my face, to have him lie down next to me, or to have his face so close when he bumps his nose against mine.

Cats have so much attitude :)
I hope you had a nice weekend, and have a happy week ahead

I've never met a cat owner who hasn't said how much personal satisfaction and enjoyment they get from their cat, and here you are saying the same. There's a good reason for it and I think the value they bring is immense. I'd be lost without mine.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 63000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 64000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

"It's simple really, I pick her up, cuddle her close and wander about the house doing whatever it is I needed to do, and is possible with her in my arms. I take her little paw in my hand and together we perform the task and then I thank her for her invaluable assistance."

Absolutely

❤️Love❤️

That paragraph... =^,,^=

Well this post all together made me all warm and fuzzy. Ya'll know my story. If not go √ it out. I'm a cat guy too.!!

@krazzy-kitty is to me, what Cleo is to @galenkp Great Post that explains it "Purrrr-fectly my Friend.!!

Oh my goodness, that picture is precious, she has such a happy little face.

She's cute indeed, and she makes me very happy. I'm lucky to have her.

God bless your heart sir. You saved Cleo from a near-death experience? Wow. Whoever that tormentor was doesn't have a heart. You've had her for such a long time and she's still ever adorable. She makes like easy for you also, no stress, just cuddle, eat, help out and sleep.

I missed being here all week... Something spectacular came up 🤩 and running through your feed, I saw Cleo and I said, no way am I passing this post hahaha.

She is a very special little cat and very special to me. She makes me smile and happy more than anything else in the world.

That's all that matters, sir. I can imagine how she is too being in a capable hands of someone who treats her better.

oh, it's like me and my dog. But my dog is gone. A bad guy took it away and I can't see it again : (
IMG_20210806_095747.jpg

A cute dog. A pity someone stole it. Does that sort of thing happen a lot?

A cute dog. A pity someone stole it. Does that sort of thing happen a lot?

It doesn't happen much. But their actions really make me disagree. They stole my best friend so I hate them : (