Balancing Budget and Nutrition: Feeding The Cats Right

in Hive Pets10 days ago (edited)

macproperty(92).png

One of the things about raising cats is that we have to give them proper nutrition. But often, there are numerous brands out there and we can be confused which one is best for our cats. One example I love is that the post from @phoenixwren that used to talk about cat food that her cat likes. While it’s important to understand their liking towards certain food, it is also even more important to make sure they are properly fed and the food is nutritious.

In the past, as a first timer, I didn’t really care about any of that. I just bought my cat the most accessible cat food and miraculously, they lived pretty long. The food was also pre-packaged without any labels and has no information on the nutrition content. These days, I typically avoid those unless it is a pre-packaged from famous brands that I can find its information online or at the store. Pre-packaged food is usually sold where I am from because the seller buys them in bulk and selling it at 1/2 kg to 1kg is a lot faster to sell than if it were sold in bulk. But for my kitten and Cici, they are often eating the dry food from Bolt.

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-16 at 11.49.05_52efd988.jpg

Bolt is a dry accessible brand that is quite affordable. However, recently among cat lovers where I am from, people avoid the brand because there are indications it gives their cat FLUTD ( Feline lower urinary tract disease). I am unsure if it’s actually from the food because there are many factors that can cause FLUTD in cats. So, it is quite a controversy around, especially since Bolt is reasonable and not breaking our bank as a cat lover. To be fair, there are also cheaper brands out there that sometimes have slight differences in the nutrition and even sodium content.

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-16 at 11.49.30_3399be8f.jpg

With the controversy, I am certainly torn. While my cats are fine because their dry food isn’t the only food they eat, sometimes I wonder if others' experiences were true. At the same time, I also consider that others' experience might not be mine and that it could only be a few experiencing that.

Though, these days I was experimenting giving my cats slightly more expensive food and there are some differences I noticed. The expensive cat food makes them fuller faster and seemingly happier than if we were giving them bolt or similar. I noticed that Cici especially isn’t running around our house asking for food even 10 minutes after being fed. So, I suppose, it’s one of the perks of expensive food to my cat that I am noticing.

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-16 at 11.50.02_7bd4422c.jpg

These days, we live with 4 more kittens in the house and that is another fun itself. For more extra nutrition, I am giving the kitten extra milk. I found this milk called Top Growth at the pet store I frequent. The kitten really loves it and provides extra support and nutrition to the kitten since sometimes Cici is busy with her own thing. So, with this milk, it really helps the kitten get extra nutrition that they need. Do you also give extra milk to your kitten?

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-16 at 11.50.24_81869e31.jpg

What about you? Do you guys have cat food that you avoid?

macproperty.png

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this ! You can also support me below!

profilepic.jpg
𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢 & 𝘤𝘰𝘧𝘧𝘦𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘯𝘰𝘪𝘴𝘴𝘦𝘶𝘳 . 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨, 𝘢 𝘳𝘦𝘧𝘭𝘦𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘰𝘧 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘸𝘢𝘯𝘥𝘦𝘳𝘭𝘶𝘴𝘵 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘳𝘴𝘵 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘬𝘯𝘰𝘸𝘭𝘦𝘥𝘨𝘦. 𝘚𝘩𝘦 𝘰𝘧𝘵𝘦𝘯 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘮𝘰𝘷𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘴𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘴 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘴, 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘥𝘦𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘰𝘱𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵. 𝘖𝘯𝘤𝘦 𝘪𝘯 𝘢 𝘣𝘭𝘶𝘦 𝘮𝘰𝘰𝘯, 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘤𝘢𝘯 𝘧𝘪𝘯𝘥 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘨, 𝘪𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘥𝘪𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘢𝘬𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘰𝘧 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘣𝘦𝘢𝘶𝘵𝘪𝘧𝘶𝘭 𝘴𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵𝘴 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘰𝘶𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘸𝘢𝘺. 𝘚𝘩𝘦'𝘴 𝘢𝘯 𝘰𝘤𝘤𝘢𝘴𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘧𝘰𝘰𝘥𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘳𝘦 𝘯𝘦𝘸 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘤𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘢𝘳𝘺 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘦𝘴. 𝘍𝘰𝘭𝘭𝘰𝘸 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘰𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘢𝘥𝘷𝘦𝘯𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘫𝘰𝘪𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘢𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯! 𝘋𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥 𝘵𝘰𝘰.
Sort:  

Feeding cats only this type of dry food can be very bad for them in the long run, regardless of the brand, because cats need to be very hydrated and these foods dehydrate them.

What I am doing is supplementing their diet by giving them beef liver at night and they love it!!

In the morning they eat some cat food and at night they eat beef liver and so far they are very healthy cats!

What I am doing is supplementing their diet by giving them beef liver at night and they love it!!

Ooh, I am starting to do this too and I hope I can see difference by next month. I find dry food to be a little rough and I am sure the cats would have love something with more water.

yeahh beef liver is really good for them

Mi vecina siempre le ha dado gatarina a sus gatos, más con una que ha usado por bastante tiempo, pero han empezado a vomitarla y algunos han tenido problema de arena en los riñones, han obtado por hacerle comida, que si higado, pollo y cosas asi, y solo le da gatarina que si una vez al día y han mejorado, creo que se puede balancear la comida de croquetas con la natural, por asi decirlo, no combinarlas, si no darle en una cierta hora esta y en otra, la que sigue y así sucesivamente y se mantienen mas sano.


My neighbor has always given her cats gatarina, more with one that she has used for a long time, but they have begun to vomit and some have had problems with sand in the kidneys, they have tried to make food, if liver, chicken and things like that, and only gives gatarina once a day and have improved, I think you can balance the kibble food with the natural, so to speak, not combine them, if not give a certain time this and in another, the next and so on and so on and stay healthier.

I am currently trying to balance the kibble and the natural ones. In the past, I didn't know I can feed my cats with chicken/beef/lamb meat but I started seeing people do that and that'll save quite a bit. Thanks for checking out 😊

We also have a cat food that we avoid because our cats, doesn't like them. We already tried different brand, which is much cheaper coz you know, we have a lot of cat and so, we have to find a much cheaper one, but still, likeable to them. But they don't really like it, so we just stick to the old one which is Infinity Cat Food, and that's for all ages already. As for the wet foods, we just give them their favorite rice with fish, hehe.

ooh, my cat doesn't like rice and I always buy them wet food but these days I realized I can just buy them fresh chicken meat or fish from the market and it'd be a lot cheaper. But, yeah, when you have quite a bit of cats, cost is also our consideration hehe

Ohhh, but did you try feeding it before? Ours just got used to us feeding them. In fact two of our cat loves rice, lol. Wet foods, like those in a can is expensive though 🤧🤧

We did, they only like meaty stuff and shrimp crackers😂one of them is so picky! and yes, wet food is soo expensive. It's okay if you only have one cat but if you have more than 2,the cost adds up

Oh as a first timer I remember I did the same things, I actually didn't looked for better information until my cat then was like 1yo. But it's definitely better for their health to be more careful on the food brands you choose and have a more balanced diet

haha yeah, it's better to be careful and keep them healthier cause vets are quite pricey too