You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Once A Bully...

in Hive Pets3 years ago

Before you eat MJ, a few points to take into consideration. Poor bastard is just "jags", as we say here. He's also a good protector. Ninja is the favourite, so she has to bear the brunt of his horny ways but a recommended minimum is 8 hens per rooster so that's one part of the problem, he needs more diversion, haha. Not sure if you want more chickens but more hens will improve matters

Sort:  

Not sure if you want more chickens but more hens will improve matters

That's some good feedback. Of course he wants more action hahah. It's not a reason for attacking the scabs of that poor Ninja. She was the favourite for sure, but there were a moment she was limping from his humping, I think he is eating too much and getting way too strong.

I just want a nice rooster who treats the ladies well, like this one:

Jeez, that auntie's voice is annoying, haha. You said that he has a rooster dance so he probably needs a bit more action and bigger hens that won't take shit from him. Roosters do need to be taught who's boss and especially if he starts on the kids. When I was a kid my grandparents had a giant brute of a Koekoek breed chicken who beat up anybody that came into the run. I never forgot being kicked by that bastard

She is damn annoying for sho ahaha.

Alright so yea, once again, good job on calling me out on what I said prior, he does indeed a "sideway walk" and has a dance, but he also attack them for no reason, or reasons that are beyond my level of comprehension. I am still bother by the pecking on the back of the head, my kids always play outside and for now he never attacked them, even when they bothered him like fools.

So at least, he isn't like Andre "Koekoek" the Giant, and I think he knows what happens if he does 😁.

So the solution is always more chicken, got it!

Well, it's normal for the rooster to grab a mouthful of feathers to keep his balance when he's doing his thing. The problem is that Ninja 's neck is bald so her skin gets it. All your hens are a bit bald and they will probably stay that way. So it's time for a bigger harem and hen hoodies, I think

All your hens are a bit bald and they will probably stay that way

We have 3 "bare-necks", that's the ones you are talking about. The others are gingers and got the full feathered coat 😄, until now...

Well, it's normal for the rooster to grab a mouthful of feathers to keep his balance when he's doing his thing.

There is 2 different types of behaviour, the one when he mounts them and peck, that's for sure, but he also try to hurt them when he isn't mounting them, I am sure of this. Either we can stop these bad behaviours, and keep the right ones, or just find a better suited rooster.

Has that guy a better voice? 🤣

I can't pick up my rooster like this haha.

Ya, this guy was a bit easier on my ears :) If you raise them from chicks and keep them tame, yes, they will allow you to hold them haha

I have a few comments about what he's saying there. The rooster he kept is still young and was fighting with the older, established rooster and was still the underdog. Now that his rival is gone, things could change...
Yes, you are seeing 2 types of behaviour, one mating and one dominance-related. As I said before, pecking order is a thing, it's normal for chickens to behave like that. More hens and more space for the persecuted ones to escape is the only solution. I have mainly kept bantams, who preferred to pair off and didn't operate in a flock and behaved more kindly towards each other but if you don't want to end up with a huge number of hens running all over, shitting everywhere and wrecking the garden then it's rooster stew time.

Hahaha there were some really valid points, and you cracked me up a few times too!

At the moment, I let them roam on the field during the day, they like to hang around the apple trees, and they are all quite peaceful. More hens means more chicken to eat though 😁, chicken breasts with lemon sauce Nando's style, or with a peri peri one, creamy mushroom could work also...