You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (ESP/ENG) Visita al veterinario urgente por la pérdida repentina de dos colmillos de mi gato / Urgent vet visit for the sudden loss of two fangs of my cat 😿😭🦷

in Hive Pets3 years ago

Oh my Gods, that's scary if someone did that to him, I hope not. I'm sure he can get used to staying closer to home. He's young and they're pretty adaptable when young! Yuan walks with me in the courtyard (with a leash if I started it; if he darts out the door and I follow him, without, but we stay in the same area. He likes to walk around and roll on the concrete and sniff other apartments' door mats and peek out underneath the wall at the courtyard below, but that's it. And if he hears a dog in the courtyard, he will RUN back to our apartment door asking to go in) or hangs out on the balcony, and he seems happy with that for outside time. The shelter said he was a stray before I adopted him but he never tries to run away; I think he likes his inside life. :)
Maggie, meanwhile, has no interest in outside time beyond looking out the window. Noisy humans with cars and pavement and dogs, who would want to go out there? ;)
Both my kitties are older and apparently losing a fang sometimes happens in older cats (Yuan is 13 now). But he's the first where I saw it happen (I've had 4 cats). I was told by the vet that Deidre (my kitty who crossed the bridge several years ago) had lost some of her back teeth when she was older but I didn't know it until she was getting a checkup and I didn't find them. I myself have had a lot of teeth problems and I know it can hurt so I hope it didn't hurt them but it's hard to tell with cats, they hide it when they don't feel well so unless it's obvious like they're not eating or hiding away or something, you don't always know. :( And then you go to the vet and it's like WHAT SHE'S MISSING SOME TEETH and I felt really bad, but she seemed to recover just fine as she kept eating and everything. Yuan didn't stop eating when his fang was loose at all, either. I took that as a good sign. <3

Sort:  

The truth is, yes, he is very normal and I am the one who walks with the drama 😅 what if I am afraid to let him go out alone as before, so that is over heh heh ... Wow, good that Yuan will adapt to living indoors! As well as he behaves, he is also Ikki, he cannot hear a loud noise because he enters the house quickly heh heh Maggie if he does not have a bad life, he knows that everything good is at home and it is not necessary to go out 😊 I think it is easier When you have a window for them, they look and get distracted seeing what happens outside, the bad thing is that where we live, the windows are very badly located, too high and not accessible at all for a feline to feel close 😔 I didn't know what of the teeth in older cats! 😲 although of course, it is understandable ... I had a cat that arrived at the age of 7 (he died of depression, because he was very attached to my mother and she had to travel for several months and that made him sick) and at that age he had a good teeth, I never had the opportunity to see a cat lose its teeth like this 😶 poor thing, the difficult thing is that, they do not show their discomfort and one suffers when realizing that they have been feeling this way and one without knowing it 😫 For them it is something natural and they adapt over time, but for us the trauma is greater because they are our spoiled ones and we want them to always be in the best way I'm glad that Yuan is all brave 💖

Is it possible to make shelves so he can climb to the window? I make mine out of scrap materials, but I still have to buy the brackets to put them on the wall. Like these:

Cat shelves.jpg

They are mostly pieces of wood from an old broken bookshelf, bits of carpet or shelf liner meant for kitchen cupboards, screws, and the brackets. I don't know if that would work for your situation, though!

I am lucky that I have some good windows for them. We are on the second floor so they have a high up view.

Maggie 41 (2).jpg

And yeah, I agree: the cats are more brave than I am when they are sick, I am all worried and feeling bad that I want to make it all better. They probably think I am full of drama. <3

aaaaaaaaawwww !!! What a beautiful space for them to climb! 😍😍😍😍 Yes, I would like to be able to do something like this to Ikki, but since we are living I would have to ask if we can make holes in the wall, because you know, the owners are usually delicate with changes in the structures 😅 I have to find the way to create a space like that, I loved it 🤔 So cute Yuan looking out the window! It fascinates me when cats are in their gossip mode 🤭 Thank you for showing me the space of your kitties 🥰🥰

Yeah, landlords. Sigh! I rent too but I put holes in the walls anyway. They are supposed to paint in between tenants as a rule and I've been here for almost 14 years, it's pretty tame on the "damage" scale, I think. :)

That's actually an older picture of Maggie in the window, back when she was a little chonky and not the skinny mini she is now. ^_^

ha ha yeah, that's what depresses me about rented places. In my house I have my room lined with posters and that way it does not cause anything, apart from that after what happened to ikki we made the decision to move, we no longer trust our surroundings much 😓 oh ... my mistake, ah ha really that Maggie looks huggable 🤗 💖