The crazy chicken - born to be free

in Hive Pets4 months ago

Hello my friends

Here in the backyard live 5 wild chickens, wild in the sense of native. They have no enclosure, no owner, they are free. At night they sleep in the trees behind our house, funnily enough each chicken on a different branch.

And there is also the neighbor's chicken. It spends the whole day with these wild chickens, probably living out its drive for freedom.
However, it doesn't roost in the trees like the others, but goes home in the evening.
So far so good .

But there is one problem. The wild hens lay their eggs somewhere in the woods and brood there, and sometimes a chick survives and grows up.
But our domesticated chicken doesn't want to go that far. In the end, it needs the security of humans to lay an egg. But as it doesn't want to go home for this, it always does this in the cat box on the wall of our house and wants to breed there too.

But the neighbor doesn't like that. He feeds his hen every evening, but gets neither eggs nor chicks in return. That's why his crazy chick is kept grounded for a few weeks every now and then.
But as soon as it's free again, it's here in our backyard with its wild friends and is desperate to get back into the cat box.

Since it knows that I don't want that, it sneaks up on me while I'm feeding the cats. Sometimes from the left, sometimes from the right and as soon as I'm gone, it's back in the box.

Of course I could just remove the box. But it stays where it is in case a mother cat needs emergency shelter.
Besides, it's kind of fun for me.


Today I took her laid egg with me. Let's see if she gives up now.



Thanks for reading and commenting.

veka.png
Veka, the bravest foundling kitten