Hive Onboarding: It's Better With Friends

in Aureal2 years ago

▶️ Listen on Aureal


--Welcome to Social Media and the Blockchain. I am your host, Jennifer Navarrete and this episode is the twenty-seventh in a 30-part series.

The goal of this show is to demystify the blockchain as a content creation destination, simplify the onboarding process, and encourage you to learn more about Web 3.0.

Before we begin, I want to remind you that this podcast is for educational purposes only and is not financial or investment advice. I am sharing my own experience and level of understanding. Please do your own due diligence. Now let’s get started.

So for the past 26 episodes, you’ve been hearing me talk about why Web 3.0 and the blockchain as a content creation destination is worth consideration. I shared that Hive was the blockchain I have been spending the last few months actively creating and curating content. I went into a side-by-side comparison of what could be found on Hive vs. the social networks we all use daily.

So by now, you may be saying, “Okay Jennifer, I would like to investigate this myself. How do I get started?”

Let me start by saying there are several ways to onboard to the Hive Blockchain and while that can seem like a good thing and it mostly is, it can also feel confusing. So, I created a step-by-step guide called, “Blockchain 101 for NaPodPoMo”, I mentioned this in episode 12 when I revealed that Hive was the Blockchain I had been referring to in the previous 11 episodes.

So, you may be hearing this episode and wondering if Blockchain 101 for NaPodPoMo is relevant for you. But you could substitute the word NaPodPoMo for blog, social media, video as in Blockchain 101 for Blogging, Blockchain 101 for Social Media, or Blockchain 101 for Video. The onboarding process is the same.
http://napodpomo.org/course/blockchain-101-for-napodpomo

Full disclosure, If you go through the onboarding process using my referral link https://peakd.com/register?ref=epodcaster, you and I will be connected and initially, I will be a 3% beneficiary of your account rewards. You can always remove beneficiary designations at any time. Why is a 3% beneficiary set up by default for a referred account? My understanding is that it has to do with the fact as a newbie to Hive, you’ll need a mentor and guide to walk you through, shortcut your learning curve, and support your content creation efforts. Remember, when you join Hive you have limited ability to post, upvote, comment, etc... Each person who joins Hive has to earn the right to post. It’s called Proof of Brain. Now what this means is that having a guide and community to support your fledgling efforts can fast-track your success. I say that based on my own experience, this is exactly how it has worked for me.

Storytime:
@shainemata introduced me to Hive and onboarded me with his referral link. This was for an alt account I created before I knew my @epodcaster account had come over from SteemIt during the hard fork. If I’m speaking Klingon right now. I’ve put a link in the show notes which give a bit of history about how Hive came to be. https://hiveblocks.medium.com/press-release-the-new-hive-blockchain-is-launching-heres-everything-you-need-to-know-b95b05d30c7c

Shaine has been key to the success I have experienced on Hive. He answered all my newbie questions and even delegated Resource Credits to my account so I would have the ability to post more. I’ll talk more about Resource Credits and Hive Power in the next episode. Just know that I found having a guide makes both onboarding and sticking with content creation on the blockchain while going through the learning process to be a great benefit to me.

Can you join Hive without using my referral link? Absolutely! Simply visit Hive.io.

I’ll close out with some wise words Shaine shared with me, “If I had to do it all over again, I would have joined Hive with friends so that we as a community could learn and grow together.”

Thank you for joining me for another episode of Social Media and the Blockchain.

In the next episode, we will look at Resource Credits, Rewards, and Tokens.

epodcaster


▶️ Aureal