You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Electrocannabis

Okay, I have absolutely no idea what electroculture is but I am now intrigued... What kind of filament did you use for the cones? I would assume the wires would get warm so I am thinking some PETG may be best, but I print everything with PETG, lol.

I will have to check it out and see what the science is all about. Maybe I can incorporate something into my hydro towers.

Sort:  

I find this all pretty intriguing as well. The wire is supposed to collect energy from the atmosphere and direct it to the plants, stimulating every part of its growth. There's quite an extensive bit of literature on the internet about it and the general consensus seems to be that it's very effective for boosting growth.

The filament is PLA and the cones are generally intended as just a shaper. If you have some solid thick copper wire it will hold the shape this would work best, but speaker wire it probably won't work unless completely stripping the wire casing, which is a pretty nightmare endeavor with multi strand general purpose wire. They don't get hot enough to melt in the tents but outdoors might be a different story.

I've never tried PETG in the few years I've been 3D printing, only the PLA. Maybe I'll give that a try though. It would be nice to have a material with a higher melting point.

These shapers are on thingiverse. I meant to put this in the post but must have been high and forgot: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:5960175

Yeah, I have printed with basically nothing but PETG since I started because I went into it knowing I was going to be doing gardening tools and such that would need to withstand being outside in the southeastern heat. I also use it for pew pew parts, lol. You know it's good to have high temp for that kind of thing.