It's Just an Illusion - TTT with Dreem-WOTW

A gravelly rumble sounds close by. It is faint, and delicate, like a storm in a neighbouring town (or a teacup).

Far enough away so that its touch is not yet understood but, still, it reverberates out and touches me.

Little Voice is ready for another adventure.

There is no need to know what to write. It’s okay to allow the words to form. They can be nonsensical and live in the space of in-no-sense.

That is where magic lives.

That is where images form without the need for them to make any sense.

There is a slight tug; an urge to run away. A feeling followed by a conditioned response to hide. It is brought about by a belief that I AM wrong.

I’m not supposed to be here.

This home. My home. Is not quite right.

Little Voice wills herself to listen differently. To see this as SAFE. To welcome and thank the stirring power inside.

The storm is brewing. Do you hear it? Can you see it?

I know that you feel it.

Inside the eye of the storm is a place where words become mine. I’m allowed to form them and watch them fly.

I’m allowed to dance and play with them.

I’m allowed to stay here.

No one is allowed to come and bother me.

Selfishly, I guard my space.

No one will force me to the other side. The side that fills me with dread. That bores me silly.

I don’t have to sit and master something. There is nothing to master. This is play.

Play is easy. Play is fun.

It’s not serious.

And so the duality push and pull of light and dark begins. Two voices, perhaps, and likely more, fighting for sovereignty.

A quivering wreck sets sail into a sea of wonder, knowing the storm’s power will wash it up on a distant, unknown shore.

It checks itself.

She checks herself.

She listens inside the silent beat of deep knowing and sets the course.

Courageously, if not confidently, she ventures forward. Confidence can come but is not necessary yet.

Childlike, Little Voice sets sail into an unknown darkness. She has heard, somewhere. Somewhere distant. Somewhere over a rainbow, that she’s not safe to stray.

She must not venture off the path.

“Come back to the safety of the straight and narrow.” They urge.

The woods may contain flowers and fairy circles, but they aren’t safe to go in alone.

Never alone.

You see, how the dream shifts? The seascape washed away to reveal a landscape filled with tall trees.

She is tempted to run inside. Her red hood is down and she feels freedom flying beside her.

“Don’t you do that!

They say.

"You must stay where you can be seen.
And don’t you dare make too much noise.”

But Little Voice screams with glee. With giddy excitement. With wild abandon. She’s in a race. Giving chase towards freedom.

Flying with her red cloak outstretched behind her.

“If you go down in the woods today, you better not go alone.”

But Little Voice does not listen. The rebellious spark of freedom entices her onwards and she wickedly ignores all the warnings.

Rainbow lightning breaks the dark sky.

A flash of colour, riding a spectrum into the abyss.

A line. A break.

Leaving two worlds made anew.

One lies on top casting a shadow on the world below.

The higher level of consciousness - vibrant and full of different hues - spreads out and sparkles an emerald green.

While below, shadow and darkness are all that can be seen.

Little Voice stands between the two worlds, balancing on a line, and catches a glimpse of Heaven.

She has been living in the world below. A black and white world. With no colour. Hers is a drab life with debts and bills. Heavy clouds over every head. Everyone moves automatically through a life with no connection to the electricity of the rainbow.

Little Voice runs.

She wants to run far away. Where no one will see her.

She hears a voice shouting.

“Hide Dorothy! The witch might catch you.”

Little Voice is there. Watching.

She laughs.

An uncontrollable, cackling crone comes out of the dark abyss.

And as she laughs out loud.

Ferociously.

You can hear her roar, like a storm in a neighbouring town.

Far enough away so that its touch is not yet understood but, still, it reverberates out and touches you.

And you shiver.

Because where might she lead you? Will it be to the other side of the rainbow? Will you see a new vision of what could be?

Or, will you fall down the rabbit hole and find Alice? Who the blankety blank is Alice?

Colour explodes as the witch’s roar thunders to the ground.

Step inside your fear.

Unlock the door.

The key is freely given and has always been yours.

“Oy!” A shout. Not a roar.

Pricked my consciousness. Drawing me back from the precipice between two worlds.

A slight flicker and the screen...

Fixes back into black and white
And dull, dull, greys.

You want to share what you saw.
But who would believe you?
After all, witches don’t exist.
This is the only world.
Silly!
And you scare yourself...
Into believing.
How quickly. How quick.
Gravity forced her back down
And the heaviness consumed her being
Making it feel real.

The heavier it felt
the more she was able to convince
Herself
This was all there was.

The world of make-believe - just a momentary lapse of - Her imagination.

It's just an illusion.

This is my ineligible entry to the Dreem - Word of the Week contest. This is the 5th round of season 1 and the word is illusion. You can read more about the Dreem-WOTW contest on @samsmith1971's post here.

I combined the d-wotw contest with my first ever Three Tune Tuesday (finally, eh? @tengolotodo). TTT was first brought to my attention way back when by a lovely Scotsman and is a contest by @ablaze who lives quite close by me in the Emerald Isle. You can find out more by reading his post here.

The cover image was created in Canva using a quote from Alan Watts.

The line dividers were also created in Canva, as were The Little Voice & Dreem-WOTW banners.

Dreemport banner asset used with permission from @dreemport & @dreemsteem.

Sort:  

life is an illusion but it's more fun when you create your own illusion to live in

Ain't that the truth! 💛

Phew! Sweet Julia. As always, you take my mind and you blow it into a state of altered consciousness. This was riveting and also mind changing.

I love that quote from Alan Watts. I found those words and held on to them because they resonated deeply.
We are meant to waltz through life with glee and reckless abandon. Allowing life to happen to us, often drifting into an illusion because the mind is limitless and there is no telling what we might find on the other side of fear.

I’m happy you could show up for this. The songs are a great touch, by the way. I should try some TTT. 😌

!LUV U.😘❤️🫂

It took me a while to write my first TTT, but I got there in the end, and it was fun picking tunes to go with the story.

I love the Alan Watts quote too! 💛

I’ll give it a try. Is it open to any genre of music? I’ll go find out about it.
❤️

Yep, I'm pretty sure it is. I guess it's always beat to go to the source for a full description of the dos and don'ts x

Congratulations @juliamulcahy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 2500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking

This is so plainly imaginable but after all ... an illusion created by your little voice...so fierce but back to the hole after realizing everything was shallow. Another breathtaking piece Jul☺️

A shallow hole that expands with a twist of imagination. Deep! 💛

I believe... hehehe

maybe all you need is the courage to share and a friend to believe with you!

hi my sweet Julia - i've been SILENT. well not silent - but podcasting and not writing and engaging?? nope.

but thinking, always thinking. and dreeming of sneaking away to find a little voice and a sammygirl for an adventure. hehehehe

i hope you're doing well my friend. i miss you (and i'm smiling huge right now hehe)

oh please come sneak away Ms. Dreems... I think the three of us would have such an adventure together... road trip!!! I am dreaming of this escape too... 💗 !LUV
@juliamulcahy

yes!!! and I just read blue's post too..looks like he is having the same dream hahaha

Well... I did tell him last month that the offer is open to come to England... come along with you and we can road trip !LOLZ... I wonder what will come first... England... or New England hehe... let's add to the list !LUV

This guy said he was going to attack me with his guitar.
I said is that a fret?

Credit: reddit
@dreemsteem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @samsmith1971

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/4)

hehehe he isn't allowed to visit you without me there!!!!!

💗💯!LUV ... oh you can't say no... not allowed !LOLZ

What do you call it when a chickpea kills someone?
Hummus-cide

Credit: reddit
@dreemsteem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @samsmith1971

Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP
(1/4)

Sneaking away, or running full force with glee? I think I'd opt for the second choice. I can imagine the three of us now. And, yes, Sam...road trip!!! What fun! 💛

hehe finally ttt you did it and you did put THAT song in your post
hahahaha
!LUV it Julia

I did, didn't I? Ha ha. It was fun. I might do it again. And I have you to thank for sharing TTT with me. 💛

Our minds can create realities and live by it.

It can make what's not there to appear as of it's there.

There are many beliefs people hold true, which emanate from mere illusion.

I love how you presented this. Good luck in the contest.

Thank you, @mmykel. I love this contest, but as I'm one of the graders my post isn't valid for the competition. I just love to take part and explore the word.

Jules❣️ This was beautiful.

Who dares, wins... right?

From where I stand, Little Voice has already touched the rainbow and is well on her way to discovering all the magic that lies within and beyond its wonderful and alluring spectrum. She's brave and determined - and exceptionally talented. She has a wonderland at her feet - it is hers to enjoy... and if she ever feels like she needs to steady herself for a few moments, she need only click her heels together three times... and home will never be too far away. You are awesome. Your courage and self-belief inspire me 💗Hope the course is going well. Love you! !LUV !ALIVE

My ruby slippers are close at hand (or foot) so I can click my heels and head right back home as soon as a dreem-wotw is announced. Lol! I'm looking forward to reading more of the posts in the days to come. 💛

And you were next after Dreemsteem on the curation list on Dreemport! :)

What are the chances because hey... weeks go by and we need to stop and say hello.

I'm so glad I decided to participate today.

Well done for the tunes to help the story and support beloved #ttt ❤️

Be free, Little Voice. Be freeeeee!

Permission granted and Little Voice feels freeeeeee! 💛

Love her and this 💗💥☝️

Allowing oneself the freedom to take part in two competitions at the same time by means of one work already has a certain slight cheekiness to it, which I wave ;)

Experiencing life spontaneously and playfully is surely the highest art, and this spontaneous skill is often hindered by an awareness of oneself. One would not like to take life so bitterly oneself, but as soon as we meet someone who seems to manage such things with ease, we resent them. HaHa!

To wonder without being afraid, that's already achieved a lot, isn't it? Welcoming the foreign, the unknown and the surprising turns out to be lip service when I am hostile to what I am not used to, what does not give me security, and although everyone preaches tolerance, it happens that he or she does not behave like Alice in Wonderland and begins to fear at the slightest strangeness what it might do to him or her?

As Alan Watts was tireless to point out, it is only this contrast between the familiar and known (security) and the unfamiliar and strange (uncertainty) that makes one feel one or the other at all.

Writing a story in free fall or flow is like covering one's eye while letting a little fool run along who opposes the planner author's brain.

I wish you continued best of luck and spontaneous success!

Thank you, @erh.germany. I appreciate you taking the time to read my post and your thoughtful comment. 💛

Dear @juliamulcahy,
Your support for the current HiveSQL proposal (#138) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal so HiveSQL can stay free to use for the community?
You can support the new proposal (#247) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!