BEAR SPIRIT part 2 of 3

baby  bear  cub.jpg
source

part 1: https://hive.blog/hive-118701/@restcity/bear-spirit-a-story-part-1

Serease had tears in her eyes when she turned and started back to her friends.

Rella was laughing uncontrollably, while Fenira glanced at Serease and looked away, as if the neighboring squirrel was way more interesting to look at.

“You both have to leave. I have to go inside,” Serease said sadly.

“I’m sorry, Serease.” Fenira said looking down.

“I can’t believe you got slapped!” Rella laughed and rocked back and forth on her smooth gray back. “Your Mom sucks!”

Serease’s dignity fell apart as Rella laughed at her.

“I know, she’s such a pain.” Serease aggreed, before turning to crawl back to the cave quickly. She didn’t want a wooping to go with that awful scratch.

Serease was quiet throughout dinner. Mother Grizzly simply ignored her and ate avoiding her daughter’s gaze, while Father Grizzly looked between both of them confused. Neither said a word.

After dinner, Serease went to Father Grizzly and asked him if she could go to the river.

“You know what the answer is,” he replied.

“Yes?”

“Don’t play dumb. You aren’t allowed to go to the river.”

“But Dad, I’m bigger now. I am old enough to be watchful of myself, not stay up too late, and know the way home. Why won’t you ever let me go to the river?”

“It’s dangerous. There is no reason to be over there, but that’s why kids your age love going there. Trust me. It’s no place you wanna be.

“But Dad… please.”

Father Grizzly stared at his daughter quietly for a moment.

“No.”

“You and Mom don’t love me. All you both do is TRAP ME IN THIS CAVE!” Serease galloped all the way down the tunnel to her room, where she flopped on her bed and cried, tears seeaping into the yellowed grass of her mattress.

After her tears stopped falling, she got lost in her thoughts. I’m going. She told herself. Whether my parents like it or not.

She waited ‘till nightfall when the crickets were deep into their song, and she emerged from her room. Her dark eyes darted to her parents’ room across the hall. She walked up to their room and saw two huge lumps in the dark, growing and shrinking as they breathed. Good.

She was off.

She felt free as the cool wind as she ran through the grass over to the river.

She knew she was close when she could feel the moisture in the air and heard the trickling splashes of water of the river seeping through pebbles.

Fireflies lit up the area as if they were floating, moving, yellow lights. All animal teens were busy laughing and playing around the river, chasing each other, laughing or showing off where they stored their food for winter.

Rella and Fenira were busy talking to each other when Serease came to approach them.

Rella’s eyes widened as she saw the Grizzly bear. “Serease!”

She ran and hugged her with Fenira close behind.

Rella smiled. “So, your dumb parents finally gave in?”

“Yeah, totally!” Serease looked down as she fibbed.

Fenira glared at the bear. “They didn’t, did they?”

“That’s not important!” Serease growled. “Anyway, what do you guys do here?”

“Eh. Talk. Hang. Chase fireflies. Come see where I hid my nuts and berries for next week!” Rella yelled, and the two girls followed her to the edge of the river.

Little did they know, an alligator kept its dark, shiny eyes on Serease, slowly gliding over to the girls at the river bank.

TO BE CONTINUED

Stay tuned...

divider-gc72cad8ec_1280.png

My name is Shila Williams, and I have been passionate about writing and drawing since I knew how to spell. I grew up in North Carolina, as well as living and traveling abroad. I write to inspire children's minds to imagine and take them on a fun and adventurous journey.

I'm now a published author! Please support my debut book! Check it out here on Amazon! Imagination by Shila Williams

Check out my NFT's!
Meet the girls of Algo Green! Love for the planet and all its inhabitants, big or small. There will only be 50 green girls: https://t.co/yrwWL9ZJZI

my Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/restcity
my read.cash: https://read.cash/@restcity

Sort:  

This sounds like an animal adventure story...I love it and you were so good with your words selection. Now that she has gone to the river and the crocodile has its eyes on her....why the first time she ever visited the river.....running over to the third part.

Thank you for reading!

An alligator? It had not been disturbing long before but it had to just when Serease decided to disobey his parents.

I'll just go read the last part already to see how this all went.

Thank you for reading!

I really loved how you made the story from the bear's perspective.
Teenagers are all the same LOLL

Ha! Yep. Thanks for reading!

Good to see this I will have to read the first episode to get the full picture I will be bringing my second episode too very soon

Cool. It's nice to see other writers flurishing on hive! Thanks for reading!

Oh shoot!!! Now What? Onto part three