BEAR SPIRIT (A story!) part 1

in Kidz Community2 years ago

baby  bear  cub.jpg
source

Serease was a small but eager grizzly on her second spring. Streaks of yellow sunlight shone through the tall green trees of the forest, early birds were awake and chatting away about the morning. Serease ran out of the cave at full sprint, her tall, darker brown father slowly stomping behind her.

“Serease, slow down, your friends aren’t going anywhere.” Father Grizzly laughed.

“I know but Dad, this is the first spring you’ll actually let me play outside the cave when I’m not at school! I’m gonna enjoy every bit!”

“Okay, young cub. Stay where I can see you.”

Rella the Racoon and Fenira the fox were busy eating berries when they saw Serease galloping towards them.

“Hey Rella! Hi Fenira!” Serease yelled and ran to Fenira. She skidded to a stop at the wrong time and crashed into her.

“Oops, sorry, sorry.” Serease backed up and looked at the small fluffy fox, who had knocked over like a domino.

“Woah, slow down,” Fenira slowly got up again. “You almost crushed me.”

“I know, I’m sorry,” Serease said. She really didn’t want to crush her friends. Rella and Fenira were the only friends Serease had, as it had always been hard for her to make friends.

“Your parents finally let you leave the cave huh?” asked Rella.

“Yep. They said I’m old enough to leave the cave to play with my friends!” Serease said excitedly. Until now, her parents made her stay inside the cave. “The dangers of the forest are too great for a precious young cub like you,” Mother Grizzly would always say. Rella and Fenira always had ask to come inside the cave to play with Serease, and Serease was always most grateful when they did come. She spent many months inside the cave miserable staring out at other animals who ran and played with their friends.

“Let’s play by the river,” Rella said smiling, and her friends agreed.

“Mom, me and my friends are going to play by the river!” Serease went and told Mother Grizzly.

“No. You can’t go. Predators lurk by the river.” Mother Grizzly said seriously. “Stay around the cave okay?”

Serease turned to her friends. Rella was snickering behind a black sharp paw, while Fenira looked on.

“Aww, Mom, please.”

“N.O. spells no.”

Serease huffed and turned to her friends. “Sorry girls. I can’t go.”

“If your parents weren’t so overprotective,” Rella started.

“I know right?” Serease aggread.

“Well, let’s just play around the cave.” Fenira said, and all the girls' smiles returned and they played around the cave.

As Serease got a tad older she found Mother Grizzly to be ‘uncool’. It seemed Mother Grizzly had a list of things Serease couldn’t do. She could never stay out till dark, she was never allowed to eat too much honey, and she could NEVER go by the river. Rules, rules rules!

Father Grizzly was lit though. He usually let her have an extra serving of honey if she asked, and he even let her play until the crickets began to dance, as long as he could see her.

“You must be careful, Serease,” Father Grizzly would say sometimes. “You’re Mom and I only give you rules for your own good.”

I bet, thought the young Grizzly, even though she said “Okay,” when her father asked if she heard him.

By next fall, Serease and her friend Rella felt they were grown.

“We’re so big now, we can do anything we want!” Rella told her friends. “Let’s go by the river and celebrate!”

“Sure! I bet Mom and Dad will let me go to the river now!” Serease smiled.

She ran up to Mother Grizzly, who was at the mouth of the cave eating honey.

“Mom, can I go to the river with friends!? Please!?” Serease asked.

“No. You know the rules.”

“But Mom, I’m two and a half now. I’m grown enough to know my way to the river and back. I’ve always known it!”

“That’s not the reason I won’t let you leave. You can’t go Serease.”

“But-”

“N. O. spells no.”

Serease’s throat vibrated and she bared her teeth at those words.

“Excuse me young lady, are you growling at me?”

“N. O. spells no,” Serease said in a mocking voice.

Mother Grizzly scratched her daughter so fast Serease had the same angry face on when she turned back.

“Don’t you dare talk to me like that!” Mother Grizzly growled.

“But you said it to me!” Serease argued.

Mother Grizzly sat quietly for a moment. “Tell your friends goodbye. You’re coming inside.”

“Mom-”

“I DON’T WANT TO HEAR IT! TELL THEM TO LEAVE NOW, SEREASE!”

Serease had tears in her eyes when she turned and started back to her friends.

TO BE CONTINUED

Stay tuned...

divider-gc72cad8ec_1280.png

My name is Shila Williams, and I have been passionate about writing and drawing since I knew how to spell. I grew up in North Carolina, as well as living and traveling abroad. I write to inspire children's minds to imagine and take them on a fun and adventurous journey.

I'm now a published author! Please support my debut book! Check it out here on Amazon! Imagination by Shila Williams

Check out my NFT's!
Meet the girls of Algo Green! Love for the planet and all its inhabitants, big or small. There will only be 50 green girls: https://t.co/yrwWL9ZJZI

my Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/restcity
my read.cash: https://read.cash/@restcity

Sort:  

“N. O. spells no.”

Is this me 🤣 lol I haven't fantasised that such arguments might happen between 🐻 too haha. Waiting who might win in the fight of respect, love and arrogance 😂 my vote is with serease (believe me it's not true 🤣)

Ha-ha. The series has continued and you can see the next parts on my blog!

Thanks for reading!

Hehe will be keeping myself updated but before that let me hit the button which will make your blogs more visible in my feed hehe.

Supporting and encouraging little ones 💚🤸🏽‍♂️🧃🤸🏽‍♀️

Thanks for reading!

 2 years ago  

You are so good at writing! Poor Serease, her parents are really too overprotective. The story was so nice so far though! I'll stay tuned to see the next chapters.. Do you think up these stories on your own? I'm impressed. 😀

Thank you for posting in the Kidz Community~ 🤗

Thanks for reading!

This is one story so beautiful I have read today. I hope Serease would understand why her mother do not want her to be too free, especially going to the river as there are predators who could end her life.

Thanks for sharing. I came to your post through Dreemport 🤗

Thanks for the glowing complements, and I appriciate the read!

That was such a touching story. I can't wait to read more about this cub and what grand adventures she will inevitably have near the river. I sure hope nothing bad happens.

image.png

Oh, Serease isn't done.... Here is part 2! : https://hive.blog/hive-199275/@restcity/bear-spirit-part-2-of-3

Thanks for reading!

Cool😁

Thanks for reading!

Oh, killer story @restcity, it's rare to have an animal story, much less with Grizzlies that can spell hahahahahaha!!!!
I really enjoyed reading this and will pull up your account to see the second part if I don't see it here lol!
This post was obtained through Dreemport.

I'm glad your enjoying Serease's tale... part 2 is here!: https://hive.blog/hive-199275/@restcity/bear-spirit-part-2-of-3

Thanks for reading!

Awww this is cute!

I'm glad you think so!

Wow! I hope she learns to respect Mother - or she might be in the cave until she's full grown 😲

I found your post via Dreemport 🙌

This post has been upvoted by the VYB Curation Project

Yes, Serease had quite the mouth right then!

Thanks for reading!

This is great. Let me hop on to part two now... haha. You write so wonderfully well. Wooohoooo

That was such a sad, but entertaining story! I can't wait for part 2! Did you make up this whole story? If you did, i've just got to say that you have a very good imagination. Keep up the good work @restcity!

I did indeed make up this whole story. Thanks for the glowing compliment! I've written a book at age 15 called 'Imagination' which is avalible on Amazon here!: https://www.amazon.com/Imagination-Shila-Williams/dp/B09YV2FR4G

Also, part 2 and 3 is already out. Here is part 2: https://hive.blog/hive-199275/@restcity/bear-spirit-part-2-of-3