You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The illusion of self

hi :-) ok maybe I misunderstood one of your comments...on a reread I get that you probably meant homo as in homosapiens lol... I did wonder... I was just trying to clarify...but thank you for clarifying for me... I do sometimes find myself very much aware of observing my life as it plays out. I feel like a fly on the wayll watching myself watch myself and others in conversation... At these moments life feels surreal. I feel at once very conscious and aware and simultaneously detached. This only happens when I find myself in situations that do not feel comfortable to me... for whatever reason... perhaps unfamiliarity, perhaps out of my depth or simply just I don't really want to be there in that moment... then things slow down 100%... and my analytical brain takes over but then my own responses feel more robotic and contrived, less natural and fluid. I feel like I start to see everyone playing out roles themselves... acting if you like. It's all a bit strange... but in some ways feels like I broke through and discovered a secret about life and living... !ALIVE

Sort:  

you probably meant homo as in homosapiens lol

ahhhahaha! Yes, that is what I meant. "Homo Sapiens". I forgot to place something after the "homo". LOL, sorry for the confusion. I read a book with the title "Homo Schizo", a very provocative piece, if you are interested, I'll forward you the link, you can read it online.

I think you are describing a phenomenon that should be familiar to most people. The strange detached view of oneself and those around you, who seem like actors, all playing a role, yes, I know that too. I can confirm that it feels surreal and that it occurs when one's own skin seems strange. I guess it's called being too much in your head. I'm sure it doesn't happen to you when you're busy, in the flow of work, cooking dinner, putting the kids to bed.
Whenever you're in your element and don't have time to ponder or pause.

It is intrinsic to human beings, this being too aware, it causes very uncomfortable moments and at the same time it is fascinating because the observer can become the observed. Slowing down is treacherous and can be very misleading, I think. Analysis is a good tool, but not wisdom itself. The art of committing life by keeping your spontaneity without wanting it too much, because then it disappears, because no one has ever succeeded in being spontaneous on purpose. HaHa!!

Homo Sapiens is schizophrenic simply because of this ability to think himself out of himself. It is a curse as well as a blessing. It is as mysterious as it is ordinary. In the torment of being able to do such a thing, there is also the joy, as always everything is close together.

Of course, we couldn't watch a single play or film and take part in the action if we didn't have this ability and no one could think up roles and create characters. We would see something without understanding it.

It is intrinsic to human beings, this being too aware, it causes very uncomfortable moments and at the same time it is fascinating because the observer can become the observed.

True. And sometimes it is when we most recognise that we have abstracted, removed ourselves mentally and emotionally, albeit not physically, from a situation... and maybe all that is needed is the final ability to walk away from things that do not feed our soul. !ALIVE

@erh.germany! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

The ability to walk away from the things that feed the soul I would include here as well. ;)

@erh.germany! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.