S&S Monthly Invitational: October

in Scholar and Scribe2 years ago
Authored by @ThinkrDotExe

octinvi.png
Created using NightCafe Studio and Krita, intellectual property my own

Welcome

Welcome to Scholar and Scribe's monthly invitational! If this is your first time here, we're thrilled to have you! Allow me to introduce myself and this wonderful community:

My name is ThinkrDotExe, your friendly neighborhood dork, family man, and professional counselor by day - content creator and amateur writer by... whatever free time I have. I've been writing fiction pieces for Scholar and Scribe almost since their formation. Scholar and Scribe is a community of writers and authors dedicated to creating and curating high-quality creativity in just about whatever form it takes - short stories, poems, serial stories, etc. - with a specific bent towards fictive literature. Rants, discussions, journalism, and other similar works likely won't perform well here because we're all about the fabrication of a well-spun story, and there are some incredible storytellers in our ranks! If you don't believe me, just scroll the community posts for a little while, and you'll see what I mean. Also, the two-token system that rewards both authors and readers for spending time in S&S is a pretty nice benefit too, but hey, don't take my word for it... see for yourself!

Enough about us, you came here for one thing: COMPETITION! It's literary blood sport where your foes are vanquished and you stand upon the pinnacle of victory with the wind in your hair, screaming to the sky as you revel in the glory!... Okay, maybe I got a little carried away, but I'm sure you're dying to know what this is all about, so let's get right to it.

Rules of Engagement

  1. Your entry must adhere to the genre AND the thematic prompt given. Any entries that deviate will be removed from the contestant pool.
  2. Your entry must be at least 800 words in length, and may not exceed 1500 words. This is for the purpose of providing substantial content, but still keeping it relatively brief for the contest's purposes. Note: this does not include any intro text/footer text.
  3. Your entry must be posted in Scholar and Scribe and use the #scholarandscribe and #ss-monthly tags, or it will not be eligible for winnings.
  4. All languages are welcome but MUST include an English translation within the post so we may judge the submission accurately!
  5. Link your entry in a comment beneath this post to secure eligibility for winnings.

A general suggestion (not requirement) is to tag a friend in your submission comment so that we can bring even more talent and stories to the table. The more the merrier!

Bonus LEO opportunity! Share your story over on Leo Threads with the ##ss-monthly tag, and your name will be added to a list of contestants to get a cut of free LEO! Last time, there were only 2 people that did this, and the pool was 30 LEO! We're upping that pool to 50 this month, so make sure you link your thread post underneath your submission comment here!

Winners will be chosen on the last Saturday of the month and announced in a post showing ranking with a link to their piece, as well as some honorable mentions for runners-up. The rewards for placing are as follows:

  • Gold: 50 SCHOLAR, 3 SCRIBE, and 3 HSBI
  • Silver: 40 SCHOLAR, 2 SCRIBE, and 2 HSBI
  • Bronze: 30 SCHOLAR, 1 SCRIBE, and 1 HSBI
  • Runners-Up: the final 2 of the top 5 contestants will receive 15 SCHOLAR and .5 SCRIBE each

May the odds - and your creative energy - be ever in your favor!

Prompts

The story you submit MUST adhere to the following prompts:

  • Genre: COMEDY/HUMOR/SATIRE (Just be funny, yeah?)
  • Thematic Prompt: VENGEANCE 😈

All stories that fail to adhere to the genre and the central thematic prompt will be disqualified.

THE DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION IS October 25th, 23:59 UTC-5

Give us your best substantial, fictive work between 800-1.5k words for a chance to win! We greatly look forward to seeing your stories!

Your panel of judges for this month: @thinkrdotexe, @thoth442, and @wrestlingdesires


As always, take care of yourselves and each other, and stay thoughtful!
Your friendly neighborhood dork,
~Thinkr


About the Scholar and Scribe Community
Scholar and Scribe is a new creative writing community founded in the forges of Hive's passionate Pizza Guild. It sets itself part from some of the other writing groups on Hive with its unique dual-token system.
[ Quick token guideS+S 'Whitepaper' ]

Sort:  

This sounds great man, I'll be entering this one, I like the idea for the prompts, my mind is already starting to move!

!PIZZA !LOLZ

What do you get if you cross a bullet and a tree with no leaves?
A cartridge in a bare tree.

Credit: reddit
@thinkrdotexe, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @killerwot

@cryptoshots.nft 🔫 3D Shooter LIVE on Hive. Play and earn DOOM!!
(1/1)

Can't wait to see it, brother! !PIZZA !CTP

🍕 PIZZA Party!

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
thinkrdotexe tipped killerwot (x2)
thinkrdotexe tipped grocko (x1)
thinkrdotexe tipped jenisawesome (x1)
emaxisonline tipped thinkrdotexe (x5)
thinkrdotexe tipped zeraton (x2)
grindan tipped thinkrdotexe (x1)
wrestlingdesires tipped thinkrdotexe (x1)
thinkrdotexe tipped nbarrios67 (x1)
thinkrdotexe tipped nmore (x1)
@thinkrdotexe(1/15) tipped @driptorchpress (x2)
thinkrdotexe tipped grindan (x2)
thinkrdotexe tipped gracepro (x2)
thinkrdotexe tipped emaxisonline (x4)
thinkrdotexe tipped treasuree (x2)
thinkrdotexe tipped wrestlingdesires (x1)
thoth442 tipped thinkrdotexe (x1)
killerwot tipped thinkrdotexe (x2)
thinkrdotexe tipped thoth442 (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Amazing thanks for the opportunity and what a great prompt. Looking forward to reading this month.
!PIZZA
!ALIVE

@thinkrdotexe! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @thoth442. (1/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

ME TOO! I was brainstorming ideas, and this prompt popped in my mind and I immediately started cackling. I can't WAIT to see what people bring to the table! !PIZZA !WINE


Congratulations, @thinkrdotexe You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @thoth442.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.210


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Thanks so much for adding me as one of the judges :) Even though I can't actually enter, I might just write for the prompt anyway, it really is a good one 🙌

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@thinkrdotexe! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I'm so excited to see what people bring to the table for it. This will be a fun month, I think! !PIZZA !CTP

What did the retired detective call his new real-estate business?
Sherlock Homes.

Credit: reddit
@thinkrdotexe, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(2/6)

Oh nice to see a new contest and the genre and prompt are quite opposite, lol. Let's try our best to create something impressive.

!PIZZA

Right? Haha, I cackled when I came up with this, I can't wait to see what people bring to the table! !PIZZA !CTP

haha, mainstream authors may not be happy with you. lol

!PIZZA

It's true, but that's why they call this a challenge, innit? I think It'll stretch people's creative ability and ultimately help authors develop their skills further. 😊

yes true my friend.

Just wanted to quickly nudge you to remind you that you still have 11 days before the deadline to submit your best Comedy story of Vengeance!

Just a gentle nudge to remind you that the deadline is in 4 days! I hope to see your submission before then! !PIZZA

@thinkrdotexe Sorry mate, it had been a tough time concerning health, that's why I was completely offline from Hive. I really miss participating. Let's try again with new prompt.

!PIZZA

I completely understand, brother. I was down with some kind of bug last week as well. Seems to be going around... I hope you're in better health now? And no worries, we'll see you in the next one. 😊 !PIZZA

Yeah, it was a tough cooky, my blood platelets were running down due that virus and now I am almost recovered, but having rehab until my p-count becomes normal.

Thanks for your lovely words. !PIZZA

wow, that sounds intense! I hope that your recovery is going well, brother, low p-count ain't a laughing matter! What does rehab for low p-count look like, exactly - if you're okay with sharing that information here on a public forum? !PIZZA !HBIT

I had been on complete bed rest while recovering from Dengue virus, the rehab was based on natural food diet and short walking segments after each meal. Most of my normal diet was fruits and protein and less gluten based grains.

I was taking citrus fruits to boost my immune system to defeat the virus, then there were papaya leaves and pomegranate to increase platelets and white blood cells. I had also reduced the intake of caffeine based drinks tea/coffee etc.

Other than above I was given some fever control medication and painkillers, because fever did not go away and I had a very tough migraine and backache.

But, the diet had helped me fight with the virus and gaining strength, because I could barely walk in the first week, then slowly I felt a lot better and from 2nd week.

My partner also helped me a lot in providing continuous care during the rehab phase. That rehab was like therapy with controlled diet and medication, unlike what we think of rehab in general.

Thanks for your kind concern and best wishes.

!LUV !PIZZA

Alright, man! Thanks for your entry, I'm looking forward to reading this with my fellow judges! Best of luck! !PIZZA !WINE


Congratulations, @thinkrdotexe You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @killerwot.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.210


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

This is a great contest, I will try and give it a try, at least to try my luck.

Absolutely! We've had a blast with it, and I'm certain this month will be no different! I can't wait to see the goofy pieces people bring to the table this round! !PIZZA

haha thanks for the pizza

Just wanted to quickly nudge you to remind you that you still have 11 days before the deadline to submit your best Comedy story of Vengeance!

Yes that's true, I will try to come up with something soonest. Thanks so much for the reminder

It's my pleasure! !PIZZA

oooooo this is going to be a really fun write! 😁 Here is the link to my thread: https://peakd.com/@grindan/re-leothreads-5m42nw

Just wanted to quickly nudge you to remind you that you still have 11 days before the deadline to submit your best Comedy story of Vengeance!

I KNOW, RIGHT?! I literally cackled when this prompt popped in my head. I can't wait to see what people do with it! Thanks for the thread link, I'll make sure you're on the list for the bonus LEO pool! !PIZZA !CTP

Hello, thank you for giving me the opportunity again to develop my creativity, I accept all suggestions, here I present my entry:

https://ecency.com/hive-199275/@nbarrios67/s-and-s-monthly-invitational-1ee90884e0e4

Thanks, mate! I'll share this with the judges at the round table for deliberation, and I'll try to leave some feedback with constructive criticism and encouragement based on your piece! Good to continue seeing you in the competition, brother! !PIZZA

Thanks for the opportunity to enter and learn new things about a new-to-me blockchain - writing is easy compared to blockchain! I hope you enjoy my story, and I'll work on fun things like learning to put a graphic on the cover soon. Also, are all those ! thingers tokens you can get when you comment? That's a whole thing. So much learning. Anyway. I present my entry:

https://peakd.com/hive-199275/@jenisawesome/not-a-common-plough-horse

Awesome, so glad to have you here! If you ever have questions about the blockchain, how to manage your tokens/resources, and stuff like that, just ask anyone in the community, Hive is a SUPER helpful and welcoming community! And yes, there are certain 2nd-layer tokens (tokens that are built in Hive-Engine, using HIVE as the building blocks and a loose backer) that function as engagement tokens. The ones I know about (and use frequently) are PIZZA, CTP, WINE, and HBIT, but I know that BEER, LUV, PGM, and ALIVE are also tokens I see a lot of people using for engagement tips when their individual vote on a comment won't breach the dust threshold. I'd just play around in Hive-Engine, find a few engagement tokens from tribes you like, and collect them slowly but surely until you can start making those !_____ call commands.

Thank you for your submission! Looking forward to reading it! !PIZZA !WINE !CTP


Congratulations, @thinkrdotexe You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @jenisawesome.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.230


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Sounds fun. I'm in!

Hey zeraton, just reminding you that the deadline for submission is in four days! I hope to see your story before then! !PIZZA

Oh yeah... Almost forgot. I'll be sure to submit something before the timer goes out!

I'm tired and forgot to add a community before I posted this 😅 Should I cross post or what do I doooooooo? 😂 Sorry about that, but here is my entry! https://peakd.com/writing/@grindan/the-frog-who-didnt-want-to-be-a-prince

A cross post should be fine this time, we're all human here! !PIZZA

Thank you :) !PIZZA

Hello writers! This was a fun but hard prompt. I don't write a lot of comedy/funny stuff. I do like my story though.
Link: https://ecency.com/hive-199275/@gracepro/monthly-short-fiction-contest-demon

Thank you for your submission! I'm looking forward to reading it! !PIZZA !WINE


Congratulations, @thinkrdotexe You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @gracepro.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.204


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Thank you for your submission! I'm looking forward to reading it! !PIZZA !WINE

Here is my entry! Thank you! Tried to be a little... Different with this one lol.

https://peakd.com/hive-199275/@zeraton/how-to-make-neighbor-soup

Hey, thanks for the entry! Looking forward to reading and judging it! !PIZZA !WINE


Congratulations, @thinkrdotexe You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @zeraton.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.205


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

https://peakd.com/hive-199275/@grocko/is-it-the-shoes < -entry.

Hope all is well with you and yours @thinkrdotexe. 😘

Thanks for your entry, bro! Things are going well, more or less. Still waiting for life to stabilize a bit, but it's going well! Thanks, buddy! !PIZZA !WINE


Congratulations, @thinkrdotexe You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @grocko.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.205


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Hello! It's my first time joining in. I enjoyed working on this. Thanks for the prompt!

https://peakd.com/hive-199275/@nmore/playing-god

Hey, welcome to the competition! I'll put this forward to my fellow judges for review and judging! Stay tuned for competition results! !PIZZA !WINE


Congratulations, @thinkrdotexe You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @nmore.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.230


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

I missed the deadline 😭 It's been a crazy busy month but perhaps next month I'll be able to get something in!

Lol, to be fair, I think it's been a crazy month for everyone - the judges included! No worries, mate, we'll look forward to seeing you in the next one! !PIZZA

I look forward to it! Hopefully I'll be able to break the writer's block and exhaustion this month.

I'm on month five of writer's block and exhaustion now... I mean, I have good reason, but still... My poor serial novella! Maybe we'll both get our crap together soon? Hahaha !PIZZA

Damn. I can't imagine that much blockage. Exhaustion is pretty much a constant at this point lol

Yeah, real life has been VERY helpful in bolstering the blockage in impressive ways! It's a lot right now.